We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Knoxville

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Knoxville to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Knoxville
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   401 West Summit Hill Drive, Knoxville, TN 37902   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #23 of 89 Hotels in Knoxville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Got a deal thru Priceline. Very good value, nice room, great location for the downtown area. You can walk easily to all locations. I would go back again and again. Room was nice. Not a bad view. Next trip to Knoxville we will be staying here.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken K, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Knoxville, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thanks for choosing the Crowne Plaza Knoxville. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    104
    35
    20
    24
See reviews for
55
69
21
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

...for 12 years when in Knoxville visiting our son and his family. I miss it when we leave! The staff is wonderfully helpful and friendly (to pets and people); rooms are clean; as is the lobby. Food is good and morning coffee can be ordered in the room. It has all the amenities of a classy hotel except for the price which is incredibly reasonable. I highly recommend the Crowne Knoxville.
mbarton

Room Tip: Reserve early if wanting to stay during a major sporting or academic event at University of TN.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken K, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Knoxville, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you so much. I greatly appreciate you business and your loyalty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, VA
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stay at the Crowne Plaza as an intermediate stop between Washington DC and Tuscaloosa Alabama to pick my daughter up at school, when on the highway. It is just off of a main highway, has safe indoor parking right off the lobby, clean and nice rooms, and an awesome breakfast buffet included in my room price. Directly across the street are about a dozen fantastic restaurants with live music and street musicians playing outside the restaurant patios. Even an Alabama fan won't mind staying near the University of Tennessee when the accommodations are this nice

Room Tip: Choose a business suite upgrade, quiet floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken K, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Knoxville, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Google Translation
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. Roll Tide! Go Vols!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The hotel is excellent. We were in Knoxville for a weekend conference in late April. The rooms were clean and well-appointed. The breakfast buffet is good. The exercise facility is outstanding. I recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken K, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Knoxville, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you so much for the nice comments. I'm pleased you enjoyed the Crowne Plaza Knoxville and hope you will return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
memphis
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

The staff is very friendly and the area around the hotel is beautiful. The lobby is very nice with nice dark wood. The rooms are spacious and the tile work in the bathrooms are a bonus. The beds are very comfortable. Drawbacks are dated carpet and wall coverings, closets, air conditioners, slow elevators, and a horribly small parking garage. The meeting spaces were very nice but the rooms need some updating.

Room Tip: Higher floors are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken K, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Knoxville, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Upon arrival they only offered us a double bed or a smoking king room (who still offers double beds and smoking rooms anymore?). The room felt like a room in my grandmothers home - in fact, the entire hotel is beyond outdated. We checked out 10 minutes after checking in and not only did they not even bother trying to keep my business, they also charged a $10 early checkout fee (for what, I am not sure). I will NOT be back here and would recommend Hampton Inn or Holiday Inn as low spend alternates or The Oliver, where we ended up staying as the best all around option.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken K, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Knoxville, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
I am sorry you were dissapointed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed 2 days in April. From the moment we got out of the car to the time we left, there was always someone to greet us or help in any way. The valet was prompt and courteous. Brennan, the front desk representative was pleasant and knowledgeable about the area. He gave us map which he marked up for us and answered all our questions. The room was very clean- thank you, Ta keela (I am soooo sorry if I got name wrong- did not write it down). Lovelle, the night shift front desk person was also very helpful. When it came time to leave, Robert - with a smile- helped us with luggage and brought our car to us. The whole experience was great, and we look forward to staying at your hotel again. I am sorry if I spelled names wrong and missed anyone. Thanks again!

Room Tip: Ask for a higher level that faces the Market Square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken K, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Knoxville, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Knoxville. I'm pleased that you enjoued your stay and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Knoxville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Knoxville

Address: 401 West Summit Hill Drive, Knoxville, TN 37902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Knoxville
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Knoxville
#19 Business Hotel in Knoxville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Knoxville 3.5*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Knoxville, 20 minutes from McGhee Tyson Airport, is located in Downtown Knoxville. Walk to the Old City and Market Square to enjoy over 30 eateries, nightlife, shopping and outdoor concerts. The Crowne Plaza is convenient to the University of Tennessee, Neyland Stadium (UT Football), Thompson Boling Arena (Vols & Lady Vols Basketball), Civic Auditorium & Coliseum (Ice Bears Hockey), Knoxville Convention Center, Tennessee Theater, Knoxville Museum of Art, Worlds Fair Park, Volunteer Landing, The Star of Knoxville Riverboat, East Tennessee Historical Society, Blount Mansion, James White Fort and the Mabry-Hazen House. Each newly renovated guestroom includes free wireless high-speed internet access and a host of other amenities. Come experience our restaurant, Mahogany's, featuring breakfast, lunch and dinner. Order room service or visit the Library for Starbucks coffee or your favorite cocktail. Our 3000 sq ft Gym features state-of-the-art cardio and weight equipment and an indoor heated pool. Visit our uniquely appointed Gift Shop and 24-hour Business Center. The Crowne Plaza Knoxville has over 15,000 sq ft of meeting space, ranging from our Executive Boardroom to our Summit Ballroom, making us the perfect meeting place for large and small meetings. We look forward to serving you at the Crowne Plaza Knoxville. With our dedicated staff and exceptional service standards, we will exceed your expectations! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Regatta Hotels, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Crowne Plaza Knoxville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Knoxville Hotel Knoxville
Knoxville Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Knoxville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.