We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Year's Eve” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Knoxville - Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Knoxville - Downtown to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Knoxville - Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   618 W Main Street, Knoxville, TN 37902   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
2X HHonors Points!
Ranked #2 of 89 Hotels in Knoxville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Rocky Top, Tennessee
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“New Year's Eve”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We recently stayed at the Hampton Inn & Suites in downtown Knoxville, TN for New Year's Eve. We only live about 25 mins from downtown, but didn't want the hassle of parking and having to drive home late after all of the festivites in Market Square. I had never stayed in any of the downtown hotels, so after reading about each of them on tripadvisor, I decided to go with the Hampton. We were not disappointed! Its in a terrific location (walking distance to Market Sq.) and the room was spotless. The hotel smelled terrific also. lol The front desk staff was incredibly courteous. Our room was a jacuzzi suite and was huge! We really wished we could have stayed for more than one night. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone coming to the Knoxville area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    120
    13
    3
    3
See reviews for
148
139
18
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We were on a long drive home from Columbia, SC to Chicago, IL...and Knoxville was a perfect resting place. This hotel is clean, quite, and has a really nice bed! You cant pass up cookies on arrival and a nice breakfest spread. Oh and parking is included! If we find ourselves in Knoxville again, we will absolutly stay here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melville, New York
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

My husband and I have traveled extensively all over the world and stayed in many hotels. I have to say that the Hampton Inn and Suites in Knoxville Tennessee is one of the best. We read many of the reviews and decided to stay there because of the positive things that were written And I have to agree. What I especially loved was the friendliness and helpfulness of everyone on the staff. They were always attentive, friendly, and willing to accommodate. I loved the lighting in the room, six lamps, the chaise lounge, the quiet heating/ac, the two dressers, the large closet, the free parking, and clean, modern bathroom. The bed linens were awesome. There were many breakfast choices and coffee, tea, etc. were available 24 hours. My grandson was thrilled with the cookies, available every day after 3 pm. We arrived one night at 9 pm and the delicious cookies were there. Parking is FREE...unusual for downtown Knoxville....and covered. Late check out was a breeze. I could go on and on but I think I hit the high points. If you are planning a visit to Knoxville, do not stay anyplace else.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Wanted to stay at Trip Advisors #1 Hampton Inn in Knoxville but it was full and chose this one instead. Glad I did stay here instead of other one because I like this location better. Clean room, check in super easy. Stayed on a Friday night into Saturday morning and the breakfast area was completely full. Couldn't even fine a seat. Decided to eat at the Shoney's about 5 mins from there and it worked out better. Bed was just OK. Would probably stay again if I'm in the area.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kansas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I had the good fortune to spend two weeks at the Knoxville Hampton Inn – Downtown while on business. I normally like to stay in small, out of the way ‘boutique hotels’ because of the intimacy and personal attention you get. But this was even better – the personal attention right down to the last detail plus – location, location, location. It is practically across the street from the Supreme Court as well as the University, then another block to the stadium and easy walking distance to downtown. Maybe three lights and you are on the interstate. The entire staff, from the maintenance workers, house keeping, desk staff and the manager made you feel totally at home and then to top it off were the warm cookies at night before bed. The microwave and mini-fridge were really handy. The linens are so fine you want to take them home with you. If there was any negative, it was that the beds were really hard to get out of each morning because they felt so good. Every morning the kitchen staff would chat with you and really make you feel at home. If you had to buy a similar tasty, nutritious breakfast, it would cost you $10-$15 and eat up at least 45 minutes of your time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randleman, North Carolina
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I stayed here while on business and the place was excellent. Being right downtown it was very easy to walk to restaurants etc. The hotel and my room were very clean and updated. Free parking was a plus as many hotels in the area charge for parking. The staff was very friendly and helpful with any directions needed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West PalmBeach, FL
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Im biased, in that I am UT alum, love visitng Knoxville, was there for daughter's graduation so a pleaurable trip.
Also, a Hilton fan, and have stayed here often.
Nevertheless, a simply great hotel, with great staff.
It is a smaller hotel, but nice location, if you enjoy walking a few blocks to downtown Market Square events, near campus,etc, definitely stay downtown.
I just cannot say enough about the delightful staff, I have seen plenty of new faces over the years, always pleasant, they make the hotel.
Of course I think most folks in Knoxvlile are great people, and reality is, that is reflected by the staff.
I am embarrassed that cannot recall name, I believe Corey or Carey, but the male gentleman who checked us in on 12/14, late afternoon, was excellent,I hate mentioning any one as entire staff great, from him, front desk, and the gentleman at the breakfast, but did want to mention him.
You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: right now there is road construction and bridge closed, but normally, the west side (odd numbered ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Knoxville - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Knoxville - Downtown

Address: 618 W Main Street, Knoxville, TN 37902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Knoxville
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Knoxville
#3 Business Hotel in Knoxville
#4 Romantic Hotel in Knoxville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Knoxville - Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Knoxville - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Knoxville - Downtown Hotel Knoxville
Hampton Inn And Suites Knoxville - Downtown
Hampton Inn Knoxville
Hampton Inn Hotel Knoxville
Knoxville Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Knoxville - Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.