We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You Name It It was Horrible!!!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Knoxville Strawberry Plains

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Knoxville Strawberry Plains to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Knoxville Strawberry Plains
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   730 Rufus Graham Road, Knoxville, TN 37924   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #31 of 89 Hotels in Knoxville
Belle Mina, Alabama, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“You Name It It was Horrible!!!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Okay so I tried to give Priority Club a second chance because they did correct the website and refunded my points that should not have been deducted...so we book at the Holiday Inn Express in Strawberry Plains at Knoxville Tennessee...We arrive at the hotel late and the front desk agent was asleep in the breakfast room on the sofa after yelling and yelling he finally comes to the desk...we get into the room to find trash left in the room the ventilation fan in the bathroom was filthy and the bathroom door was caked with residue from hairspray and some substance and the ottoman for the chair was filthy...we called and ask to speak to a manager to be told there was not one on property...we asked that our stay be refunded or reduced...they then comp the 2nd nights stay...We went out to look at real estate and returned to the room to find housekeeping had been in and none of the issues we brought to their attention had been addressed...attempted to use the restroom to have the toliet over flow and would not flush...called again and two men had to come into our room and fix the toliet before we could even use it....again we asked for a manager and at this point...we are exhausted and we didn't feel like moving...our entire stay no one took the time to address our concerns or even to correct them...I have been in the hospitality industry almost 28 years and what is wrong with these hotels...again I feel that my points should be refunded and that Priority Club should take a look at the quality and condition of their hotels...for Christ sake....why is it so hard to do YOUR JOB!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler1Tampa, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Knoxville Strawberry Plains, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
We are disappointed to hear of your experience at our hotel and appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback. The problems you mentioned were brought to the attention of our management department and have been addressed. While the lack of service you experienced is unusual and not the standard of our hotel, there is no excuse for an attitude on the part of any of our employees. We are sorry for the inconvenience and annoyance this incident caused.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    50
    13
    4
    4
See reviews for
64
40
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Although I have already reviewed this hotel three times in the past, I always feel the need to give credit where credit is due each time I return. I can’t say enough good things about this hotel. We always stay here for one night on our way from Iowa to the Outer Banks of North Carolina and again on our way back home. The location is excellent – right off of I-40 with easy access to tons of restaurants that range from an Outback Steak-house and Puleo’s Grille to KFC, McDonald’s and Wendy’s. There are also a handful of gas stations between the exit and the hotel where you can pick up a few quick items if needed.
The hotel itself is super clean and comfortable – the beds and pillows make you feel right at home! The main reason we stay here is because it is pet-friendly and allows us to bring our small dog with us on our trip. We couldn’t be more grateful that there is such a nice, clean property that allows a pet to accompany travelers. We’ve never noticed any pet stains or pet smells in this hotel, and our dog just loves it. We also like the little doggy treat can in the lobby where we can grab a couple of snacks for him after a long day on the road. There is a nice little area around the back of the hotel to walk your dog without having to be close to traffic, and there are a couple of picnic tables you can sit at outside as well.
The staff is always friendly and helpful, and the breakfast is always hot and delicious. There is no other hotel we’d rather stay at on our way to the beach, and we will definitely be back again next spring! Thanks for offering excellent accommodations and allowing us to share them with our pet during our trip!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler1Tampa, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Knoxville Strawberry Plains, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
 Your complimentary review of our hotel the Holiday Inn Express Knoxville Strawberry Plains is much appreciated! We look forward to having the opportunity to host you and your pet next spring.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We used this hotel as home base for 4 nights and 5 days while exploring Eastern Tennessee. We went to the Smoky Mountains (and saw a bear), Douglas Lake, Tellico Lake and Norris lake. The property is clean, the employees friendly and the beds comfy. After a bit, it felt like home!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler1Tampa, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Knoxville Strawberry Plains, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you for such a great compliment of our hotel the Holiday Inn Express Knoxville Strawberry Plains ” After a bit, it felt like home! " Please return often!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

When we entered the lobby we were greeted with warm Tennessee enthusiasm. The property is clean, service is excellent and the amenities are very nice.

