We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Artful boutique hotel in the heart of Knoxville's downtown” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Oliver Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Oliver Hotel to your Saves list
The Oliver Hotel
407 Union Avenue, (corner of Market Square), Knoxville, TN 37902 (Formerly The Hotel St. Oliver)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 89 Hotels in Knoxville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Barboursville, WV
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Artful boutique hotel in the heart of Knoxville's downtown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We stayed with our two small children over July 4th weekend and had a wonderful time from beginning to end. We were upgraded to a beautiful suite, had delicious room service from Tupelo Honey Cafe, explored downtown on foot and slept like babies. Each member of the staff went above and beyond to make sure our stay was perfect. The design is modern with cool art and beautiful furnishings. Can't recommend it enough!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    82
    12
    3
    4
See reviews for
49
126
11
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bloomfield Hills
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Beds very comfortable, rooms large and quiet...very roomy efficient showers. Morning coffee great. Best part is The Library bar...the professional mixologists whip up magic potions in great ambience. Spend some time there.

Room Tip: Room overlooking Market Square can be noisy at times...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Great restful stay in the heart of the city! Excellent Bourbon bar! What a gem of a find! Staff are well trained and very thoughtful! Art is perfect, decor wonderful! Such a perfect location for enjoying the square!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We stayed at the Oliver the night of our wedding and the following evening. The hotel is super nice and quiet. We did have the AC go out the night of our wedding and they quickly found a room for us to move to the following day. The rooms are spacious and nicely decorated. I find this to be one of the best (if not the best) hotels in Knoxville.

Regarding why this hotel received 4 stars and not 5...This hotel had no "special touches". We stayed there the night of the wedding and there was nothing special done by the hotel. We had to move our own luggage to the 2nd room when the AC went out. There wasn't a turn down service or anything "special" that I find many boutique hotels to do. It would take very little to make guests feel extra special and I think this is a big opportunity for this hotel given that it is a boutique hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

I am so selective and extremely particular about hotels! I travel a great deal!

Knoxville has nothing that is not chain, tired or little over average at best! Or so I thought!

The OLIVER under Michael, the young man running this wonderful hotel has shown me, there is a classy boutique hotel in Knox, that reminds me of a some great Kimpton properties! Unique in its own right and Michael, the hotel manager shared the history with me. How many managers care to Share so much history with their guests?

He gets it, the ownership must get it and the staff follow with charm and exceptional service!

I love David, Yaz, Dino and AJ, yes, you get to know the exceptional staff immediately , you have no choice! They greet you when you arrive and leave and ask if your needs are met in a round about perfect way!

They take such expert care of you and ask you if there is anything you might need or desire while you stay here! Housekeepers jump to attend to you, everything is pretty seamless!


The rooms are so well appointed, great sheets and amenities!

Michael is a real asset! Great hotel manager that gets the special touches. The bourbon bar, the great coffee , the real glasses, I am all about green and this hotel exceeded my expectations, no plastic ok, D all the above

Thank you for the wonderful stay! Great business, great pleasure hotel! Great experience!
Thank you all!

PE I love the ice cubes and art!

You do it all up right! Give Michael a raise, he deserves it!

Room Tip: They seem to know where to place you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson City, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

The hotel is beautifully decorated, clean and quiet. Is very quaint, comfortable and has excellent staff. It was so convenient staying there for shopping and eating in Market Square, and all of the downtown area. Will definitely be staying there again!

Room Tip: We had a king suite that was very roomy for different family members visiting while we were there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Quirky, stylish, located next to Market Square where music and voices last until 11:00pm or later, and trash trucks start beeping and banging at 4:00 am. Don't stay here if sleep is a priority. Thinning washcloths feel like paper towells. Speaking of towells, the raggedy edges should have consigned these to the rag bag. You think the refillable shower gel, shampoo and conditioner mounted in the wall are a good idea until you get in, get wet, and realize they are empty so you have to get out and get the little sample bottles off the vanity. Remote control needs a new battery so it will actually work from the couch. Coffee is good.

Room Tip: Ask to be as far from Market Square as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Oliver Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oliver Hotel

Address: 407 Union Avenue, (corner of Market Square), Knoxville, TN 37902 (Formerly The Hotel St. Oliver)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Knoxville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Knoxville
#5 Romantic Hotel in Knoxville
#10 Family Hotel in Knoxville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Knoxville just steps away from the hustle and bustle of Market Square, The Oliver Hotel is an original expression of the city. Originally built in 1876 as the Peter Kern Bakery, the building had hosted everything from the Kern's candy counter and soda fountain to a drugstore, and dancing hall. In 2011, the property was renovated into what is now Knoxville's only boutique hotel with a style that plays tribute to the buildings history, while offering guests rooms with charm, sophistication, and modern amenities. The property is also well known for its Peter Kern Library Bar and the award winning Tupelo Honey Cafe Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Regatta Hotels so you can book your The Oliver Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Oliver

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oliver Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.