We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Knoxville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Knoxville to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Knoxville
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   401 West Summit Hill Drive, Knoxville, TN 37902   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #22 of 89 Hotels in Knoxville
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

I came here on a trip while my sister was doing her UT Knoxville stuff. I was surprise by how nice the place is. The room was clean. I like how the housekeeping manager knock on my room asking if the room is great. The staff was great. Frank was helpful and great to talk too. Katie was also helpful. My only real complaint was the TV. Maintenance guy came to my room to twist the wire in, but I had to twist it in every so often the whole night to get a signal. The next day, the other maintenance guy came and loosen the wire to fix it. Same problem occur the next day. Why couldn't they just replace the wire like I wanted. The problem still occur but I didn't mind since I wasn't there to watch TV all day. Overall the hotel was great and I will return. I wont be asking for the same room # again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken K, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Knoxville, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Knoxville. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay but apologize for the TV cable problem. We are searching for a cable that will rotate with the TV to eliminate the problem.l
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    88
    31
    19
    23
See reviews for
49
59
20
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

There was not a site for the restaurant itself. Fridays only is the Prime Rib and Seafood buffet. Where shall I begin...steamed crab legs, oysters on the half shell, oysters rockefeller..these r large not chincy by any means, large shrimp cocktail as well aas fried, smoked salmon, plus other hots dishes, sushi, prime rib, fresh pasta station thy cook to order full salad bar and dessert bar. Too many items to mention. Avg price $30 pp worth every penny! The dining area is formal llike the hotel however you can be dressed up or have on shorts and sandels. The way I see it if you hve $30 bucks for a awesome meal who cares how people dress..they are enjoyiing fine dining in their comfort level. Service was excellent. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken K, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Knoxville, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
I'm so happy that you enjoyed our Friday Night Prime Rib and Seafood Buffet. I look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus OH
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

The hotel and staff was great. Our room was very clean and remodeled. The staff was very courteous. I really appreciated that they allowed pets for a modest fee.There were many restaurants that were nearby, some of which were open very late. The location although in a downtown setting was quiet and no street noise was audible in the guestrooms. They have the best fitness center that I have ever seen - it was two stories.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken K, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Knoxville, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Knoxville. I'm glad you enjoyed the hotel as well as downtown Knoxville. I hope you will come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I stayed at the Crowne Plaza the night of June 1st. I previously had been staying at a newly built Hampton Inn Turkey Creek in Farragut. The Crowne Plaza was actually less expensive than the Hampton Inn. Crowne is easy walking distance to many bars and restaurants downtown. The rooms are very clean and nice. Not extremely spacious, but not cramped.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken K, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Knoxville, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for giving the Crowne Plaza a try on your recent stay in Knoxville. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope you will return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I recently spent 3 nights at the Crowne Plaza Knoxville. The room was spacious, clean, and featured much-appreciated amenities for relaxation and a good night's sleep. The staff in the restaurant and room service were friendly and punctual. The hotel features the best gym I've ever seen on my travels. Located in the center of downtown Knoxville, I was close to shopping and entertainment. I highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Great views of downtown in odd-numbered rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken K, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Knoxville, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. I will pass them along to the staff. I appreciate that you chose the Crowne Plaza Knoxville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Granby, CT
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

An enjoyable stay with no significant complaints. I liked the lobby and check-in setup where there is no one long front desk. The hotel staff are at separate smaller areas for a more intimate experience. The rooms were clean and well appointed with flat-screen TV and work area. Free wireless Internet was a huge plus, and it worked perfectly for me the entire three days I was there. The soundproofing could have been better, it was a little too easy to hear adjoining rooms and hallway activity noise was clearly picked up at night. Parking does carry a nightly charge in the hotel's underground parking garage. Location is excellent within easy walking distance of downtown shopping and theaters, including a variety of restaurants in Market Square. A Catholic church is adjacent to the hotel. Not all Crowne Plazas have impressed me, but this is one that did. I would definitely return if traveling to Knoxville in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken K, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Knoxville, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Knoxville on your recent trip to Knoxville. I'm glad you enjoyed the hotel and really appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

My first time at any Crowne Plaza Hotel - 2 night stay. This hotel was dated but nicely decorated. My room was clean and spacious, except the bathroom was very small. I ordered room service and it was great, the server had an excellent attitude and it was delivered in 20min. As I lay on the bed, I noticed multiple dust "stalactites" hanging from the ceiling. I called the front desk and asked them to please clean it while I was out of the room the following day. Upon my return, I realized that it had not been cleaned. So, at 8 pm that night, a house keeper arrived with a vacuum cleaner. He was very nice but a little too short and had to tip toe to reach them. It took 30 min to vacuum the dust stalactites from the ceiling. later I received a call from the manager on site who apologized and offered various perks. Apology accepted but perks declined, I was tired and had an early day the following day. I liked the hotel, it felt homey and I will stay again

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Knoxville, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear Carol T,

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I am glad to hear you like the spacious rooms that we offer and found our hotel staff courteous Your satisfaction is important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. I am truly sorry our room cleanliness did not live up to your expectations. Your feedback will be taken into consideration in our efforts to continually monitor and improve the quality and services we offer.

Again, we appreciate your candid feedback.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Knoxville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Knoxville

Address: 401 West Summit Hill Drive, Knoxville, TN 37902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Knoxville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Knoxville
#18 Business Hotel in Knoxville
#26 Family Hotel in Knoxville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Knoxville 3.5*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Knoxville, 20 minutes from McGhee Tyson Airport, is located in Downtown Knoxville. Walk to the Old City and Market Square to enjoy over 30 eateries, nightlife, shopping and outdoor concerts. The Crowne Plaza is convenient to the University of Tennessee, Neyland Stadium (UT Football), Thompson Boling Arena (Vols & Lady Vols Basketball), Civic Auditorium & Coliseum (Ice Bears Hockey), Knoxville Convention Center, Tennessee Theater, Knoxville Museum of Art, Worlds Fair Park, Volunteer Landing, The Star of Knoxville Riverboat, East Tennessee Historical Society, Blount Mansion, James White Fort and the Mabry-Hazen House. Each newly renovated guestroom includes free wireless high-speed internet access and a host of other amenities. Come experience our restaurant, Mahogany's, featuring breakfast, lunch and dinner. Order room service or visit the Library for Starbucks coffee or your favorite cocktail. Our 3000 sq ft Gym features state-of-the-art cardio and weight equipment and an indoor heated pool. Visit our uniquely appointed Gift Shop and 24-hour Business Center. The Crowne Plaza Knoxville has over 15,000 sq ft of meeting space, ranging from our Executive Boardroom to our Summit Ballroom, making us the perfect meeting place for large and small meetings. We look forward to serving you at the Crowne Plaza Knoxville. With our dedicated staff and exceptional service standards, we will exceed your expectations! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Knoxville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Knoxville Hotel Knoxville
Knoxville Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Knoxville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.