We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Knoxville - Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Knoxville - Downtown to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Knoxville - Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   618 W Main Street, Knoxville, TN 37902   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and save 15%
Ranked #4 of 89 Hotels in Knoxville
Lugano, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Really a very nice hotel, walking distance to restaurants, shops, in downtown Knoxville. Rooms are very clean, very fast wifi connection, the right place for working. . A very good experience during a business trip.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    99
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
137
116
17
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dalton, Georgia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I went with my daughter for a trip to the KnoxvilleZoo. Parking is tight, very tight. That's my only complaint. Upon entering there were warm cookies at the desk which my daughter loved. The service was excellent. They asked where were headed on our trip and without my asking printed out driving directions for us. The room was very nice and comfortable with a refrigerator and microwave. Indoor pool was tiny, but nice and just fine for my daughter. A little store in the lobby with all kinds of snacks,medicines, ice cream. Coffee and hot teas in the lobby. Nice breakfast in the morning; waffles, eggs, bacon, fruit, yogurt, oatmeal, cereals, breads. It was avery nice experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Just returned from a trip to Knoxville and the Smokies. Great place to stay, very clean, free parking with lots of spaces. Close to everything, walking distance to many good restaurants. Wifi worked great. Front desk staff was accommodating and helpful, fresh baked cookies were delicious. Hot coffee and tea all times of day. The breakfast was ok; fruit, waffles, scrambled eggs with cheese and sausage patties. I would have preferred eggs without cheese as I avoid milk products but otherwise ok not the best quality. Not particularly close to the mountains but we wanted to stay in the city so didn't mind the drive. Probably wouldn't visit Knoxville again as we ran out of things to do over a long weekend with rain and cool temperatures clouding our hiking. Would definitely recommend this hotel though to anyone going to the area. Minor complaint was that the bed mattress kept falling off the 'platform' base it was on (practically onto the floor) and that the mattress was uncomfortable to the point of giving us both backaches our final day. Overall good location and clean property.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingsport TN
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I stayed 3 nights while attending a class at UT. The hotel staff was very friendly and the room was terrific. I was in a King which provided free wifi and internet access and had a nice lounge style chair in the room. The hotel also provides free breakfast and free parking. The walk from the hotel to UT was pleasant - the hills were slightly strenuous which I enjoyed after sitting in training class all day. It took about 5 minutes to walk to the edge of campus and another 10 minutes to walk to the Haslam building where my class was. The hotel is also in walking distance to the Worlds Fair park and a wonderful chocolate factory near the park. The pool in the hotel was too small for lap swimming but would be fun to relax in or play with kids.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
r'ville
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Having read where the Hampton Inn was the top rated downtown hotel in Knoxville we decided to stay there for the weekend. I must say I agree 100%. The service was exceptional. We needed to change to a connecting double room / a crib after we arrived and the front desk clerk had us taken care of within minutes. The rooms were quiet and spacious. Everything we needed downtown was within a 5 to 10 minute walk. Breakfast was included and we had eggs, sausage, waffles and more. We look forward to returning soon. Thanks to the entire staff.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Tennessee
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I was very impressed with the cleanliness of this hotel. The location downtown was great. Free parking and a the best free breakfast I have ever had. The beds were very comfortable. I just wish the walls were a little thicker, could hear the TV next door, but not too bad.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Wow. I'm not easily impressed, but I don't recall experiencing better service or attentiveness at a hotel like this. Ever. First of all, this is a Hampton Inn, not a luxury hotel. But from the second I walked in the door, we were met with smiles, helpfulness and impeccable service. As good as I have ever experienced. The rooms are what you would expect at a Hampton but everything was functional and I couldn't find a thing wrong. We had a view overlooking the church across the street and although we did hear the church bells on Sunday morning, it certainly didn't diminish the experience. The location is perfect...right between downtown and the University, both within walking distance. We found a great bistro just a few blocks away that I would highly recommend (the Bistro at the Bijou Theatre) but that's another story. While we're on the subject of food, this hotel does offer the typical free breakfast, but like everything at this hotel, it is better than usual and had a few extra offerings. Not only that, the breakfast buffet was constantly being watched and nutured by one of the hotel employees. In fact, I really believe that everything at this hotel is being constantly watched and nurtured. Kudos to the entire staff. I can't wait to stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Knoxville - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Knoxville - Downtown

Address: 618 W Main Street, Knoxville, TN 37902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Knoxville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Knoxville
#3 Family Hotel in Knoxville
#4 Business Hotel in Knoxville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Knoxville - Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Knoxville - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Knoxville - Downtown Hotel Knoxville
Hampton Inn And Suites Knoxville - Downtown
Hampton Inn Knoxville
Hampton Inn Hotel Knoxville
Knoxville Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Knoxville - Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.