We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Business Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Knoxville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Knoxville to your Saves list
Hilton Knoxville
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   501 West Church Avenue, Knoxville, TN 37902-2591   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Cyber Monday Rates!
Ranked #29 of 88 Hotels in Knoxville
Lebanon, Tennessee
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Business Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I stayed one night for a conference at the hotel and really enjoyed it. Typical polite Hilton service - comfortable rooms, very nicely stocked concierge lounge and good location. It's very convenient from the interstate. I will stay here again when I'm in Knoxville.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pjordan2024, General Manager at Hilton Knoxville, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for letting us know that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. All feedback is vital to our success. Positive feedback is a great motivational tool for our team members within the hotel. Thank you for allowing us to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    183
    102
    35
    22
See reviews for
130
95
40
217
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Johnson City, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We have stayed in this hotel several times over the past few years. It is close to UT and Market Square. The hotel has been refurbished in the past few years. The staff is very helpful and friendly. The only cons I have are two: The beds are way soft. We have tried to find out if any have been replaced for new mattresses on our stays over the past 2 years. We both awakened with sore backs. You literally sink down in the middle. The second thing is that it is difficult to get your car from the valet service when it is busy. We were one of two people that our keys were misplaced and we waited over 20 minutes to get our car. Finally, when I went up to ask, our keys were under other papers and keys and got lost in the shuffle. They probably need to come up with some system of order for those busy times.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pjordan2024, General Manager at Hilton Knoxville, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

I just want to take a moment to thank you for choosing our hotel and for letting us know the challenges that you encountered during your stay. We do understand that encounters such as these do impact the success of a guests stay at a hotel. The valet issue is 100% correctable and we will ensure that we drive our supporting valet team to impact this area and move it forward for our guests. As for the mattresses we have not made recent changes but do operate with approved/designated Hilton standards for all of our bedding. Each year we review our standing with both new and existing Hilton standards and we will certainly ensure that we continue to move forward in this area the moment Hilton specifies direction. Thank you so much for your business and your feedback. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

As a diamond member, I find it weird that the conceirge lounge is located on the ground floor near the front desk. The old lounge on the 18th floor is locked. So it is a hassle to run down for something when it is open. The business center is in the middle of the lobby and you need to get the password from the front desk to log in. The food is the restaurant is horrible. All 6 of us had an issue with out dinner. Breakfast is OK with a chef making eggs or an omelet your way. Getting your car out from valet may take a while, up to 20 mins. so plan ahead. Not a lot of easy access restaurants around - 4 blocks especially when it is raining. Will try somewhere else next time.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pjordan2024, General Manager at Hilton Knoxville, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

I want to apologize for the experience that you had at our hotel and assure you that we do not take these mattes lightly. The service we offer in our restaurant and the responsiveness and efficiency that our valet team operates with can and will be addressed. As for the location of the concierge lounge I take full responsibility for that. The location of the lounge was determined to improve the experience for our guests and we are committed to executing at that level in this and other areas.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed at the Knoxville Hilton downtown for a football game in the fall. This property is old. The lobby and and common areas are pretty nice and they have a nice outdoor patio, but the room was very small, I would 7 foot ceilling and very small bath rooms. I would not stay here again. I have stayed a new hampton inn downtown that was much, much better. I would avoid this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pjordan2024, General Manager at Hilton Knoxville, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your perception of our hotel from your recent stay in Knoxville, TN. I am sorry that you did not feel positive about all aspects of the hotel. We are in the process of completing our renovation in all areas of the hotel by the end of the year. This will certainly allow us to improve the remaining areas that have not already been addressed. As for the size of the rooms, it is not a complaint that comes up often but still certainly deserves our attention. I will review the room set ups to ensure we have our items placed in a manner that allows the guests opportunity to be comfortable in the room. I do trust that we are able to see you back soon and give you an experience that you deserve as a Hilton traveler.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

