We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Knoxville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Knoxville to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Knoxville
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   401 West Summit Hill Drive, Knoxville, TN 37902   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #24 of 88 Hotels in Knoxville
Tennessee
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Ultra clean rooms. Attentive staff that cratered to our needs. All the services one would need. Centered near the Old City, plenty of shopping and nightlife around. Only drawback was during our visit, there was construction to the facade of the building that was a hassle to get around. The staff said this would be completed in a couple weeks. Other that the construction, I have no complaints.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelstaff1234, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Knoxville, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear TennesseeBlayne,
Thank you for your great review. We are very pleased to learn that our service and hotel location made your visit to Knoxville so special!
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza on your next visit. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    83
    28
    19
    22
See reviews for
46
54
20
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bluefield, West Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We stayed one night here with our shepard and we were very pleased with the staff, everything met our expectations, and ours are pretty high. I would recommend this place, we loved it, our shepard did well with going to the designated area for pets. tks. mccoys

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelstaff1234, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Knoxville, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you for your review. We're happy that you and your Shepard enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful modern rooms, amazing food in their restaurant & fantastic accomodating staff! Great location in walking distance to Market Square with great shopping & night life! They treated our dog like family!
Wouldn't stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelstaff1234, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Knoxville, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review of your most recent stay with us. We're so pleased to hear when our staff does a great job of welcoming and accommodating our guests. We appreciate your review and hope to have a chance to host you again in the future. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Location, location, location. This hotel is in the best location to Market Square and all that is going on in Knoxville. Hotel staff could not have Been nicer. The beds were great and if you want to bring your dog. This is the place.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelstaff1234, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Knoxville, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
We're so pleased to hear about your great experience staying with us at the Crowne Plaza. Thank you for your review and we hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

This hotel offered 5 star service at a 3 star price. The restaurant and bar were exceptional and we were treated like royalty by everyone who worked there. The location was absolutely perfect for exploring downtown Knoxville. We absolutely loved this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelstaff1234, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Knoxville, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review! We're happy to have been able to provide you with a great hotel experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fallston, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We traveled to Knoxville in March 2014 to take our little Yorkie who was dying and needed a liver shunt operation. RescueMeYorkieRescue made arrangements for us to stay at the Crowne Plaza for one night and we dropped Port off at the clinic at UT for evaluation and headed there with our other 3 yorkies. When we pulled up we were greeted by the nicest gentleman who actually walked us to our parking space in the garage and smiled and said how welcome are little ones were. This hotel was the most pet friendly place we have ever been!!! Everyone from the manager, desk clerks, doormen, to maintenance could not have been more accommodating. We have traveled all over the world with my husbands company and stayed in some of the most exclusive resorts and have not received better service. Our room was very pleasant, loved the location, and even though there was a convention going on it was quiet in the evening. Since Port ended up having the surgery, we had to stay several more days and although they were booked up they managed to allow us to stay I think the fact that our 3 little four legged kids were so cute helped. We would definitely recommend this hotel chain and look for them as we travel.
Karen S.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelstaff1234, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Knoxville, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for leaving such a wonderful review! We're happy we were able to provide a comfortable stay for you and your pups. We hope your Yorkie is doing well! Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, TN
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

This hotel is in a good location very close to the University of Tennessee and Market Square. Four out of the five people who I talked to there were very friendly and helpful. However, it was the one that makes me question the hotels hospitality training.

This is an older hotel in need of updating. We were without a tv for part of our trip. The gentleman who came to fix our tv was great and very accommodating. He even switched our tv out several times. That was one of the problems, it needed switched out several times to find one that worked. I can honestly say he did the best he could with what he had to work with. Very nice and helpful guy.

They have a semi-great workout facility. Lots of weight equipment to use on one level and then a separate floor for the cardio equipment. Good selection of cardio equipment but I thought I was in a Hot Yoga class as there was NO working air and it was like a sauna.

Our room came with a floor air unit that when it was on would freeze you because it blew right in your face at bed level. But if it was off then you would be sweating. Solution: moved a chair in front of the unit to deflect the direct air blowing in your face. Problem solved.

In addition, our when you got off the elevator on our floor there was no air and it to felt like a sauna. A quick run back to my room for cool air.

Again, most of the people who worked there were very friendly and really cared about helping with any need you might have. However, this is a WARNING… stay away from the really large room to the left of the bar. The door was open and I saw a pool table on one side, a library sitting area on one side and then way on the other side was a man sitting down talking with a woman. Apparently this must be his "Office", because as soon as I wondered in thinking it was apart of the lobby area for use, he YELLED at me and made sure I knew it was a PRIVATE area. If this really was an office or private area where they did not want someone accidentally walking in then they should leave the DOOR CLOSED so that it does not look inviting.

Over all, the pros over weigh the negatives for me and I would consider staying there again if I could not find a room at a nearby hotel.

Room Tip: Just stay away from the room on the bottom floor to the left of the bar. That guy bites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelstaff1234, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Knoxville, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave the details of your hotel experience. We're happy to hear you enjoyed the location and the service provided however we would also like to apologize for the shortcomings you faced during your stay. We will take all your comments into consideration when evaluating the hotel. Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Knoxville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Knoxville

Address: 401 West Summit Hill Drive, Knoxville, TN 37902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Knoxville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Knoxville
#20 Business Hotel in Knoxville
#25 Family Hotel in Knoxville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Knoxville 3.5*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Knoxville, 20 minutes from McGhee Tyson Airport, is located in Downtown Knoxville. Walk to the Old City and Market Square to enjoy over 30 eateries, nightlife, shopping and outdoor concerts. The Crowne Plaza is convenient to the University of Tennessee, Neyland Stadium (UT Football), Thompson Boling Arena (Vols & Lady Vols Basketball), Civic Auditorium & Coliseum (Ice Bears Hockey), Knoxville Convention Center, Tennessee Theater, Knoxville Museum of Art, Worlds Fair Park, Volunteer Landing, The Star of Knoxville Riverboat, East Tennessee Historical Society, Blount Mansion, James White Fort and the Mabry-Hazen House. Each newly renovated guestroom includes free wireless high-speed internet access and a host of other amenities. Come experience our restaurant, Mahogany's, featuring breakfast, lunch and dinner. Order room service or visit the Library for Starbucks coffee or your favorite cocktail. Our 3000 sq ft Gym features state-of-the-art cardio and weight equipment and an indoor heated pool. Visit our uniquely appointed Gift Shop and 24-hour Business Center. The Crowne Plaza Knoxville has over 15,000 sq ft of meeting space, ranging from our Executive Boardroom to our Summit Ballroom, making us the perfect meeting place for large and small meetings. We look forward to serving you at the Crowne Plaza Knoxville. With our dedicated staff and exceptional service standards, we will exceed your expectations! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, Reservation Counter, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Knoxville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Knoxville Hotel Knoxville
Knoxville Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Knoxville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.