We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Oliver is great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Oliver Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Oliver Hotel to your Saves list
The Oliver Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   407 Union Avenue, (corner of Market Square), Knoxville, TN 37902 (Formerly The Hotel St. Oliver)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 88 Hotels in Knoxville
Certificate of Excellence
san francisco
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Oliver is great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Great, small boutique hotel, just off Market Square in downtown Knoxville. Friendly and helpful front desk staff. King size room was very comfortable and well appointed and the bathroom was good sized. We were able to walk everywhere that we wanted to go and several restaurants and bars are within steps. The best kept secret is the "speakeasy" that is part of The Oliver. If we ever go to Knoxville again, we will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2centsSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

My family and I had to come to town unexpectedly for a funeral and were concerned that The Oliver may not be able to accommodate us because of the late notice, considering it was UT Homecoming weekend....NOT SO! As always, this staff MAKES THINGS HAPPEN! AJ, Michelle (good luck in NY) and Samuel made everything seamless for us. We were also able to meet the BEST BARTENDER in K-Town, Amanda! I can’t thank The Oliver staff enough for ALWAYS putting the customer first in everything they do and for always making us feel right at home!

Room Tip: They are all amazing rooms, but if it's your first visit, shoot to get room 312!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Benivia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sevierville
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Overall, the experience was fantastic. Only complaint would be that I was so looking forward to a wonderful shower in their beautifully appointed bathroom... There was very little water pressure and luke warm at best.... otherwise, a wonderful time. Will definitely stay again, preferably market square side next visit.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maggards3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We loved the Oliver because the location is perfect. Located right on the market, we waked to everything, including the old city, down to the Tennessee river got lunch, out to dinner Etc. the staff was very friendly and helpful. The valet for the car did cost $15 for the one night, but it is cheaper than self park garage. The bathroom was large and they supply you with everything you could need. We even got a free upgrade to a large 2 Room king suite. The hotel bar, tucked away behind a sliding library wall door had such character, you have to have one drink in there. Glass of wine for $7 was fair. The popular restaurant "tupelo honey" just opened in same building of the hotel and is the hotel's room service. While staying herd in Knoxville we enjoyed: "Boyd's jig and reel " & "crown & goose" pub for a drink in old city area (a lil more our style since market area Is younger college kids). We ate sushi at "Nama", lunch on Tennessee river at "calhoun's" and visited the Knoxville fire department (they were very hospitable and let us tour their trucks & they have historic items on display ). Really enjoyed Knoxville & the Oliver is a must if you want to stay downtown.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamonit39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Thanks for an excellent experience in Knoxville. Very helpful staff. Tidy minimalist rooms with stylish decorations. Any time we are back in Knoxvillw we will only stay here. A new kind of hotel experience.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamormusique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
167 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Really enjoyed our stay at the Oliver. I enjoyed the tweet for an upgrade program. Super comfortable bed. Great service. Only issues- the soap/shampoo dispensers are not reachable from the tub, only from standing for a shower. Also the $25 bottles of wine in the room are French wine from an unknown region there. If the hotel is going to sell wine in room for that much, it should be decent wine (or local beer would be nice).

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bosphorus104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookeville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I loved staying at the Oliver Hotel. While a revamped older hotel it is at the Market Square. Our room overlooked the square. Lovely furnishing, beautiful bath, comfortable bed, and other great amenities. The staff were so friendly and concerned about making our stay the best. Thank you!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Auggie1doggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knoxville hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Knoxville - Downtown
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Knoxville
Crowne Plaza Knoxville
#26 of 88 in Knoxville
4.0 of 5 stars 405 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Knoxville
Hilton Knoxville
#29 of 88 in Knoxville
4.0 of 5 stars 816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn World's Fair Park-Knoxville
4.5 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Knoxville North
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Knoxville/University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oliver Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oliver Hotel

Address: 407 Union Avenue, (corner of Market Square), Knoxville, TN 37902 (Formerly The Hotel St. Oliver)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Knoxville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Knoxville
#4 Business Hotel in Knoxville
#10 Family Hotel in Knoxville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — The Oliver Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Knoxville just steps away from the hustle and bustle of Market Square, The Oliver Hotel is an original expression of the city. Originally built in 1876 as the Peter Kern Bakery, the building had hosted everything from the Kern's candy counter and soda fountain to a drugstore, and dancing hall. In 2011, the property was renovated into what is now Knoxville's best boutique hotel with a style that plays tribute to the buildings history, while offering guests rooms with charm, sophistication, and modern amenities. The property features the Peter Kern Library Bar, a craft cocktail lounge; Tupelo Honey Cafe, an award winning restaurant; and Oliver Royale Restaurant, featuring a chef driven menu and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Regatta Hotels so you can book your The Oliver Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Oliver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing