We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Knoxville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Knoxville to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Knoxville
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   401 West Summit Hill Drive, Knoxville, TN 37902   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #22 of 89 Hotels in Knoxville
dracut ma
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

Hotel is a little old cleaning is just ok staff was great could not be better.
I think the problems of the hotel are just part of being an older property.
If you need to be in the center of the city you have to put up with the city
Noise thats the problem with the location . But i picked the location and loved it.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Knoxville, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear mpitreau,

Thank you for your feedback. I appreciate the positive comments about our hotel location and staff. Regarding the city noise, please accept our apologies for any inconvenience this may have caused. We try our best to ensure all guests have a relaxing and enjoyable stay. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Lera M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    88
    31
    19
    23
See reviews for
49
59
20
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

This is a nice downtown hotel close to some terrific restaurants, but it could use some updating. My room had a king size bed that was comfortable but the pillows were tiny and there must have been half a dozen of them. The bathroom had been redone, but was small and had only a shower, no tub. There was a large flat screen HDTV in the room, but only standard definition channels were available and the picture was so bad I gave up trying to watch it. I'll never understand why hotels spend the money for high def televisions but provide only a standard def signal. The wifi hotel internet service was OK but was not password protected, which always makes me nervous. The hotel staff, however, was excellent - knowledgeable and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogers, Arkansas
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

I stayed here on a business trip and the hotel is in a perfect downtown location. Overall the hotel was nice and clean, and the service was great. Breakfast was great as well. I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends or collegues and would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Courtney greets you with a friendly smile and Southern charm when you enter the Crowne Plaza in downtown Knoxville, she's one of Knoxville's hidden gems! Whether you want to get out on the town, or backpack some of the most inspiring hikes in the smokin smokie, she has the inside scoop!

Room Tip: The front desk staff are very attentive to the needs of the weary traveler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silicon Valley, CA
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

You might be surprised to hear my 5-star review starts with a complaint, but please hang on. We had a long stay at the Crowne Plaza Knoxville for a soccer tournament, and while the service was exemplary and friendly, we had a few issues with internet, a frig, and the Mahogany's restaurant. After a couple of nights, I glanced through the hotel notebook and found the GM's email on the first page, so I fired off a grumpy email to him.

Now here's the amazing part. His and his staff's response was overwhelming. They replaced equipment, cancelled some charges, and did things for us we've never seen any hotel do. And if you look at my past reviews, you'll see we stay at top hotels. Crowne Plaza went out of its way to make sure we were satisfied. So my advice to you, is that if you have an issue, let them know when it happens, and don't wait until you get home to write your review. :-) They are so gracious about it too. I only see responsiveness like this in companies where customer satisfaction is the #1 priority.

Some tips on our stay: I was on the 12th floor. 2 bathrobes and the AC worked well. Free wifi was 3Mbps. They have a huge fitness room, with about 5 treadmills and 3 exercise bikes upstairs overlooking the pool. Most equipment is Precor. The strength equipment is targeted at heavy lifters. It would be nice if there were more stuff for women, such as a stretching area with yoga mats, pilates balls, and more light weights.

Due to the early tournament games, we only ate breakfast (room service) one morning, where we found the fruit platter and oatmeal to be large servings and good values. In fact, the oatmeal was unusually good, something between steel cut and Quaker oats, and only ~$4.50! The restaurant serves Starbucks coffee.

The location can't be beat, as you can walk to Gay Street for movie, theater, eats, and a busy night life. There's also a Weigel's convenience store about 0.5 mi away. We were really glad we stayed here versus the other tournament hotels in the Cedar Bluff area.

Room Tip: The even numbered rooms will give you twinkling lights at night. The odd numbered rooms face the TV...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I had a friend flying in to the Knoxville airport and we decided to get a hotel for the night and we were very pleased. The staff was wonderful, they arranged our taxi and everything for us. The location of the hotel was great and close to nightlife. The room was immaculate. The only thing I can complain about is how expensive the breakfast was... It was nothing special, just a little buffet with the usual and it was $26 for two people.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

The hotel is very modern, very clean, very well maintained and most very well staffed. The restaurant is also a pleasant surprise. I say "pleasant surprise" because most hotel restaurants are at best average. These guys put out great food with great service at fair prices.

Room Tip: Ask for the North side of the building as the view is better and less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Knoxville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Knoxville

Address: 401 West Summit Hill Drive, Knoxville, TN 37902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Knoxville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Knoxville
#18 Business Hotel in Knoxville
#26 Family Hotel in Knoxville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Knoxville 3.5*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Knoxville, 20 minutes from McGhee Tyson Airport, is located in Downtown Knoxville. Walk to the Old City and Market Square to enjoy over 30 eateries, nightlife, shopping and outdoor concerts. The Crowne Plaza is convenient to the University of Tennessee, Neyland Stadium (UT Football), Thompson Boling Arena (Vols & Lady Vols Basketball), Civic Auditorium & Coliseum (Ice Bears Hockey), Knoxville Convention Center, Tennessee Theater, Knoxville Museum of Art, Worlds Fair Park, Volunteer Landing, The Star of Knoxville Riverboat, East Tennessee Historical Society, Blount Mansion, James White Fort and the Mabry-Hazen House. Each newly renovated guestroom includes free wireless high-speed internet access and a host of other amenities. Come experience our restaurant, Mahogany's, featuring breakfast, lunch and dinner. Order room service or visit the Library for Starbucks coffee or your favorite cocktail. Our 3000 sq ft Gym features state-of-the-art cardio and weight equipment and an indoor heated pool. Visit our uniquely appointed Gift Shop and 24-hour Business Center. The Crowne Plaza Knoxville has over 15,000 sq ft of meeting space, ranging from our Executive Boardroom to our Summit Ballroom, making us the perfect meeting place for large and small meetings. We look forward to serving you at the Crowne Plaza Knoxville. With our dedicated staff and exceptional service standards, we will exceed your expectations! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Knoxville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Knoxville Hotel Knoxville
Knoxville Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Knoxville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.