We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New & Convenient” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Knoxville - Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Knoxville - Downtown to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Knoxville - Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   618 W Main Street, Knoxville, TN 37902   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and save 15%
Ranked #4 of 89 Hotels in Knoxville
Tennessee
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“New & Convenient”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

Hard to beat the location if you are visiting the University or the Civic Center for a concert, as I recently did. One of the cleanest and modern hotels you will find in the area. The rooms are comfortable and modern with free internet access. You can walk easily to Gay Street and discover many excellent restaurants, or catch a movie. The Riverwalk is also minutes away by foot. The staff was very friendly, and the complimentary breakfast was plentiful and hot. The cost is reasonable for the newnewss of the facility. I will stay there again when I visit Knoxville.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    99
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
137
116
17
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edwards, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

Very clean and modern hotel. It's your typical Hampton Inn with free breakfast, etc. The room was very nice, comfortable bed, updated and modern bathroom. I liked that they had little dispensers for soap, shampoo and conditioner because it's less wasteful than the little bottles found at most hotels.

Breakfast was hot and good. The location is very nice, though somewhat isolated. It's just a block or so from the downtown area but the hotel itself is off by itself. Keeps things quiet I suppose.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

We were having our wedding near downtown Knoxville, and we needed to reserve rooms for our many out-of-town guests. Well, everyone loved the hotel! From the fresh-baked cookies that greet you when you arrive, to their keeping the breakfast open a little late for our wedding guests: everything was top-notch, and the staff consistently went above and beyond. They worked with us every step of the way, and were very happy to reserve blocks of rooms for our wedding at no charge. We made gift bags for our guests, and the staff at the hotel also gave all of these out at no charge. (A different hotel in the area said they would charge $2 to give out each gift bag, and also wouldn't allow us to reserve rooms, so we were very happy we went with Hampton Inn instead!)

We were surprised and touched to find that our room had been cleaned and our clothes had been neatly packed for our honeymoon trip: it turns out that our friends asked the housekeeper to do it for us, which was very kind. We also loved the candies that the staff left in the honeymoon suite for us.

We would definitely recommend using Hampton Inn for out-of-town wedding guests. Hardly anyone had been to Knoxville before, and they all loved being able to walk to Market Square and the riverfront. The complimentary breakfast was also great-- not just bagels and orange juice, but waffles, eggs, and tons of good food. Also, everyone kept commenting that the staff at the hotel were so nice! We agree, and they definitely gave our guests a good impression of Knoxville.

We appreciated the staff at the Hampton Inn going above and beyond for our wedding. We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Top Contributor
290 reviews 290 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

We went to Knoxville for a weekend getaway and read some great reviews about this location.
We were not let down! The check in process was smooth and easy and the front desk team was amazing. We noted that we were in town for my wife's birthday and they had some goodies for us. They also had great advise about how to get around town and the easiest routes, etc.

The breakfast was great and everything was fresh, etc.

The room was clean and everything was fresh.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

Excellent location to stay at when visiting UTK. I was impressed by the security of the hotel, clean rooms and public areas and the efficiency and variety of the complimentary breakfast.The hostess was friendly and kept the breakfast bar stocked and food hot. She also did a great job of keeping the area clean. It is also one of the very few places to stay in downtown Knoxville that doesn't charge to park!
It is very convenient to the campus if you are there for a college visit. I will definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: second floor exit and entrance convenient to parking
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pigeon Forge, Tennessee
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

This was an awesome, WOW experience for me and my wife. We were having test done at UT Medical Center and had to stay overnight and what a wonderful experience. From making the reservation with Mark, to Whitney in Sales handling all the fine details, to Anna (PM Manager on Duty) - this front office staff was AWESOME !!!! They took care of the special request and made us feel at home.

My wife had a heart attack in the middle of August and was having an MRI to see if she had a stroke since then. My wife's memory loss has brought us closer together and finding this gem in the middle of Knoxville, is truly a blessing.

This is the best place to stay in Knoxville, as we keep trying to find a property close to UT Medical Center and finally we have found it. We have made 20 visits to Knoxville this past month due to testing, labs and doctor appointments - not always staying overnight - but with a place with this wonderful staff - why not stay?

If you need a place in downtown Knoxville - this is the only place to stay.

Room Tip: Just tell the front desk staff what you need and they will get it done
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West PalmBeach, FL
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

I am partial in that I love Knoxville, and enjoy my trips everytime I go back, every couple of times/year.
nevertheless, the Hampton downtown is a great little hotel. I say that as it is a smaller property, but all you expect, including free on site parking, which is a big plus.
Very convenient to get around, walking distance to river/restaurants if you want, campus, etc.
While I think everyone in East TN is pleasant, they really do have great staff and will treat you right. If you want to be downtown, definitely a good choice.

Room Tip: if you are light sleeper, do ask for room on parking lot side, as the other side is Henley Street, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Knoxville - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Knoxville - Downtown

Address: 618 W Main Street, Knoxville, TN 37902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Knoxville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Knoxville
#3 Family Hotel in Knoxville
#4 Business Hotel in Knoxville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Knoxville - Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Knoxville - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Knoxville - Downtown Hotel Knoxville
Hampton Inn And Suites Knoxville - Downtown
Hampton Inn Knoxville
Hampton Inn Hotel Knoxville
Knoxville Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Knoxville - Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.