We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of everything” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Whitestone Country Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Whitestone Country Inn to your Saves list
Whitestone Country Inn
1200 Paint Rock Road, Kingston, TN 37763   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Kingston B&B and Inns
Knoxville, Tennessee
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best of everything”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

Just returned from a two-night stay at a beautiful secluded B&B near Knoxville, TN. I went alone for a much-needed break and came away feeling more at peace and more rested than I have in months. Each room is decorated beautifully, and the scenery is incredible. Whitestone encompasses hundreds of acres, many of which face Watts Bar Lake and the hills surrounding it. I stayed in a cozy room in the Farmhouse (with every amenity possible provided) and ate a delicious breakfast on the glass-enclosed porch overlooking the fields, horses and lake. The owners are warm and friendly, and add to the welcoming atmosphere. I truly recommend this country escape for couples, friends, and those like me who might just need a time to rest and refocus. (Their homemade cookies are terrific!)

Room Tip: Every room is decorated uniquely and each offers a different view. It would be hard to recommend one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    10
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
18
174
15
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, Louisiana
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

From a distance the property is very appealing but once you walk into the main building called the Farmhouse, you're disappointed. Perhaps this was originally built as a retirement home but why is the dining room located in the same building as the rooms? Upon entering my room, I was curious why the furnishing were 1970s era and very dated looking. I was also curious to know why a sign in the bathroom reads " emergency tub shut off". There was a nail hole in the wall and scuffs all over the walls with the acrylic shower tub brown from stains. The gardens have not been weeded in several weeks. Dinner was a huge disappointment and was not restaurant fare but something that you're served in a bad diner. Pasta was dripping in butter and took and hour to be served after the second course.
The worst part was the sound from the building which sounded like a diesel engine, perhaps the furnace? It came on and off several times throughout the night and I must say that this building should only be booked by those who are severely hearing impaired.

Room Tip: Whatever you do, don't stay in the Farmhouse
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gcollier, Manager at Whitestone Country Inn, responded to this review, November 1, 2011
Management’s response to this Trip Advisor post will of necessity be somewhat lengthy and painful to write. This guest arrived in the afternoon of October 20, 2011. She was traveling alone and shared the following concerns. She said an ex-boyfriend had been stalking her for 6 years and had recently hired stalkers to follow and harass her wherever she goes. She left her home state to get away from the stalkers but they had followed her to Vermont and even though she was staying in bed and breakfasts in off the beaten path places, they had managed to find her every night of her trip.

We assured her that no one else was at the resort other than employees and couples who had made reservations days before her last minute reservation. She said the stalker always finds her and makes strange noises all night to drive her crazy. She wanted to be informed if any single men checked in and called the office to check on this later. Her room was on the main floor of the 15,000 square foot primary building and with no outside door to her room. She said she felt that she was safe. She.did tell me that she thought the stalker had placed a tracking devise on her car and that he would find her.

At 10:20 p.m. she called 911 and reported the stalker was outside her window making a strange mechanical-type noise. Staff on duty in the building alerted me when the deputy sheriff arrived. He and I talked to her for some time. An inspection of the grounds and parking lot did not produce a stalker or an unusual car. She told both of us that this was a regular pattern for the stalker—he makes this strange unique noise until the police come to investigate. Then he stops the noise until they leave and then starts again until someone comes to investigate. The deputy concluded his inspection and left.

At breakfast she reported that the stalker made this unique noise off and on all night. There were 5 other couples in the Farmhouse that night but none of them heard anything. I suggested to her that as she continued her journey home she might feel safer staying at interstate motels on a top floor with an interior hallway. She did not mention any other noise except from her “stalker”.

As to other items:
1. Dining is in the same building as 8 of our 22 bedrooms and suites. That will almost always be the case with bed and breakfasts and country inns.
2. There is a switch that cuts off the spa tub in case of any electronic malfunction.
3. I could not find the stains in the tub.
4. The building was built in 1996 as a country inn. We have maintained a AAA 4-Diamond status since we opened. The furnishing and décor are appropriate for a replica of a Federal Period home.
5. The gardens are not formal but commonly called “English Gardens.” They are weeded with regularity.
6. There was not an hour delay between courses. We serve 5 courses at dinner. Dinner started at 6:40pm and she left the dining room before 8:00pm.
7. The complaint that her “pasta was dripping in butter” is correct. She ordered from our menu “Ravioli Stuffed with Butternut Squash Puree and Topped with an Almond Butter Sauce.”

Trip Advisor reviews are very important to any lodging property. At Whitestone we are proud of our 5-Star rating and 95% thumbs up approval rating. I believe this guest was experiencing some personal difficulties unrelated to her stay at Whitestone.

In fact on this same trip to help flood victims in Vermont (several weeks after the flood) she complained that nobody wanted her help and she was being charged too much at hotels. She posted on Trip Advisor regarding another Inn that she was “overcharged, harassed and lied to.”

