We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room smelled like grease” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Knoxville Cedar Bluff

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Knoxville Cedar Bluff to your Saves list
Residence Inn Knoxville Cedar Bluff
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   215 Langley Place at North Peters Road, Knoxville, TN 37922   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #35 of 90 Hotels in Knoxville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lexington, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Room smelled like grease”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

While the hotel is beautifully decorated and comfortable, the room's prior guests must have cooked a lot of food in their room. When we called the front desk to complain about the smell, a hotel employee came up with a spray bottle that supposedly was an odor eliminator, but it did nothing. He left the bottle, which we used many times each day of our stay, but it did nothing, and the hotel wasn't concerned about our situation.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David J, General Manager at Residence Inn Knoxville Cedar Bluff, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit feedback. Although I cannot determine your name or room number from your posting, I can guess which room you occupied. Being an extended stay hotel, we often deal with cooking odors and are usually successful at treating them. In your case, I believe you may have occupied a room that was home for several weeks to a party who enjoyed frying fish. We treated the room several times before returning to inventory but evidently, that was not enough. We have since completed a thorough deep clean, including washing down all walls.

My apologies for not having this under control beforehand. Again, thanks for letting us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    32
    15
    3
    3
See reviews for
31
22
4
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

My parents and have had many stays at this Residence inn over the past year as my sister, who lived in Knoxville, was dying. The staff went above and beyond in asking how we were doing, if there was anything they could do, etc., even placing flowers in my parents room with personal condolences when she died. The facilities were so nice, clean, and we were made to feel at home. thank you!

Room Tip: Many restaurants in the area. Also shopping with a nice variety of stores. Staff also had great sug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David J, General Manager at Residence Inn Knoxville Cedar Bluff, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
It was with heavy hearts we learned of your sister's passing. Too often, we are home to families dealing with personal tragedy and we hope we can make their time here ever so slightly more comfortable. We appreciate your acknowledgement of what we are strive for.... our company's vison statement.....To be a company that promotes an environment for the ministry of serving others. Our prayers are with you and your family during this time of loss.

Respectfully,
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argentina
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I've stayed more than once in this hotel and would stay again no doubt. From the rooms, to the attention, from the location to the clean, everything fits.
Rooms are big, comfortable, with kitchen, sofa, table. There's a small pool, a basketball mini court, a mini gym. There's good breakfast and mini-dinner from Mon to Thu. You can send packages with no extra charge. Free parking, good restaurants nearby.
I would highly recommended to anyone.

Room Tip: Away from elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David J, General Manager at Residence Inn Knoxville Cedar Bluff, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you Mr. F for your kind review. Having stayed with us several times during your project, its nice to know you feel great about our hotel. We look forward to seeing you in the coming months as your project progresses!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Overall...the experience was very pleasant. Dog friendly hotel even though we didn't have our "children" (dogs) with us. Rooms were clean and spacious...bedroom plus kitchenette and living room area was more than we anticipated...very nice...couldn't ask for anything more. Except...and this is very minor...they forgot on one day to service the room. Not a big deal for me but my wife was a little upset. They immediately made up for it with clean towels and other amenities. Breakfast was fine...eggs, bacon, rolls, oatmeal, cereal, waffles...it was acceptable. Would I stay here again? Absolutely...but it's not a five star hotel...it's a very pleasant place to stay if you want a clean, quiet place to relax after visiting your grandchildren for the day.

Room Tip: Tlhis is a good value...better than most in Knoxville. We would stay here again!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David J, General Manager at Residence Inn Knoxville Cedar Bluff, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for the very positive review of our hotel. You're right! We may not be a Ritz Carlton but we try to provide a nice, clean, and very friendly place to stay when you have to be away from home. Appreciate you taking the time to add a review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Iowa
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

The Residence Inn on Langley Place is just west of Knoxville and about two minutes off I-40. It is in a convenient location away from the hustle bustle of downtown, amid tons of good restaurants, both locally owned and the usual chain types. Our room was spotless, quiet and consistent with other Residence Inns we have stayed at. Staff at the reception desk was helpful, held our room late following a 2 hour delay on I-95, and came up with a great recommendation for dinner. And of course Residence Inns are pet friendly with lots of good grass right outside the door.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David J, General Manager at Residence Inn Knoxville Cedar Bluff, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for the great comments! Glad to see you enjoyed Puleo's. One of my favorite restaurants in Knoxville. Hope to see you when you pass this way again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I decided to make a stop on our way from Fort Knox, KY to Fort Jackson, SC.
This hotel and location was great! Better than we expected. They offered us a great military rate for a queen suite studio. We had no complaints or issues with our stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David J, General Manager at Residence Inn Knoxville Cedar Bluff, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Always like to hear that we're better than expected :-) Thanks for the positive comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Everything was very nice. Worked very well with two bedrooms/ two baths for our family situation. The rooms were clean. The staff was nice. The couch could be updated, it is a little used and sinks. The variety of food was pretty good. I would use this Residence Inn again

Room Tip: My only complaint would be that the staff was eating and taking all the seating in the eating area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David J, General Manager at Residence Inn Knoxville Cedar Bluff, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments regarding our hotel. We are glad we met so many of your needs. I would like to address the staff "eating" situation. After breakfast closes, as the staff comes down for our morning meeting, we allow them to consume any leftover food that will be thrown away that day, so that it does not go to waste. Occassionally, we'll have guests show up after we have closed the buffet but before the food has been pulled. We always allow any late arriving guests to partake of what is left. I believe you may have experienced that cross-over. Sorry for what appeared an unusual situation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Knoxville Cedar Bluff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Knoxville Cedar Bluff

Address: 215 Langley Place at North Peters Road, Knoxville, TN 37922
Location: United States > Tennessee > Knoxville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 90 Hotels in Knoxville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Knoxville Cedar Bluff 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Regatta Hotels, Marriott, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Residence Inn Knoxville Cedar Bluff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Knoxville Cedar Bluff Hotel Knoxville
Knoxville Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Knoxville Cedar Bluff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.