We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“B&B Location, Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maplehurst Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Knoxville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maplehurst Inn
Save
You added Maplehurst Inn to your Saves list
800 West Hill Avenue, Knoxville, TN   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Knoxville B&B and Inns
Decatur, Alabama
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“B&B Location, Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We read the reviews which prepared us for a great stay. We went to a concert very close by. Got good directions for easy drive on confusing streets. Nothing could have been more convenient.
We got a (requested) main floor room. All good. Clean. Nice beds, bath, good cooling.
Breakfast cooked to order.
Sonny seems to be a "one man show" and he is friendly and accommodating.
It all worked fine for us. Place has more work underway to finish, but nothing affected us.
It was good, maybe better than expected. I would recommend to anyone that is not overly demanding.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    12
    3
    11
    6
See reviews for
11
22
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, Tennessee
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

worst stay even in my life!!!!! dirty rooms, bathroom door didnt shut, sink drain broken and shower would not switch to faucet mode for tub. A full time plumber and handyman needed to handle constant issues! Kitchen disgusting--- microwave filled with mold. After three times of going down to try and get coffee and never getting any decided to make tea but no hot water was available either. So I was proactive and went in kitchen to heat my own water. Was horrified to discover microwave was completely filled with mold. Owner was of no help when we had major plumbing issues two times at night. He was out of town and when we called for his help since no one was around, he was of no help. . I blame the owner for all this, Not the sweet girl who was there to check people in. She tried her best with the unfortunate circumstances of the condition of the house. The owner needs to do some serious cleaning, fixing up and has to pay people to work 24/7 so there is help when you need it. Do not waste your money on this place. My kids were not even wanting to sleep on the beds cause sheets smelled so musty and by the last night my son was balling and begging us to go home cause he was scared due to all the things that kept going wrong and didn't feel safe. We were in four different rooms, and all had issues,

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado, Arkansas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014 via mobile

Great location near UT. Priced right. Spend some time with Sonny, interesting owner. Could be a little challenging for disabled guests. Would be nice to have drinking glasses in the rooms. New towels would be nice too.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights and could not have been happier! Sonny is a great guy, very willing to help out, make conversation and accommodate. He offered to drive me to the nearest outdoor park so i could go running and gave me a great taxi ride to the airport for half of what a cab would cost! 5/5 stars, would recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

We had a great time at the Maplehurst Inn. We booked three rooms. Walked to the river to see the VOL Navy, walked to Copelands on the water for dinner, Walked to the football game, paid for a space at the church parking lot to tailgate next to the Maplehurst Inn, after the game. Location, Location, Location. Sonny was a great host and helpful during the tailgate. Great breakfast.

Room Tip: The penthouse was the coolest room, after a quick peek upstairs. View of the River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regensburg, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

We spent 1,5 weeks in Tennessee and travelled from place to place and from Inn to Inn.
The Maplehurst Inn was finally the reason why, we spent a second day in Knoxville. After several nights in more or less expensive Inns, we really enjoyed the tasteful ambience, the comfortable and the reasonable price.

It took us a 5 min walk to Downtown and we also got some recommendations where to go for BBQ and Southern food.

We can recommend this place to everybody, who wants to spend some days in Knoxville and who appreciates a clean and comfortable place to stay at a reasonable price.
It's a B&B and no Hilton Hotel.
Sonny made the best ham 'n eggs we've ever had.

Should we ever come back to Knoxville, this will be our place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

We had a great stay at the Maplehurst B and B on Feb 26,27, and 28th. Having never stayed at a B and B before I was skeptical about staying in someones home and it being uncomfortable. It was nothing like i had anticipated. The house was older and undergoing some mild renovation. Paint, carpet, ect. Upon checkin, we were informed by a much apologetic host that the business had changed management teams and were making some necessary changes in both the building and staff. We found the place to be quite charming as is. We were escorted to our accommodations and given a suprise "upgrade" to one of the mini suites. It was a private and pleasant room with 12 foot ceilings and arched windows that looked onto the steeple of a magnificent church directly across the street. The neighborhood is charming considering it borders the University of Tn Campus. It reminded me somewhat of a small quaint artist district, if knoxville were to have one. Over all, this charming mini mansion high atop the bluffs of the the Tennessee River, looking into Neyland Stadium on one side, and downtown center on the other, made us a home away from home for the few days there. My stigma of a bed and breakfast has been forever erased and replaced with a pleasant memory of a great old home with a super, but non intrusive staff that seems to be shaping up to be Downtowns "bang for your buck"! Thank you Todd for all your hospitality and extra efforts. Will visit again if ever back in Knoxville. Will and Gina Richards --Plano, Texas

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maplehurst Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maplehurst Inn

Address: 800 West Hill Avenue, Knoxville, TN
Location: United States > Tennessee > Knoxville
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Knoxville
Number of rooms: 11

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maplehurst Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.