We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Knoxville Cedar Bluff

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Knoxville Cedar Bluff to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Knoxville Cedar Bluff
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   215 Langley Place at North Peters Road, Knoxville, TN 37922   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #38 of 88 hotels in Knoxville
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Home away from home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I decided to make a stop on our way from Fort Knox, KY to Fort Jackson, SC.
This hotel and location was great! Better than we expected. They offered us a great military rate for a queen suite studio. We had no complaints or issues with our stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David J, General Manager at Residence Inn Knoxville Cedar Bluff, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Always like to hear that we're better than expected :-) Thanks for the positive comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    30
    11
    3
    3
See reviews for
27
19
3
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Everything was very nice. Worked very well with two bedrooms/ two baths for our family situation. The rooms were clean. The staff was nice. The couch could be updated, it is a little used and sinks. The variety of food was pretty good. I would use this Residence Inn again

Room Tip: My only complaint would be that the staff was eating and taking all the seating in the eating area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David J, General Manager at Residence Inn Knoxville Cedar Bluff, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments regarding our hotel. We are glad we met so many of your needs. I would like to address the staff "eating" situation. After breakfast closes, as the staff comes down for our morning meeting, we allow them to consume any leftover food that will be thrown away that day, so that it does not go to waste. Occassionally, we'll have guests show up after we have closed the buffet but before the food has been pulled. We always allow any late arriving guests to partake of what is left. I believe you may have experienced that cross-over. Sorry for what appeared an unusual situation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver CO USA
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

I've stayed at quite a few Residence Inns during my work travel times and this one was average. It didn't have the hot and cold breakfast or dinner that some Residence Inn's have. In fact in the morning it had a continental breakfast with coffee, water, juice, muffins, and yogurt. In the evenings they had water bottles available. The room was nice (I was in a single studio) but I was either too hot or too cold with the AC. There didn't seem to be an in between. The hotel is relatively close to a strip mall, restaurants, and even a Starbucks, so there is plenty of food options nearby. The only true negative I have is that when I arrived in Knoxville my suitcase did not make it. I asked the front desk to call me when my suitcase arrived, no matter what time it was. My suitcase arrived at 2 am. They never called. Finally after a terrible night's sleep worrying about my suitcase (and being too hot or cold) I called the front desk and they said "Oh yeah, its been sitting her since 2 am). Pretty irritating, especially since it had my toiletries and things I really needed in it.

Room Tip: I always prefer to be away from elevators and on higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David J, General Manager at Residence Inn Knoxville Cedar Bluff, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Hello! I would love to speak with you if possible. In reading your comments, I am concerned the wrong hotel may have been rated. We have a full breakfast with a selection of hot items. We are located in the same parking lot as a sister Marriott property that does serve a continental breakfast. Either way, I'd like to discuss the issues raised so that either property can address the luggage situation with the correct associate. Our main number is 865-539-5339. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, Tennessee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Was okay. We stayed there 2 nights. They allowed us to check in early,which helped us out. The breakfast was very good ... A good variety of food to choose from. Both mornings someone was in attendance to make sure things were clean and food was in good supply

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David J, General Manager at Residence Inn Knoxville Cedar Bluff, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments. Too often, hotels offering "complimentary" breakfasts skimp on their offerings. Residence Inns provide everything from a light bite to a big, hearty breakfast. We're glad you enjoyed our selections!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We are regular RI guests, so we've seen several different styles of this property, at different ages. All of the properties we've stayed with have been upgraded nicely to keep up with the standard of the hotel brand or brand new. This one is no different. I didn't take any pictures because the pictures already here do the trick. It's great! Comfy, cozy, and CLEAN!

The front desk staff is smooth, friendly, confident, competent, and friendly. The reception/breakfast staff is among the friendliest we've met, except for the reception host in Columbia, SC who is a legend in my mind! These guys treat you like family from the time you arrive until the time you check out. The housekeepers are the same way. ALL of the staff that we met was kind and friendly. It was really refreshing to be taken care of by such a great staff!

The rooms are beautiful. We stayed in a two-bedroom suite. These suites are so roomy. We loved everything so much we extended our stay! The courtyard is cozy and the pool is HEATED, which I've never seen before. The hot tub is not open right now; but the pool is very nice, and even has a "lift (?)" for disabled guests to be able to get into the pool. That's the first one of those I've seen. There are plenty of guest towels crisp and ready to go just before you walk into the pool area. There's also a basketball court there - very nice touch.

