We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relax on the deck” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Calhoun's On The River

Calhoun's On The River
400 Neyland Drive, Knoxville, TN 37902
865-673-3355
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 966 Restaurants in Knoxville
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
centerville oh
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“relax on the deck”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Walked down the street from the Marriott, not too busy on a Tuesday night ( 7-2-13) decided to sit outside and this turned out to be a pleasant dinner. Deck sitting does have a limited menu, so heads up there might be something you would like but not available for the deck. But, I bet they would make exceptions …. like the people behind us! They got what they wanted.

We had margaritas, wings, pulled pork. It was good, service pretty good, good view except for the bridge construction. UT football stadium is right down the river and I bet this is a fun place before and after football games. Did not care much for the BBQ sauce in the bottle waitress brought to the table. Prices are good, pretty much a good and worthwhile stop.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    182
    50
    21
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Cool place to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Enjoyed eating on the patio at this restaurant. Great view of the TN river, watching the boats, the Volunteer Princess and the TN Riverboat. Our waitress was excellent, food on the patio has a limited menu as to what is offered inside. Enjoyed the ribs! Will be visiting again next time we are in Knoxville.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Fun, relaxing by the river”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

Ate dinner here while in town on business. It was a short walk from the Hampton Inn. Sat at a table on the large deck with a great view of the river...nice! Ordered the pork platter with slaw and fries...very good. Fudge brownie with ice cream was delicious as well. Service by Cassie was great. I'll return on my next visit...relax by the river. Kids will like the ducks on the water, too!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good food & atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

The ribs were everything other reviewers say they are: DELiCOUS!! I'd also suggest trying a few different beers. Tasty. Wish they had a beer sampler and I didn't like that they forced the cole slaw as one of the dinner sides. Sit outside when dining. The view and the ducks make it a truly memorable experience

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Really Good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

The service and food are excellent here. If they are serving strawberry shortcake, you MUST ORDER IT!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Calhoun's On The River also viewed

 

Been to Calhoun's On The River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Calhoun's On The River, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.