We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, friendly and professional.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Oliver Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Oliver Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Oliver Hotel
407 Union Avenue, (corner of Market Square), Knoxville, TN 37902 (Formerly The Hotel St. Oliver)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 89 hotels in Knoxville
1 review
“Great service, friendly and professional.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed for 4 nights during a conference and had some minor problems with the room electronics, but the staff was on it and shared information so all were aware and even gave us a discount upon checkout. They were friendly and professional and I would absolutely recommend them to my friends and family. The rooms were clean and comfortable but a little dim. The downstairs bar is unique with excellent customer service and unique drinks you can not get anywhere else in town. Finally, you are one block away from all the shops, no need for a rental to get around.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    163
    66
    12
    2
    3
See reviews for
39
97
9
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
san francisco
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Great, small boutique hotel, just off Market Square in downtown Knoxville. Friendly and helpful front desk staff. King size room was very comfortable and well appointed and the bathroom was good sized. We were able to walk everywhere that we wanted to go and several restaurants and bars are within steps. The best kept secret is the "speakeasy" that is part of The Oliver. If we ever go to Knoxville again, we will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

My family and I had to come to town unexpectedly for a funeral and were concerned that The Oliver may not be able to accommodate us because of the late notice, considering it was UT Homecoming weekend....NOT SO! As always, this staff MAKES THINGS HAPPEN! AJ, Michelle (good luck in NY) and Samuel made everything seamless for us. We were also able to meet the BEST BARTENDER in K-Town, Amanda! I can’t thank The Oliver staff enough for ALWAYS putting the customer first in everything they do and for always making us feel right at home!

Room Tip: They are all amazing rooms, but if it's your first visit, shoot to get room 312!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sevierville
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Overall, the experience was fantastic. Only complaint would be that I was so looking forward to a wonderful shower in their beautifully appointed bathroom... There was very little water pressure and luke warm at best.... otherwise, a wonderful time. Will definitely stay again, preferably market square side next visit.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

We loved the Oliver because the location is perfect. Located right on the market, we waked to everything, including the old city, down to the Tennessee river got lunch, out to dinner Etc. the staff was very friendly and helpful. The valet for the car did cost $15 for the one night, but it is cheaper than self park garage. The bathroom was large and they supply you with everything you could need. We even got a free upgrade to a large 2 Room king suite. The hotel bar, tucked away behind a sliding library wall door had such character, you have to have one drink in there. Glass of wine for $7 was fair. The popular restaurant "tupelo honey" just opened in same building of the hotel and is the hotel's room service. While staying herd in Knoxville we enjoyed: "Boyd's jig and reel " & "crown & goose" pub for a drink in old city area (a lil more our style since market area Is younger college kids). We ate sushi at "Nama", lunch on Tennessee river at "calhoun's" and visited the Knoxville fire department (they were very hospitable and let us tour their trucks & they have historic items on display ). Really enjoyed Knoxville & the Oliver is a must if you want to stay downtown.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Thanks for an excellent experience in Knoxville. Very helpful staff. Tidy minimalist rooms with stylish decorations. Any time we are back in Knoxvillw we will only stay here. A new kind of hotel experience.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Really enjoyed our stay at the Oliver. I enjoyed the tweet for an upgrade program. Super comfortable bed. Great service. Only issues- the soap/shampoo dispensers are not reachable from the tub, only from standing for a shower. Also the $25 bottles of wine in the room are French wine from an unknown region there. If the hotel is going to sell wine in room for that much, it should be decent wine (or local beer would be nice).

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Oliver Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oliver Hotel

Address: 407 Union Avenue, (corner of Market Square), Knoxville, TN 37902 (Formerly The Hotel St. Oliver)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Knoxville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Knoxville
#4 Romantic Hotel in Knoxville
#15 Family Hotel in Knoxville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Knoxville just steps away from the hustle and bustle of Market Square, The Oliver Hotel is an original expression of the city. Originally built in 1876 as the Peter Kern Bakery, the building had hosted everything from the Kern's candy counter and soda fountain to a drugstore, and dancing hall. In 2011, the property was renovated into what is now Knoxville's only boutique hotel with a style that plays tribute to the buildings history, while offering guests rooms with charm, sophistication, and modern amenities. The property is also well known for its Peter Kern Library Bar and the award winning Tupelo Honey Cafe Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Regatta Hotels and Otel so you can book your The Oliver Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Oliver

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oliver Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.