We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Steak 'n Shake

Steak 'n Shake
310 Wild Geese Rd, Knoxville, TN 37922
+1 865-675-2551
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #106 of 966 Restaurants in Knoxville
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Takeout, Late Night
Description: Steak ‘n Shake is a classic American brand famous for the Original Steakburger™ and hand-dipped Milk Shakes. Stop in today for breakfast, lunch, dinner or late night. Dine in, drive thru or carryout.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

You get what you pay for. Mostly kids working there playing on their phones instead of serving your phone or refilling your drinks.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    11
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pennington Gap
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Pleasantly suprised”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Our first dining experience here was a great one. The burger was fantastic and so was the extremely large chocolate milkshake. The prices are unbeatable. Would definitely eat here again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Late night dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Stopped here late night after a marching band competition. We miss eating at Steak and Shakes,as there are none in our current hometown. Took forever to get seated, but food was worth it. Great burgers, fries and shakes.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
knoxville
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“sweet dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

good food, takes you back in time. husband loved the malt

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“really inconsistent. what a shame.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

as with all other fast food joints, i gotta fight with these people about my fries. i always say to my waitress or waiter, "tell em to drop me some fries, i don't mind waiting" but on some visits, i gotta complain and ask for a re-do. they've even played the old "let's give her re-fries" trick, but i'm not so naive cuz i worked in fast food joints when i was in college, so i'd have to call 'em on that too. so inconvenient when i'm in a hurry. some of the servers are very nice. the place is usually clean, but i have one concern. they take the chairs late at night and set them on top of the tables with the feet of the chairs touching the table tops so they can mop. this means that the germs that are on the floor get transferred to the tabletops. yuck. the shakes are good. the burgers sometimes make me sick though. don't know if the meat is slightly tainted, or what. i only go there when i've got lots of time and patience to deal with the crap that comes along with going there sometimes.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Steak 'n Shake also viewed

 

Been to Steak 'n Shake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Steak 'n Shake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.