We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best surprise in Knoxville” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maplehurst Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Knoxville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maplehurst Inn
Save
You added Maplehurst Inn to your Saves list
800 West Hill Avenue, Knoxville, TN   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Knoxville B&B and Inns
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“The best surprise in Knoxville”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We came to Knoxville for work, and wound up with an unexpected wonderful vacation! While the Maplehurst Inn is still evolving interiorley, and is beautiful in its present state, the hospitality is unparalleled. I am an egg snob and the egg breakfast is better than anything I can make. The penthouse suite at $149 a night is unbelievable. Be sure to check out the new restaurant Tupelo Honey and the student discount at the nearby Aveda salon, which with the skylight bath at the B & B turned a work trip into a complete vacation! We can't say enough good things about the Maplehust, Tupelo Honey, or the Aveda Salon experience (request Savannah the student in training). talk to Todd about your reservation and request Robin make your eggs.

Room Tip: Pick the penthouse: 4 rooms in one for a great value!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    12
    3
    12
    6
See reviews for
12
22
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sidcup, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed in the Maplehurst Inn for 2 nights as a stop over between Washington and Nashville on a long road trip and it was such a sight for sore eyes. The place is beautifully decorated throughout, including a comfortable lounge area. The location is fantastic, right downtown, about a 10 minute walk from Market Square, and yet it was amazingly quiet and peaceful. Perfect for a good night's sleep. Sonny and Robin were perfect hosts - Sonny offered to pick us up from the Megabus stop, and Robin was there for our every need, as well as cooking amazing fresh breakfasts for us each morning. It was brilliant value for the location and how nice the place was, and I would say that if you are looking to stay in Knoxville, this place should be the first you look at!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Kentucky, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Spent the weekend in Knoxville and stayed at this nice B&B. It was reasonably priced and the staff was very courteous and accommodating. The rates were wonderful for right downtown. We could walk to all the areas we were interested in. We were centrally located for a day of driving in the mountains. It was a fabulous weekend! We had a great time!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buford, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

My husband and I came to Knoxville for our son's football game. The Maplehurst is located right on campus and is within walking distance to the stadium. We prefer B&Bs over hotels and have stayed in many in the US and Europe. This one is one of my favorites! Every now and then when I travel, I find myself at a B&B or hotel that's so nice, that I don't want to leave to go to a restaurant or go visit the sights. This was one of those places, although we did go to dinner at Calhouns, right on the river, and the football game, both within walking distance.

We stayed in the Penthouse Suite and it was absolutely wonderful. It included a beautifully furnished living room, perfect for relaxing or watching tv. Right off the living room, was a private patio, overlooking the Tennessee River and the stadium. Not to mention the spacious bathroom with a jacuzzi tub and skylight.

Robin, the hostess, greeted us and made us feel right at home. Sonny, the owner, was very hospitable and even offered us free parking during the game, even though we checked out prior to game time. Football parking is $30 so we certainly appreciated this! Folks were tailgating all around so be sure to bring your tail gating supplies and you can do so right out in front. Or you can hang out with the Tennessee fans, which we did, and they were soooo great!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Paint the door of the 100-year-old river-view house pink, stuff with armoires and oil paintings, and call it a Bed and Breakfast. You can charge $100, and people who want to save old houses and support small businesses from the paving and Hyattization of historically interesting towns will pay it! At least once.
The pot smoke from the neighbor’s room, Decor de la Schizophrenia, and things still stuck to the breakfast dishes will discourage them, but talk a lot about “the nobility of historic preservation and hostelry.” Then install some friendly caretakers to wrestle with keys in cheap locks, embarrassingly sluggish plumbing, and all that pot. Mask moldering wall drools and those more disturbing subsidence cracks with motel-room art. Sadly, art collected by the dumpster-load loses that good weird whiff of haunt you get with a creepy “Colonial Child Holding Doll” or a good antebellum daguerreotype, when they’re cheek to smeared face with a Field and Stream duck hunter and a Pabst Blue Ribbon decoupage. Also, try not to be rude on the phone. Remember, you never have to actually be there - guests will rarely feel alone with the ants boiling out of the sinks and that furtive scurrying in the kitchen cupboards. They may even come back. The house is, after all, on the hip side of the University and the stroll to Market Square and the Old City with bridge views along well-tree'd streets passes mid-century architecture, and public art in pocket parks to bistros, music and poetry venues, and world-class theaters. Just hope they don't scratch the surface. Or Open the Kitchen Cupboards.

