We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice atmosphere but expensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Calhoun's

Calhoun's
625 Turkey Cove Ln, Knoxville, TN 37934
865-288-1600
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #100 of 932 restaurants in Knoxville
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere but expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Food is good, service is usually good, but I just feel like we pay too much for what we get. The ribs are really good and the banana pudding is quite delicious! This can be a dressy place or very casual either. They can handle larger groups pretty well it seems. There is a separate bar area and a room that can be reserved for groups as well.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

73% Recommend
    85
    53
    29
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, NC
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Excellent BBQ and sauce”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I have eaten at many BBQ restaurants across the US including North Carolina and Calhouns ranks among the best. The meat is always flavorful and tender.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Count on a good meal. Nice portions, fresh food, Exit 373 on I-75/40”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Good choice of BBQ items. Variety of menu items. Nice sides and appetizers. Fish is excellent, large and cooked just right. Kid friendly. Reasonable prices. Nice shopping surrounding the restaurant.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“3strikes”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We have tried many different Calhouns stores, and this was the last time we will go there. The food was ok, but the service was poor. On a weekday, 3pm, it shouldn't take 30 minutes to get a hamburger. We waited forever just to get a cup of coffee and dessert was brought out at the same time as the check. By that time we were frustrated and ready to go.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Great Food, Service, and Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This is the most recent of several visits to this particular Calhoun's and well worth the drive.
This trip I had the BBQ 10 oz. Steak, rare of course, Spinach Maria, and mashed potatoes. We started off with the best fried green tomatoes and variety of breads. My wife had their outstanding ribs and we finished our meal with the absolute best key lime pie.
Our server, DJ, was the most professional and friendly server we have experienced anywhere.
So when you are near or around Knoxville, TN and you want to stop and have a really great meal in a clean and friendly place with a really nice atmosphere, this IS the place !

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Calhoun's also viewed

 

Been to Calhoun's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Calhoun's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.