We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best you will ever eat!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pizza Palace

Pizza Palace
3132 E Magnolia Ave, Knoxville, TN 37914-4522
865-524-4388
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #126 of 992 Restaurants in Knoxville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Pizza
Restaurant details
Newport, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best you will ever eat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

I have been going to pizza palace since I was a little boy. It don't matter where you have ever ate pizza at. You will never eat pizza as good as this. Just be sure you have plenty of room in your car. Because it is a drive in and you eat it in the car. Which I think is one of the best parts. They also have the biggest and the best onion rings that you will ever eat. If I have a choice of my last meal when I die it will be PIZZA PALACE!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    42
    10
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Not a sit down kind of place.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012 via mobile

Ok first off the food here is excellent ! The spaghetti and pizzas are to die for. They have the best onion rings in the US hands down ! Please be advised that this is a drive in or take out restaurant with maybe 5 seats inside where you could eat. It is located in a pretty rough part of Knoxville so know where you are going before you go there. If you stray off magnolia ave it gets pretty rough. Still well worth the trip. I would say that the staff is nice but not the greatest. The prices are nearing 10 bucks or a little less. Overall a good deal.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Knoxville's last stadning icon of classic drive in dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

The Pizza Palace is a long standing example of true drive in dining. At one time it was accompanied by an equally well known establishment, Tic-Toc Diner, but that establishment is no longer with us.
In my opinion, there are two places to get excellent pasta in Knoxville, TN. One is Louis’s on Old Broadway, and the other is the Pizza Palace. If I were cornered into choosing one, my bias favor would have to go to Pizza Palace. I am not sure if it is the environment, the temperament of the staff, or just the aroma of the open grill that makes the food so flavorful.
They are currently celebrating their 50th year of operation. That should be a testament to their successful blend of food into the neighborhood.
I recommend the pasta, but the Greek salad can hold its own against any other in town. It is a meal within itself. I have also left great reviews on the pizzas and the onion rings. Both are exceptional.
Years ago, I worked in the vicinity of Pizza Palace and had the opportunity to eat there on numerous occasions. Now, it is a planned and highly anticipated trip that takes me to that part of town.
It is located right next to the fairgrounds, so it is very easy to find. To us locals, the area around the diner is not the same that you find in West Knoxville, but then again, that is the reason that this diner stands out. Many people say that the area has degraded over the years, and I can attest that I have noticed a lot of changes, but it is a place that I would take my family without thinking about it twice.
If you are visiting anyone in Knoxville, or just passing through on Interstate 640, and want a true taste of the iconic 1960’s drive-in….then this is the place for you to visit. I promise that you will not be disappointed.
http://www.visitpizzapalace.com/

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“THE GOOD FOOD INSTITUTION!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Pizza...onion rings...you expect and they are the best around. But don't forget the fried chicken (not KFC's but your mama's!), spaghetti, Greek salads....so good and so worth the drive. Call ahead and it will be ready at the curb.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Pizza tradition”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012 via mobile

Unless they have changed no debit or credit cards allowed.
No place to sit except your car or get it to go.
Now, to the pizza. It's really good - a Knoxville must if you eat pizza! Other items are also good.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizza Palace also viewed

 

Been to Pizza Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pizza Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.