Room Tip: The penthouse, if they can get the key to work (which is important if your luggage is in there), has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Based on the reviews from other guests I was really looking forward to our stay at the Maplehurst Inn. While the accomodations were comfortable, I would say this is more like a hostel for adults rather than a Bed and Breakfast.

The seelling points are the inn's location and the charm. We were able to walk to the Market Square and there are a lot of great places to eat and shop. The view of the river was lovely. The decor is beautiful. The price for the location is also very reasonable.

Had I not had such high expectations bases on the previous reviews I may have more good things to say, but our experience with the Maplehurst Inn was very odd and nothing like any of the other reviews. My initial call to make a reservation was not returned, but messages get lost, and the reviews were so good that I wrote it off as just one of those things. I called again the next day and was able to make a reservation for two weeks in advance. I thought it was a little odd that no one could tell me which room I would have, especially since I gave a credit card # to reserve the room. But again, the reviews were all so good that I didn't worry about it. One week later I received a call from the Inn confirming that I would be arriving that evening...this was one week earlier than the date of our reservation. I'm getting a little concerned at this point, but we got the date straight. By this time I'm sarting to wonder what we are going to find when we arrive.

When we arrived we were showed several rooms to choose from. Each room was lovely and comfortable. After getting settled into our room we were informed that the key wasn't available. Someone had the key or had to bring the key back...this was a little odd. We were told that someone would be bringing the key and it would be there when we got back from dinner. So we locked our room and headed out for the evening. To make a long story short, we never got a key to our room and the host had to break into the room so we could get back in when we got back in that evening. After 9 hours of driving and another couple of hours of walking around downtown we were really tired and ready to get into our room.

We checked out a little before 10 am. There was some fruit and dry cereal in the dining room, but no milk or anything. Maybe we just missed breakfast, but no one told us what time breakfast was when we checked in.

Throughout our stay the staff was polite but there was definately a lack of communication--from the reservation mistake to the missing key. It didn't seem like they were experienced at running a B&B. Because our experience was so very different from all the others we read, I have to guess that something is up with management of the property or something along those lines.

If you stay here, you can look forward to a comfortable room at a reasonable price, close to a lot of attractions. If you are expecting a key to your room, a hot breakfast or if you need the security of a reservation confirmation you might consider spending more to stay at a nearby hotel. The Maplehurst is an adventure! If you can roll with the unexpected to save a little money then go with this place. You will get a good location and a charming room.

Room Tip: Make sure your room has a key before you settle in
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

While moving across the country with our dog in tow, we stopped in Knoxville for the night. We were pleased with the Maplehurst Inn because of a few things: the staff was very welcoming, the place had fun furniture and decorations, and the location is great for walking around downtown. We walked to dinner- Todd had great recommendations (plus almost every downtown restaurant had dog-friendly outdoor patios). The shared living room space had great antique furniture and was a comfortable place to read or mingle. Our room had modern, comfy furniture and tasteful Japanese themed decor, but the mid-century bathroom could use some updating, although everything worked just fine. Big bed, small TV, and free Wi-fi. Breakfast was a little late and a little basic- fruit, scrambled eggs, cereal, and make-your-own toast, but since we were just in the mood for basic, we were happy.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maplehurst Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maplehurst Inn

Address: 800 West Hill Avenue, Knoxville, TN
Location: United States > Tennessee > Knoxville
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Knoxville
Number of rooms: 11

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maplehurst Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.