My friends and I had a fantastic time in Knoxville this weekend! Check-ins were really quick, even though we arrived when it seems like everyone else going to the game arrived. We had drinks in the bar Friday night, and the bartenders gave us a great suggestion for dinner and a bar to go to afterward. We went back to the bar to celebrate Saturday night, and even though they were swamped, the bartenders got everyone their drinks pretty quickly (loved the punch). Loved having the Starbuck's in the hotel because we definitely needed it the next morning. We'll definitely book here next time around!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pjordan2024, General Manager at Hilton Knoxville, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

This is a wonderful response and one that we will pass on to the team members that you identified as giving great service. There is simply nothing we can do as a management team that comes close to motivating team members as much as a response like this from a guest. Thank you and we look forward to having you back.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tierra Verde, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We are loyal Diamond Hilton Honors members, and feel that the Hilton brand of Hotels is a leader in world wide travel and meets our travel needs very well. One of the reasons we spend most of our hotel dollars at Hiltons is to maintain our Diamond level in order to earn perks such as upgraded rooms and concierge privileges. Around the country the lounges are comfortable and nicely appointed rooms on an upper "Club" level floor, typically with sweeping views of whatever that particular city has to offer. We have been staying at the downtown Hilton Knoxville for decades, several times a year for football weekends and have always enjoyed relaxing in the 18th floor lounge with a beautiful panoramic view of the river, the city and the stadium - away from the zoo going on down in the lobby. So.... we show up last weekend to find that you have moved the "lounge" into a cramped space right off the lobby, with no windows, a few tables and chairs crunched up and a few TV's hung up on the wall. So what gives!? The room is fine if we were at a Hampton Inn having their free continental breakfast. But I expect an upgraded experience as a Diamond Club member. Being off the lobby means everyone and his 2nd cousin was sneaking in for a free breakfast or free appetizers and driving the poor staff people crazy. As an evening lounge, it is a claustrophobic and unattractive room - so we had no desire to linger over a few glasses of wine. AND, since you moved the lounge to the first floor, what is the point of the key coded elevator for the "club" level guests. There is no more "club"! We no longer feel special at your hotel and are VERY disappointed. We urge you to move the club back to where it was. Sincerely, Janice and Mike Smith

Room Tip: Overpriced on football weekends, but we are used to that. Get a room facing the river, views are muc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pjordan2024, General Manager at Hilton Knoxville, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel and for providing us with your feedback. I am truly sorry that you did not have a positive experience. I also understand your point on the relocation of our concierge lounge to the first floor of the hotel. Our intent is of course to provide a much better presentation and product to our most valued guests. The full scale renovation of the new concierge lounge certainly took us forward by leaps and bounds in terms of the quality of the facility and furnishings for this area. It also gave us a bit more square footage with which to work from. Mostly it gave us a better opportunity to service this area properly for our guests who have earned the right to utilize this area. All that being said we must execute properly so we are delivering the expected level of service for a Hilton branded hotel. In your experience we clearly did not achieve that and I sincerely apologize. Although the move does take away the view from the top floor we should execute in a manner that provides our guests with a comfortable setting and a positive experience. We are committed to ensuring that happens going forward.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suwanee, Georgia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Great hotel, outgoing employees to make sure that your stay is pleasant. Excellent location. Highly recommend this hotel when staying in Knoxville. Close to stadium & river? Clean refreshed rooms
Convenient to downtown.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pjordan2024, General Manager at Hilton Knoxville, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Nothing pleases us more as a team than to hear of experiences like this from our guests. We are truly pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Knoxville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Knoxville

Address: 501 West Church Avenue, Knoxville, TN 37902-2591
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Knoxville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Knoxville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Knoxville 3.5*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Knoxville hotel is located in the heart of downtown Knoxville, within walking distance of University of Tennessee and convention center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Regatta Hotels, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Knoxville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Knoxville Hotel Knoxville
Hilton Hotel Knoxville
Knoxville Hilton Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Knoxville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.