We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent place to sleep.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Knoxville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Knoxville to your Saves list
Hilton Knoxville
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   501 West Church Avenue, Knoxville, TN 37902-2591   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 88 Hotels in Knoxville
Salisbury, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Decent place to sleep.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Ok, to be fair, I enjoyed my stay here. The location is great. All of my needs were met.

But, I am disappointed in Hiltons these days. This was the second Hilton I used in the last 2 weeks. There seems to be a disconnect between the employees and guests. The service is effective, but not overly friendly.

Also, I'd really like to get online and watch TV easily. Their internet service if temperamental. Both Hiltons used the channel guide in the TV. I t i s s l o w . . . Just don't even bother using it. You can scroll up and the down the channels faster. I hated it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pjordan2024, General Manager at Hilton Knoxville, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and your fellow travelers. I just wanted you to know that we take your observations to heart. As a team we truly do care and will work to ensure that is demonstrated in the atmosphere we provide for our valued guests. Please let me know if you have additional observations that would assist us in moving forward.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    187
    104
    35
    22
See reviews for
132
96
41
220
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Hilton is clean and well maintained. WiFi is free. Rooms are relatively spacious. Beds are comfortable. Flat panel TV works well. HBO is free. So far, so good.

Restaurant is fair; choice is limited, and the dinner chef, apparently attempting to be "creative" has designed some questionable recipes. Case in point is tempura shrimp that would have been tasty except that there is YELLOW MUSTARD infused beneath the batter. I forget the ingredients on the beds of shredded vegetables under the shrimp as well as under the battered calamari (which tasted much better than the shrimp, BTW), but one taste of each deterred me from a second taste. Breakfast buffet is pretty good, but not extensive, and omelets to taste are huge.

There is a Starbucks in the lobby, but it shuts down at 7PM. Not available for a 10PM cookie run.

Parking charge is outrageously high: around $15 overnight after tax. Even if you have a guest visit and park for a few hours, the full overnight tab is applied.

Bathrooms are adequate, but rather confining. It's pretty hard to sit on the commode without closing the door (why bother close the door in the middle of the night if you are the sole occupant of the room)? Bath towels were plentiful and gigantic (a real plus!). A hair dryer is supplied. So, all-in-all, if the bathroom were bigger, I would have rated it much higher.

Worst of all, they put a $25 hold on my charge card (for incidentals, as my host was paying for my lodging), and they never removed it. I have filed a dispute with my credit card company, and it is being pursued with the hotel.

Room Tip: The x21 (e.g., 821, 1521) rooms are right behind the bank of elevators, but in four nights at the Hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pjordan2024, General Manager at Hilton Knoxville, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel and I am sincerely sorry for your experience. We will review your comments as a team and will certainly improve especially in the area of our restaurant. The Wi-Fi connection will be 100% new before the end of the year. I do appreciate your feedback and please let me know if you have additional thoughts for us consider.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Arrived in the evening when it was dark and not much signage nor anyone to direct us to the entrance door as the main entrance and lobby was under construction. The location is central downtown. Nothing special about the rooms except our rate was very reasonable. Nice looking city with lots of restaurants.

Room Tip: Ask for an eastside room - for a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pjordan2024, General Manager at Hilton Knoxville, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us. We are very sorry for your experience; we are working on improving our property. Please let us know if you have additional comments or suggestions you would like to share. We are all about Satisfaction Guaranteed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

The Knoxville Hilton's number one plus is location, if you have business downtown. It's also (long) walking distance to Neyland Stadium, and the east side rooms have a nice view to the river and the Tennessee campus. It's also 3 blocks to Market Square, with a number of quirky and good restaurants. Rooms are large and comfortable. There's a bar downstairs but the night I was here it was pretty noisy, even though it wasn't full. A Starbucks is open during the day. Staff is friendly and accomodating. No free parking is nearby, so use hotel garage or valet.

Room Tip: Ask for a room abvove the 5th flr facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pjordan2024, General Manager at Hilton Knoxville, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts after your recent stay at our hotel. We are certainly pleased with the great location we enjoy. Downtown Knoxville is such a wonderful place to visit for so many occasions. I was sorry to hear that you experienced some noise issues while in the hotel. I understand how such things can have a negative effect on a stay. We will certainly work to avoid these issues as we move forward. Thank you again for both your feedback and your business and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Had a wonderful time here--clean...did I say CLEAN? Very accommodating staff, great lobby area, coffee available in-room or there is a Starbucks off the lobby area. Convenient for walking to Market Square and other restaurants in the area also. I really enjoyed my stay here and loved Knoxville. I'll be back again and will stay here!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pjordan2024, General Manager at Hilton Knoxville, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

I just wanted to thank you for sharing your experience with us. We enjoy hearing that our guests enjoyed their visit to our hotel and our city. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Illinois, United States
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Nice location in town, then its downhill from there. Under refurbishment in the lobby so hard to get in and out of. Bad, inaccurate signage to redirect on arrival. Room was OK. One of the worst hotel restaurants I've ever been to. I stay in Hilton properties all over the world. My wife and I had poor food, bad service. There was no one to greet people and seat them so we saw guests show up at the restaurant, stand around for a while and when no one came to seat them they just went away. I travel over 50 nights a year - this is one of the worst hotels i've stayed at in the past few years.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pjordan2024, General Manager at Hilton Knoxville, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and your frustrations. Although hearing about frustrating experiences is difficult it is a necessity for us to improve for our guests. We take feedback from our guests with and open mind and work to improve in the areas noted. I feel very confident that our team will respond to your feedback in a positive manner and improve in the areas you experienced that were not up to Hilton standards. Thank you again for your time and I do trust we have another opportunity to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Tennessee
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I stayed one night for a conference at the hotel and really enjoyed it. Typical polite Hilton service - comfortable rooms, very nicely stocked concierge lounge and good location. It's very convenient from the interstate. I will stay here again when I'm in Knoxville.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pjordan2024, General Manager at Hilton Knoxville, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for letting us know that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. All feedback is vital to our success. Positive feedback is a great motivational tool for our team members within the hotel. Thank you for allowing us to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Knoxville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Knoxville

Address: 501 West Church Avenue, Knoxville, TN 37902-2591
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Knoxville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Knoxville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Knoxville 3.5*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Knoxville hotel is located in the heart of downtown Knoxville, within walking distance of University of Tennessee and convention center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Regatta Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Knoxville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Knoxville Hotel Knoxville
Hilton Hotel Knoxville
Knoxville Hilton Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Knoxville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.