We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nasty Food” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Calhoun's On The River

Calhoun's On The River
400 Neyland Drive, Knoxville, TN 37902
865-673-3355
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 932 restaurants in Knoxville
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Nasty Food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Unfortunately, the Calhouns on the river is such a great location that Calhouns knows that it can get away with serving sub-par food. The last time I went will be the last though. I was served a burnt black rack of ribs that tasted like really bad beef jerky. Calhouns, you can do better!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    162
    148
    41
    20
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great BBQ!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We went Valentines Night and we got there just in time, no wait. The food was really good, we got the BBQ sampler to share (Pork, Ribs and Chicken Tenders) it was perfect. I really loved the french fries and the chicken tenders.. My husband enjoyed the ribs and pulled pork. I wasn't a real fan of the BBq sauce, but I am really picky about my sauce (I really love Sonny's Sweet sauce and I compare everything to that) I absolutely loved the the Honey Mustard sauce that was awesome!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Not worth the wait”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant came highly recommended as a Knoxville staple but proved to be very disappointing. Food was way overrated and the atmosphere was typical bar ware. The location is nice but your better off going elsewhere. I had the fish & chips and the breading was soggy and the fish, mushy like it has been sitting in a steamer. My family had the ribs and both husband and son rated them just okay. The coleslaw is decent but I've had way better food elsewhere in Knoxville.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cincinnati
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great place to meet before basketball game”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Went here before a Tennessee basketball game. We ordered a few craft beers and appetizers. Great beer and the apps were typical bar/grill food.
Our waiter did a fantastic job and the atmosphere was also great.

We would recommend this restaurant as a meeting place before or after the game.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“great food, nice views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

This is a place you have to visit in Knoxville. They serve great barbecue and country style items. Calhoun's has a few locations in the area, but this one is especially nice. It's well decorated inside, and a large portion of the restaurant has a view of the river. Depending on where you sit, you can get an up close look at ducks. The service and food have been great every time I've visited. It's a good place to take kids, because they stay occupied coloring and looking at ducks while the adults can enjoy some conversation and barbecue.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Calhoun's On The River also viewed

 
Knoxville, TN
 

Been to Calhoun's On The River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Calhoun's On The River, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.