We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Enjoyable and Informative Visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Women's Basketball Hall of Fame

Women's Basketball Hall of Fame
700 Hall of Fame Drive, Knoxville, TN 37915
865-633-9000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 40 Attractions in Knoxville
Type: Specialty Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: From the 10-ton, 30-foot-high basketball that sits on top of the building to the life-like animatronic figure of Senda Berenson, "the mother of women's basketball," this will not be your typical hall of fame visit.
Near Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“An Enjoyable and Informative Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We spent an enjoyable hour and a half touring this museum and hall of fame. The people working in the facility were top notch and very helpful. The exhibits included such things as the evolution of the rules in the women's game, a chance to "sit in" on a number of coach's pre-game and halftime pep talks, and numerous uniforms and other equipment. The hall of fame plaques were at the end of the second floor museum, and there were several nets and balls on the first floor for the use of the guests. Parking couldn't be easier in the adjacent lot. We were even provided with a loaner wheelchair to make my wife's experience easier.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    19
    7
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A little disappointing.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

You can tell that this attraction was built by a non-profit organization. It's very informative, but unless you are fascinated by Women's basketball, it's a little boring. Worth the time to see. Just expect a museum instead of an attraction.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Through my Daughter's Eyes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We had a chance to stop by the Women's Basketball Hall of Fame in Knoxville, Tennessee on our way home. Let me first say that the people who operate the Hall are outstanding. My family on had about an hour before the place closed but the hospitality was phenomenal. We were assured that we would have plenty of time to see everything and don't be in a hurry. A self-guided tour starts with a fifteen minute movie on the history of Women's Basketball. It is very informative and made my fourteen year old daughter say "wow" more than one time. There are plenty of things to see from uniforms to rules as well as interactive exhibits and a place to shoot some hoops! If you are ever near Knoxville and you want to do something special for your lady basketball player, go to the hall of fame. It was great!!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“This is the place if you love Women's basketball”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

The women's basketball coach at Baylor University, Kim Mulkey, is inducted into the Hall of Fame and so I wanted to see pictures of her and her playing days. This was a great exhibit to show the history of the game and to celebrate the past icons of basketball, including Mulkey and Pat Summit. Stop here and then go see the Lady Vols play basketball.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Ridge, New Jersey
Top Contributor
614 reviews 614 reviews
306 attraction reviews
Reviews in 162 cities Reviews in 162 cities
474 helpful votes 474 helpful votes
“Visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

This is a great facility, easy to get to, with worthwhile history. Go on the Saturday morning of the induction weekend and you get free admission to meet and get autographs from that year's inductees. You may even meet past inductees. Keep in mind that I'm not even a huge basketball fan, but I look forward to every visit.
One worthwhile tip - forget the MapQuest, Google Maps and GPS after they get you to the I-40 exit! They take you on an odd route for no apparent reason. At the end of the ramp, turn onto Hall of Fame Drive. It, of course, takes you to the Hall of Fame!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Women's Basketball Hall of Fame also viewed

 

Been to Women's Basketball Hall of Fame? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Women's Basketball Hall of Fame, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.