We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I don't even know where to begin.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn Knoxville West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn Knoxville West to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn Knoxville West
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   258 Peters Road North, Knoxville, TN 37923   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 89 Hotels in Knoxville
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“I don't even know where to begin.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

This has to be the worst hotel I have ever stayed at and doubt I will stay at a LaQuinta in the future. Where do I begin? Employees at check in seemed like they'd rather be anywhere but at the front desk. Not too welcoming. We checked in to our room and there was an empty beer can on the night stand, towels on the floor in the bath room, trash in the wastebasket (take out food containers). We contacted the front desk and they said that housekeeping showed the room as clean. They couldn't move us to another room because they said they were filled. I requested clean linens and cleaning supplies and cleaned the room myself. We drove 12 hours and were tired. I had my kids sleep with their clothes on and didn't let them walk on the carpet without shoes on their feet. The room had a spotted mirror and a goo on the wall. Gross! The pool was closed but people sat outside by the pool drinking and playing cards all night. Another reviewer stated that people had barbecues outside their doors, they were correct. It seemed like a seedy, low rent half way house. I did not feel safe. This was the worst hotel experience I've ever had, it was down right gross.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    44
    29
    36
    36
See reviews for
65
41
26
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lansing, MI
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed at this hotel 5/22-5/26/13. We usually choose La Quinta because have been very happy in the past. This hotel is in need of updating. The bed in the room was great and there was a flat screen tv, however the tv shorted out each time we open a drawer to the dresser it was sitting on. The room was old, the hotel itself looked old and the breakfast was awful. Everything was premade in bags, including the bagels. They had waffles, but they were premade in bags and had to be toasted. Even the hard boiled eggs were packaged. The only good thing was the cereal, milk and yogurt. No hot entries at all.

One of the days, the maid service didn't even clean our room. We were gone all day and came back about 4:45. Luckily, they were still there and we asked them to clean it. They told me we were lucky to catch them because they were just leaving for the day. Yes, lucky indeed.

The bathroom was outdated. Very old tub. The shower head came to my chin. (I am 5'7").

All in all, very disappointed with this La Quinta.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Being retired and traveling with a dog to visit our parents in Oak Ridge, ground level, outside access rooms are a plus for us. This was the closest reasonably priced location location of acceptable quality, within a half hour drive. The south side room we occupied was clean and quiet. Overall, it and the property exceeded our expectations. Both were generally clean and in good repair during our stay.

The notable exception was the pool, which though out of service because of the season, should have been kept better clean, drained, and/or covered when not in use.

Through no fault of their own, motels are rarely located in areas that provide adequate exercise for dogs, but as pet owners who will eventually be traveling with an assistance animal, we were impressed by the well-maintained, convenient dog area located across from the entrance. Though other dogs were visible around the property, they were quiet, well supervised and well cared for, as most pet dogs are. People who keep their homes clean and well maintained tend to behave the same when traveling. We left our room and the pet facilities in the same condition that we found them.

While it would probably meet an ADA checklist, the bathroom was unnecessarily large, with an over-abundance of grab bars, however towel bars were more than 10 feet from the bath. Wall-mounted bedside lamp that are typical of nearly every motel we've ever stayed at, with switches that are hard to find and hard to reach from in bed - which is why many visitors tend to leave the bathroom light on all night. A solution would be to provide recessed low wattage walk lights, which would pay for themselves in energy savings within less than a year.

LQ could do motel owners and guests a big favor by providing architectural consulting for renovations. They could be more efficient, more comfortable, more profitable and more attractive at no higher cost - a win-win for everyone.

The cramped serving area had an adequate selection of breakfast items. One that could have been better was the pre-packaged snack waffles. The multiple 4 slice toasters help provide faster service for large numbers of guests than the "Belgian" waffle makers provided at most LQ locations, but this stale reheated end product is even worse than the soggy tasteless self-cooked version. There has to be a economic alternative that is hot, nutritious and more palatable for adults- whole grain Eggos, perhaps.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparta, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

la quinta inn has some of the sofest and nicest beds ive slept on in recent months.the hotel is in a great location in knoxville shopping near by and you can walk to 3 full service restraunts.this is a good value,breakfast was strange never did get a taste for boiled eggs in the morn,but beside that it is a good value.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potterville, Michigan
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

As I was travelling with my dog to see my dad, this was the only place nearby that accepted pets without any restrictions (as all LaQuinta's do) that was within my budget. I would have paid for a better quality place, but those were further away from my dad's, had pet weight restrictions, etc. The only drawback is the exposure to the outside, i.e. no hallway; anyone off the street can knock on your door. I would stay here again, but you have to tolerate dogs.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

While travelling on I-75, it was close to the freeway and easy to find. Located next to a few very good restaurants, which we just walked to once checked in! La Quinta is always dependable for a good clean, comfortable room at a good price. Breakfast also good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn Knoxville West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Knoxville West

Address: 258 Peters Road North, Knoxville, TN 37923
Location: United States > Tennessee > Knoxville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 89 Hotels in Knoxville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — La Quinta Inn Knoxville West 2*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Quinta Inn Knoxville West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Knoxville West Hotel Knoxville
La Quinta Knoxville
Knoxville La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn Knoxville West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.