In conclusion, we make every effort to meet every guest’s needs. This lady had needs that made it difficult to make her happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White House, Tennessee, United States
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

My wife and I have been retreating to Whitestone for several years. We started because we like B&Bs and continued because every feature of Whitestone is superb. There's not a lot to do in the area except tour the grounds or go to antique shops in Kingston but this lends itself to the relaxing side of things. You can visit Knoxville which is a bit further east but I would recommend going and staying on the grounds, focusing on those (or the one) you're with. Be sure to have dinner while you are there. The menu is small but the atmosphere is romantic and the service is excellent. Paul, the owner, will greet you at your table and is genuinely friendly. If your dates are flexible, try to go when they serve the breakfast buffet. The table service breakfast is great too but you can't beat a buffet; especially Whitestone's.

Room Tip: Don't worry about whether or not you choose a room that is in a particular house. Choose it for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

I took three of my girlfriends to Whitestone and took advantage of their "Girls Night Out" package. We stayed there on a Saturday night to celebrate my 40th birthday, compliments of my husband. It was magnificent! We stayed in the Cardinal Suite with over 1000 square feet. While there were only 4 of us, the roomy suite easily accommodates 6 and the package allows that number of adults at the base rate with no extra per person charges. The suite was spacious and tastefully decorated. It has a private balcony with an extraordinary view of the lake, pastures, and rolling hills. The staff is excellent; the service top-notch and the grounds immaculate. Three of us had massages at the spa and enjoyed those very much. The pastoral setting is so relaxing and we were honestly refreshed with just one night off from our families.

The overall feeling that you get at Whitestone is that you are staying at somone's very nice house. The amenities are very comfortable and cozy and the staff is unobtrusive. There are lots of extras: the bedsheets are out of this world, there are snacks available in the Farmhouse kitchen 24/7, rooms are stocked with soft drinks and bottled water, and some activities are available at no extra charge (paddle boats, shuffleboard, croquet). Regardless of your reason for visiting at Whitestone, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: The Cardinal Suite is directly over the Farmhouse kitchen which makes it very convenient for meals a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

My husband and I spent our 7th anniversary at Whitestone. The stay was amazing!! Very beautiful and the feeling of peace flows through the grounds. We both live very stressful lives and really enjoyed the quiet surroundings of Whitestone. We stayed in the Mallard Suite, a beautiful room on the main floor of the Farmhouse with a deck that overlooks the lake. My husband loved the golf putting range on the water and the meals were fantastic. We both certainly look forward to returning to Whitestone in the future!! Jean was away on business but we enjoyed meeting Paul at dinner. It was nice that he took time to get to know his guests and enjoyed fellowship with them. It's nice to know there are people in the world like Paul and Jean who try their best to express the love of God to others while working to make their vacations breathtaking and peaceful! Whitestone is a wonderful establishment, blessed with the peacefulness of God.

Room Tip: All the rooms are fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

This place is awesome!!! there is a chapel that i believe holds 175 or more?? there is a outdoor wedding gazebo that overlooks the beautiful lake, there is a incredible banquet facility "the lion and the lamb".. we viewed the suites above the receoption/banquet facility hall, and it was very impressive...the grounds are very well kept...There are other bed and breakfast rooms to stay in on the premises...We loved it!!!! we came by boat (watts bar lake) and had a staff member give us a lift to the restaurant..The food was incredible...All home made and delicious.....after lunch, given a tour of the property....Definitly will be back....and highly recommend this place to everyone.....

Room Tip: The best suite is the "osprey Suite" a king bed, Fireplace, hot tub, many windows with a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
205 helpful votes 205 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

We had a wonderful 3-night stay over Labor Day weekend, despite the fact that it rained the whole time we were there, due to tropical storm Lee. We were the last party (of six) to stay in the magnificent Cumberland View Cottage (think big luxurious home), since that facility has now been sold to a private buyer -- so no point in talking about that.

The Whitestone grounds, however, are an outstanding, expansive place for quiet refreshment of the body and soul. All accommodations are grouped in smaller buildings with 3-4 rooms in each.

However, what stands out the most is the attitude of hospitality that really emanates from the staff, no doubt instilled by owners Paul & Jean Cowell -- two of the most hospitable people you will ever meet anywhere. Breakfast and dinner are not just meals here -- they're events, not to be missed. And the food at all such "events" during our stay was delicious and plentiful.

We can't wait to return for another visit -- hopefully in nice, sunny weather next time.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Whitestone Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitestone Country Inn

Address: 1200 Paint Rock Road, Kingston, TN 37763
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Kingston
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the magic of refined country living at Whitestone! Located near Kingston, Tennessee on Watts Bar Lake with views of the Smoky Mountains, the 600-acre property includes a luxurious AAA 4-Diamond Bed and Breakfast, Restaurant, Wedding Chapel and Conference Facilities. Luxurious B&B Inn accommodations feature whirlpools, spa showers, fireplaces and canopy beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Whitestone Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitestone Country Hotel Kingston
Country Inn Kingston
Kingston Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whitestone Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.