The evening receptions are nice. We had one night of vegetable soup and salad with dessert and some snacks. The next night was chili, with fritos, tortillas, plenty of fixins to make nachos or even "frito pie". In addition to that there was sandwich wraps, loads of cheese cubes, crackers with meats (like salami, pepperoni, etc.). They also had a nice peach cobbler. They had a chocolate type mousse on the first night. As far as drinks, they offered lemonade and a lemon flavored sweet tea. There was also water, but no un-sweet tea. They also had coffee all day. As far as adult beverages they had Bud Light on tap, but no wine at this location. The breakfast was varied with steady staples, such as scrambled eggs, fruit, yogurt, breads, etc.. One morning breakfast burritos were added in. The next morning sausage egg and cheese biscuits were in that spot. Everything, everything, EVERYTHING that this hotel offered at the reception and at breakfast was fresh and very tasty……FILLING! One thing I’ve noticed, so you’ll want to keep an open mind, is that the menus posted on your fridge don’t always match what’s “on the table”…and just know that whatever they serve is going to be GOOD! This is not the first property where I’ve noticed this.

There is one drawback to this hotel that I didn't ask the management about, and meant to. The internet is very fast, but seems to drop you and require signing in again if there is no activity after just a few minutes. So, if this happens, you may want to ask about it.

I would stay here again, for sure. Also, we do like the Embassy Suites; and the area has just gotten a new one. The things that made us choose to return the RI brand, even though this was our first time at this property, instead of trying the new ES are the amenities and the style of the room. The cost is a few dollars less here. The rooms are far larger and offer 2 bedrooms for less than what a two-queen suite at the Embassy; AND the reception at night for the brand (I haven’t seen this one first hand, only based on prior experiences) is far, far, far less at the Embassy and requires you going out for dinner afterward, which adds to the cost.

Any specific questions, just ask.

Room Tip: Ground floor is convenient. Just remember, other guests (often with children) are above you which d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David J, General Manager at Residence Inn Knoxville Cedar Bluff, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for the great comments! Will you write our next sales brochure? Seriously, our goal is to provide a great product delivered by a caring, friendly staff. We appreciate your recognition!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We had a two bedroom two bath suite; the room appeared to be clean. On close examination there were a couple of small (dead than goodness) roaches on the floor. Now, I know that they are impossible to keep away, but still Eeeww -- gross! Front staff not overly friendly or accommodating. When we called ahead to say we would be arriving late and asked to have the sofa bed made up (b/c our previous Residence Inn Stay necessitated a wait for sheets for over an hour) we were informed (shortly after 5p pm) that housekeeping had gone home for the night. We had thought that if we asked to have the bed made up we would stand a better chance of having sheets there, and actually that did work. The elevator went out several times during our one night stay. Be advised, the Inn is very hard to find amid the Staybridge/Courtyard complex, it's really tucked back and away. Nice breakfast and the breakfast staff was so pleasant.

Room Tip: I would opt for a ground floor room in case that elevator goes out again!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David J, General Manager at Residence Inn Knoxville Cedar Bluff, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for your comments. I appreciate the feedback and would like to address a couple of the concerns you raised.

I apologize for the bugs. Actually, they were probably beetles. Knoxville is 19 inches above normal for rainfall this year and little critters are seeking any dry place they can find... homes, shops, and , yes, hotels. We treat aggressively for pests (the reason they were dead) and try to prevent them from getting in as much as we can.

As for the sheet request... my staff person should have explained the situation better. ALL of our rooms have a sleeper sofa and ALL are stocked with a set of sheets for those beds. We typically do not make the sleepers so that incoming guests are assured that the sheets are not there from a previous guest. I apologize if you had wo wait on sheets at another Residence Inn, as it is standard that we have complete sets bagged and in the room at check-in.

Thank you again for your observations. I have touched base with my desk person to ensure we are communicating more thoroughly in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, KY
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Easy check in. Small pool area, but clean! Tiny workout facility, but very nice equipment. Breakfast was great -hot, big variety, kept stocked. Only downfall is the breakfast closes up by 9 am.

The room was really nice. Lots of space, plenty of towels, modern kitchenette with full sized fridge, no DVD player in the room. The hallways do need re-habbing as the carpet is very stained and gives a bad first impression.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David J, General Manager at Residence Inn Knoxville Cedar Bluff, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. We appreciate the positives and work to improve any "less than" positive. I apologize for the hallway carpet issue. We had someone drag something that was leaking the length of the hallway a couple of weeks ago. We have shampooed a couple of times now, and it keeps coming back. We are having a carpet company out next week to look at pulling and treating the carpet in that area.

Again, thanks for posting your observations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Knoxville Cedar Bluff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Knoxville Cedar Bluff

Address: 215 Langley Place at North Peters Road, Knoxville, TN 37922
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Knoxville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 88 hotels in Knoxville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Knoxville Cedar Bluff 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Regatta Hotels, Orbitz, Marriott, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Residence Inn Knoxville Cedar Bluff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Knoxville Cedar Bluff Hotel Knoxville
Knoxville Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Knoxville Cedar Bluff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.