We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Manager needs more training” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Wasabi Japanese Steakhouse and Sushi Bar

Wasabi Japanese Steakhouse and Sushi Bar
226 Lovell Rd, Knoxville, TN 37934-1905
865-675-0201
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #206 of 966 Restaurants in Knoxville
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations
Knoxville, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Manager needs more training”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

We've been here several times and it's been going down hill for a year or so. Tonight was the last straw. First we argued about the early bird time for 20 minutes, then we were only given shrimp sauce, forgot shrimp on one order, only got one cup full of water and I had to eat my ice, portions were small and I could go on and on. I guess we will go to Fuji from now on.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    23
    13
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Stay with the Hibachi menu!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We had a group of 10; my husband decided he wanted sushi only. On the positive side, they served him miso soup and salad at no charge even though he told the server he didn't order it roll . That turned out to be a positive thing because the spider roll and the crunchy spicy roll were extremely disappointing and he left half of it uneaten. The spider roll was very cold when served and there was very little soft shell crab in it. Fortunately I had so much rice and chicken that we both left full. The server was very nice, if rushed and the chef was engaging with the group. I rated it a three because of the sushi. We did not complain or ask not to be charged because he was not charged for the soup or salad that was accidentally served. He enjoyed a full meal. Eat there, but don't order the sushi!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good food with a little show”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

My wife and I went here to eat and it was really good. It gets busy so be prepared to wait, I'm not sure if they do call ahead seating/reservations or not. Some of the Chef's are better than others as far as there little show they put on while they cook but for the most part it's the same thing each time you go. Will definately go back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Always Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We have often been to Wasabi and last night we got there about 5:30. There were several early bird specials that we took advantage of. We saved $8.00 because we went before 6:00pm and we had a $5.00 school coupon. The food, as always was delicious.
Most times the chef puts on a real show. He did ok, but it was not quite what we have experienced in the past.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Typical Japanese food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

Well we had our hearts set on chicken teriyaki. Went here and our server was no good but the cook was great. Food was decent nothing to call mom about.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wasabi Japanese Steakhouse and Sushi Bar also viewed

 

Been to Wasabi Japanese Steakhouse and Sushi Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wasabi Japanese Steakhouse and Sushi Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.