We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Interior With Astonishing Acoustics” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bijou Theater

Bijou Theater
803 South Gay Street, Knoxville, TN
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 102 things to do in Knoxville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Interior With Astonishing Acoustics”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

The Bijou is one of the many historic buildings located along Knoxville's legendary Gay Street. The Bijou is a movie theater that has been converted to a concert venue. I was thoroughly impressed with the beautiful interior decor that hearkens back to a long-ago era of movie theaters. More impressive were the incredible acoustics in the facility. I normally wear earplugs at concerts (even bluegrass shows), but the sound was so well-adjusted that it sounded more like sitting in a living room listening to a show on a great stereo system than the overpowering sound that too many facilities tend to use, even for acoustic shows.

If you get the opportunity to see a show at the Bijou do not pass it up. If you're in Knoxville and there's no show scheduled, see if you can just go inside to see the incredible facility. It's as pleasing to the eyes as it is to the ears.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    15
    2
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Charming!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

This venue is charming and quaint. Not a lot of seating, which makes shows here very intimate. Drinks prices were reasonable as well. ($10 for a Miller Lite and Bacardi and Coke). Really enjoyed it!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Iconic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Sooner or later it seems that everyone has been to the Bijou Theater. It was beautiful, nostalgic, and a must see. Also stop into the Mast General store across the street and down the block. Both are like walking back in time. I loved it.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

What a great place to view a concert. We watched the Wood Brothers and loved every minute of it. The seats were great, the decor outstanding, and the value amazing.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Fun, not very large!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Went to see Menopause the Musical with my sister. The theater was not very large, and it was packed. But, we did not feel cramped in any way. The cocktails were nice and not too expensive. The musical was the funniest thing I have ever seen!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bijou Theater also viewed

 

Been to Bijou Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bijou Theater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.