We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class Boutique Hotel Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Oliver Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Oliver Hotel to your Saves list
The Oliver Hotel
407 Union Avenue, (corner of Market Square), Knoxville, TN 37902 (Formerly The Hotel St. Oliver)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 90 Hotels in Knoxville
Certificate of Excellence
Brentwood, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“First Class Boutique Hotel Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Not a chain hotel, so if looking for cookie cutter this is not it. Arrived and bell boy unloaded our car while we checked in at the front desk. Entrance is just off Market Square although a lot of the rooms face Market Square. Hotel is renovated old building of which they kept just enough of the early 1900's look with updated bathrooms, bedding, etc. Wifi is available. Our room was a King with separate stand up shower and tub, with separate sitting area and bedroom. Service was great and prompt, rooms were very clean and location can't be beat as there are breakfast, lunch and dinner locations in abundance near the hotel on Market Square. We very much enjoyed our stay and will return when we can.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    84
    12
    3
    4
See reviews for
52
133
12
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We just stayed there one night to enjoy market square and be within walking distance. Nice people, great in-house bar, great room, recently updated tastefully. We actually live in Knoxville, but wanted to take advantage of Knoxville's vibrant downtown.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

The Oliver Hotel has a prime location right near the charming and vibrant Main Square of Knoxville. Our room with a king bed was hardly spacious (though that it is not particularly relevant for a very short stay) but more irritating was hearing voices from the room next door. And the very low lighting in the room was also not a positive. But commendations to the Oliver for choosing wonderfully comfortable bedding and great linens. It is probably a good choice for a very brief stay in Knoxville but I would have been disappointed in a multi-night stay there.

Room Tip: Room 316 is on the small side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
81 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

This hotel is a nice change from chain hotels. You arrive and leave your car at the front door for valet parking. The hotel has a gigantic door. Quaint lobby. Check in was great. We were early and our room was not ready so they switched us to another available King suite. The suite itself is spacious with two rooms. There is a pull out couch in the first room and a king size bed in the bed room. Walk in showers. Our first suite did not have working air condition so they immediately moved us. The first suite had a great view of the street. The second one looked over the rooftop air-conditioning. The hotel has three floors assessable by elevator of stairs. there is no rooftop access. The computer and printer are on the third floor in a small alcove. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. There is a cute pub like bar and backdoor access to the Tupelo Honey restaurant. Easy access to Market Square and downtown. Would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

If you're visiting Knoxville for the first time, as we were, this is a great choice. Right off Market Square, the Oliver has been restored to a past-eradicating point (a few hints of what it used to be would be nice), but maybe as a result, rooms are spacious and bathrooms commodious. The only glitch we encountered was with our reservation. According to a desk clerk, the hotel sometimes books in the name of the accompanying traveler instead of the primary traveler resulting in much confusion at check-in (for the first time in my life, I was asked for the reservation confirmation number). There's no good reason why this shouldn't have been fixed promptly, as it's not a nice way to begin your visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

This urban restoration is perfectly executed. It has all the modern conveniences with historical charm. The Market Square location is ideal. Room service is provided by the adjoining Tupelo Honey restaurant. Within walking distance of all the shops, restaurants, boutiques, and cafés of Market Square and Old Town.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barboursville, WV
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We stayed with our two small children over July 4th weekend and had a wonderful time from beginning to end. We were upgraded to a beautiful suite, had delicious room service from Tupelo Honey Cafe, explored downtown on foot and slept like babies. Each member of the staff went above and beyond to make sure our stay was perfect. The design is modern with cool art and beautiful furnishings. Can't recommend it enough!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Oliver Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oliver Hotel

Address: 407 Union Avenue, (corner of Market Square), Knoxville, TN 37902 (Formerly The Hotel St. Oliver)
Location: United States > Tennessee > Knoxville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Knoxville
#4 Romantic Hotel in Knoxville
#12 Family Hotel in Knoxville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Knoxville just steps away from the hustle and bustle of Market Square, The Oliver Hotel is an original expression of the city. Originally built in 1876 as the Peter Kern Bakery, the building had hosted everything from the Kern's candy counter and soda fountain to a drugstore, and dancing hall. In 2011, the property was renovated into what is now Knoxville's only boutique hotel with a style that plays tribute to the buildings history, while offering guests rooms with charm, sophistication, and modern amenities. The property is also well known for its Peter Kern Library Bar and the award winning Tupelo Honey Cafe Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and Regatta Hotels so you can book your The Oliver Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Oliver

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oliver Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.