We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't measure up” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Puleo's Grille

Puleo's Grille
260 North Peters Road, I-40 @ Exit 378 at Cedar Bluff, Knoxville, TN 37923
(865) 691-1960
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #68 of 966 Restaurants in Knoxville
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Oak Ridge, Tennessee
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Didn't measure up”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We went tp Puleo's several years ago and were't overly impressed. After seeing the excellent reviews we went back again. I can't rate it above average. The menu select was very broad, but not imaginative. The service was excellent. Two of our party were pleased with their food. I ordered the prime rib with shrimp and the quality was great, but the prime rib must have been plated before the shrimp and potato since it was warm but not warm enough.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    28
    20
    9
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Treat for Tired Travelers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Poor planning caused us to drive later than we like(hotels all booked for big event where we origianally planned to stay) so we called our hotel before arrival for restaurant suggestion and the clerk recommended Puleo's. Can't describe how delighted we were to find great food, great service and a pleasant setting in which to unwind. My husband described his center cut porkchop as best he ever had. My house salad was a delight and my chicken piccata divine! We always like to explore local restaurants when we travel - prefer a gem like this to large chain restaurants. Of course, the downside is that now that we have found this treasure, we wish there were more of them! will definitely go back next time through Knoxville!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The spinach dip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Try their spinach dip, the food is a little above average, but the dip is honestly a good enough reason to stop by.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A Knoxville Treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

The orginal is at Strawberry Plains Pike, I-40, Exit 398. None finer. the fried green tomoatoes are the best in the south!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powder Springs, GA
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Great prime rib”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

Good price and great food. The prime rIb was excellent and the chocolate mousse cake was yummy. I would go back there again.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Puleo's Grille also viewed

 

Been to Puleo's Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Puleo's Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.