I also used the business center which had very fast response time. Unfortunately we didn't use the pool , but it looked inviting and clear.

It is also close to gas stations with very reasonable prices (if that's possible now!). We asked about close nice restaurants and were directed to Puleo's Grille which also was great. We will return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler1Tampa, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Knoxville Strawberry Plains, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
 Thank you for the kind words regarding our staff here at The Holiday Inn Express Knoxville Strawberry Plains . We pride ourselves in being service professionals! Thank you for your review and. Please return often!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Once again we were pleased by our stay at a Holiday Inn Express. I must say Holiday Inn Expresses are my favorite places to stay while on the road travelling. A bonus was that this location was pet friendly with a $25 a night charge per pet. Our pet friendly room was clean and did not at all smell like pets had been in it like some other pet friendly places. This hotel is well maintained and has comfortable bedding. The rooms have all the modern amenities including flat screen TVs. Thanks again, Holiday Inn Express!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler1Tampa, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Knoxville Strawberry Plains, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you for the kind words regarding our pet friendly hotel, the Holiday Inn Express Knoxville Strawberry Plains. We pride ourselves in being service professionals! Hopefully, we'll have the opportunity to host you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Near the interstate but absolutely quiet. Nice indoor, heated pool, exercise equipment, dog friendly, nice breakfast, friendly personnel, adequate parking, clean. Fresh cookies in the lobby plus coffee. Coffee maker in our room didn't work but will tell them as I leave and plenty of coffee in the lobby.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler1Tampa, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Knoxville Strawberry Plains, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
We are glad to hear how much you liked our hotel the Holiday Inn Express Knoxville Strawberry Plains and look forward to hosting you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burkettsville, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

My family stayed one night on our way to South Carolina. Great location right off of I-40 with lots of restaurants to choose from. My kids enjoyed the pool and the cookies. The room was clean, but the furniture did show lots of wear. The breakfast area was very busy the next morning and the hostess seemed a bit stressed. She did however keep everything stocked and was very nice. Nice place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler1Tampa, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Knoxville Strawberry Plains, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
 Your complimentary review of our hotel the Holiday Inn Express Knoxville Strawberry Plains is much appreciated! Hopefully, we'll have the opportunity to host you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Knoxville Strawberry Plains? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Knoxville Strawberry Plains

Address: 730 Rufus Graham Road, Knoxville, TN 37924
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Knoxville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Knoxville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Knoxville Strawberry Plains 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express-Knoxville East, Strawberry Plains.The perfect blend of friendly meets functional and corporate meets comfort at this Knoxville hotel.Whether you need to be near the University of TN for every Volunteer Football game; in the Great Smoky Mountains for hiking, biking and a trip to Dollywood; or near the Forks of the River Industrial Park for a busy work week; the Holiday Inn Express-Knoxville East will keep you close and convenient without being in the crowded city. Our location off I-40, Exit 398, will also give you easy access to all the attractions in Gatlinburg, the car shows in Pigeon Forge, and give you a direct route to all the Nascar races in Bristol that you can handle.We know you will 'Stay Smart' while using our 24 hour fitness center and the heated, indoor pool. You may also choose to relax with a cinnamon roll, omlet, & bacon in our comfy hospitality room for our 'Stay Smart Express Breakfast', or catch up on some work in our 24 hour business center with our FREE wired & wireless HSIA. The Holiday Inn Express-Knoxville East also offers fine dining nearby at the Outback Steakhouse, Puleo's Grille & Ruby Tuesday's. Remember, your pet is also welcome at our Knoxville hotel.This Knoxville hotel has the best to offer for location, comfort, and convenience for your business, family, & fun all year long. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Regatta Hotels, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Knoxville Strawberry Plains reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Knoxville Strawberry Plains Hotel Knoxville
Knoxville Holiday Inn Express

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Knoxville Strawberry Plains, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.