We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bistro at the Bijou

Bistro at the Bijou
807 South Gay Street, Knoxville, TN 37902
865-544-0537
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 960 Restaurants in Knoxville
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Location and Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I like the location and atmosphere more than the food. While it's very good, the menu is limited. The bar is excellent.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    34
    7
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lenoir City, Tennessee
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Food and service both excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

A group of 12 friends gathered here for dinner before a performance at the nearby Tennessee Theater. We were provided a table in a private dining room upstairs. The server was fabulous and the food and beverages were equally good. Overall a wonderful experience!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Warm, friendly, hold the fries (sometimes)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

I've always loved the Bistro for atmosphere, generally really good food at reasonable prices, and for the owner's support of diversity and sanity in our city. The staff is friendly and competent without hovering. The menu changes often, and only once have I had a miss--wildly over-fried catfish and nearly raw potatoes. Both were quickly and cheerfully changed. I guess it was an off night for fish and fries since my dinner partner had raved about them on other evenings. Now that Market Square restaurants often have long wait times, it's worth it to stroll down Gaye to the Bistro or across the street to the Cairo.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatlinburg, Tennessee, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food, friendly service and good prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

I love going to the Bistro. The food is never boring and the service is always good. I seem very savvy too when I refer friends to go and they can't believe this little place is actually in Knoxville.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East TN
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Character and Class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

One of the oldest restaurants in Knoxville. Great character to the place and good food and service. The hamburger salad is fantastic!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro at the Bijou also viewed

 

Been to Bistro at the Bijou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bistro at the Bijou, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.