We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Indian Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Woodlands Indian Restaurant

Woodlands Indian Restaurant
8520 Kingston Pike, Knoxville, TN 37919-5353
+1 865-670-2878
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #108 of 960 Restaurants in Knoxville
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: Indian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Buffet
Description: Woodlands of Knoxville. Specializes in North Indian, South Indian, Indo Chinese and Mumbai Chat Corner.
Lenoir City, Tennessee
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Excellent Indian Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Four couples, including a husband and wife who were born and raised in India, got together for a delicious dinner. The food, beer and service were all superb. We native-born Americans enjoyed trying several unfamiliar foods, all of which was very tasty.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    10
    12
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Georgia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“One of my top 3 Favorite Indian Restaurants!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

This restaurant is one of my top picks out of the best Indian Restaurants. They have a buffet and most Indian Food buffets are generally under spiced and mild to suit the average crowds tastes - but not this one! I was pleasantly surprised to find out that the food was spiced very well! When it comes to Indian Food buffets this is probably the best one ever. There was an unusual cooking station with the flame warmers ( i forget what this is called ). There was also what seemed to be home made mango ice cream. I don't visit Knoxville often but I can't wait to get back here!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great lunch buffet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

The food was great and the staff was very polite and helpful. The dishes were very delicious. The ambiance is great and the internal decor is very nice. It is a great place to go with of office colleagues as well as family. They even have exotic Indian dishes not found in regular Indian restaurants.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Woodlands is a "new" restaurant in this location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We have been to Woodlands 4 times already, and we have loved it each time! We believe some of the reviews given on TripAdvisor for this place are not for Woodlands at all; I notice that the reviews date back to last year, but the new Woodlands did not open until very recently! Please update your recommendations! TAJ is no longer the restaurant in this facility. Woodlands bought the facility from Taj and is totally different. Woodlands has a great reputation in Nashville and several of our local Indian friends have recommended this place. Please update your reviews!
Thank you!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very good and great service and chef”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

We had a very pleasant dinner here. The dosas were very good, sumptuous and the accompaniments were plentiful. The server was polite and the chef came out and spoke to us and was attentive to some suggestions for the menu. I highly recommend everyone in the area try this place out and make it a success.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Woodlands Indian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Woodlands Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woodlands Indian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.