We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed in food and service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of WokChow Fire Seared Asian

WokChow Fire Seared Asian
4612 Kingston Pike, Knoxville, TN
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #390 of 932 restaurants in Knoxville
Cuisines: Asian
Description: WokChow Fire Seared Asian is Knoxville’s newest place to enjoy tantalizing Asian cuisine. The food comes fast and fresh, and with entrees $8.95 or less the value is as good as the taste. We offer take out and delivery, or enjoy your favorite beverage with your meal in our elegant dining room. Sushi is offered daily after five, with a menu of 39 items ranging in price from 3-8.50! We will serve daily lunch specials, creative menu items, and a dynamic beer and wine selection. Don't forget Wednesday is 1/2 price bottled wine night, and when you visit be sure to join our frequent diner club for free food opportunities.We hope to see you soon!
Restaurant details
Description: WokChow Fire Seared Asian is Knoxville’s newest place to enjoy tantalizing Asian cuisine. The food comes fast and fresh, and with entrees $8.95 or less the value is as good as the taste. We offer take out and delivery, or enjoy your favorite beverage with your meal in our elegant dining room. Sushi is offered daily after five, with a menu of 39 items ranging in price from 3-8.50! We will serve daily lunch specials, creative menu items, and a dynamic beer and wine selection. Don't forget Wednesday is 1/2 price bottled wine night, and when you visit be sure to join our frequent diner club for free food opportunities.We hope to see you soon!
Knoxville, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very disappointed in food and service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Went in Friday night and took forever to get the food though it's not busy. They claimed that the sushi takes time to prepare but it tasted terrible with Caucasian chef preparing them. Ordered Drunken noodle with Chicken but was given beef instead. it's so dark inside I could not see what was on my plate and they were salty!! Have to go back to use my groupon since they won't honor it that night due to it's for 4 persons but our kids are in PNO program. Hope the next visit is not this bad:-)

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank J, Manager at WokChow Fire Seared Asian, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
I remember this visit. Thank you for dining at WokChow. Normally we do not respond to negative reviews online, allowing the positive ones to shine thru, however we felt there were some inaccuracies that we wanted to correct. We ran a one time Groupon deal that this guest took advantage of. Offered in a dinner for 2 or 4 package depending on which one was purchased. This guest purchased a Groupon for four guests, but only arrived with two. They mentioned their children were in a special program, but they were not with them. We did not want to give four guests worth of food to two people, so we did honor the Groupon by allowing them to use half this visit, and the other half another time. That was the guests idea and we were happy to agree. Unfortunately this started the dining experience on the wrong foot, and I'm afraid we couldn't recover in their eyes. They ordered sushi and two entrees. We were preparing the sushi first as an appetizer, and the guest walked up to the kitchen and asked where the food was. We were putting the finishing touches on the sushi and the ticket time was only 9 minutes. Sushi does take longer than our regular stir fry, but 9 minutes is well within our timing standards.
We immediately bumped up their entrees and sent them out soon after.

They are correct in that we have a caucasion sushi chef. We also have two hispanic ones. We have been open two years and we have not specifically advertised for Asian Chefs. It turns out that over the span of time we have been open, we have only had one Asian Chef apply. His availability was not consistent with the restaurant's needs so we had to pass on him. We are thinking about producing a sign that says "Asian people apply here", but haven't gotten around to it yet.

I knew they were upset because of the groupon and had my team check on them and monitor their experience closely. There was no mention then of the beef or salty issues.

We look forward to the next visit and will work just as hard as usual to provide a fantastic dining experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    10
    1
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Johnson City, Tennessee
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good, food, relaxed atmosphere, friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stopped here on a trip down I40. Enjoyed it and will go again. The 4 of us liked almost everything we had. The fried rice is really good. I liked the eggrolls as well. The only thing that didn't go over well with us was the egg drop soup. It's different than you might expect, more brothey than eggey if you know what I mean. All in all though we liked it and will go back. Fast, friendly service. Oh, you order up front. If you're like me and hate standing in front of a menu on the wall the first time you go to a place then sit down and look at their menu. They don't mind. Then go back and order.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, TN
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“I love Asian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This place is fantastic. I have eaten at Asian restaurants all over the world. The food is very good. The atmosphere is casual and relaxing. Free wifi. The portions are large with plenty for take-home leftovers. The crab rangoons are good. The fried rice is one of the best in Knoxville. We will dine here again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Good "Fast Food" Asian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

This is not a typical sit-down restaurant, but it's hard to tell when you walk in. The ambiance is fantastic, the staff is super friendly, and the menu had everything Asian you can think of, even sushi (which was fantastic). The only difference is you order from the front and serve yourself to drinks and silverware. So you get full sit-down quality and friendliness of staff at fast food prices. AND they will deliver.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennington Gap
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent Dynamite Shrimp!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

The dynamite shrimp is a must appetizer, beware it's extremely hot! The food overall was great, service was fast. Would try again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed WokChow Fire Seared Asian also viewed

 

Been to WokChow Fire Seared Asian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage WokChow Fire Seared Asian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.