We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rest and relaxation by a lake in the woods...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Woodland Cove Bed & Breakfast

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kingston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Woodland Cove Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Woodland Cove Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
144 Helton Vojtkofsky Lane, PO Box 791, Kingston, TN 37763   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Kingston B&B and Inns
San Francisco, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Rest and relaxation by a lake in the woods...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

This spot is timeless - a place of great natural beauty where everything around you is unspoiled and healthy. The lake is more like a wide river with many inlets and islands with woods that come up to the shore. There is wildlife everywhere, with the lake supporting many species of fish and birds. We saw so many different kinds of birds - more than I've seen anywhere in one spot; geese, bluejays, great white and blue herons, robins, swallows, etc. and their songs fill the air all day, especially the mockingbirds. Fish were jumping constantly. On the grounds around Woodland Cove we saw squirrels, rabbits, deer, racoons and one morning we awoke to find that a beaver had chewed down a small tree overnight! The hotel itself is small - just three guest rooms, but each of them is beautifully and thoughtfully layed out and furnished. There is a glass-enclosed pagoda where we ate our gourmet breakfast watching the squirrels and birds in the trees outside. There are books everywhere and nice places to sit an read, in the rooms, on the porch or on the dock in hanging hammocks or swinging loveseats. There was a kayak, a peddle boat and a canoe for use on the lake and one evening our hosts took us to see the sunset over the lake in a motorized dual-pontoon boat. We've stayed in a number of bed & breakfasts over the years and there was never a more pleasant and harmonious atmosphere. Bruce and Della are the perfect husband and wife hosts. We loved every minute at Woodland Cove!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Smyrna, TN.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2010

As a semi-regular frequenter of a bed and breakfast, let me simply say that Bruce and Della Marshall have absolutely spoiled us at Woodland Cove. If the beautiful setting on Watts-Bar Lake wasn't enough, Bruce and Della's amazing hospitality caps off the extraordinary experience. Their place is immaculate, their breakfasts are scrumptuous, and they have appeared to have thought of everything one could need or even want! My wife and I now compare every bed and breakfast to Woodland Cove and as of yet, we have not found one even close. An amazing experience! Thank you Bruce and Della!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2009

Hosts are very attentive, gourmet desserts and breakfasts. Beautiful home and location, gorgeous ride through Tennessee country to reach the B and B off the interstate. Very comfortable, roomie and immaculate accommodations. Generous snack and beverage offerings. All needs are anticipated and met at this excellent B and B.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2008

We were impressed with the comfort and beauty of Woodland Cove during our visit to family living near Kingston and the Smokies. The feeling one has immediately upon entry is that you are guests in a very nice home. The lake views from the home are fabulous and the tasteful decorating skills of the owners make this a most comfortable place to stay. We stayed in the Sunshine Suite and it is truly a wonderful place to relax and chill out. Bruce and Della are wonderful hosts and serve a great breakfast and make everyone feel welcome in their home and on the lake We'll stay again when we travel along I-40 toward Knoxville.

  • Liked — comfort of the rooms and views of the lake
  • Disliked — Absolutely no complaint!
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, TN
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2008

Had a wonderful time here for the first two nights of our honeymoon. The owners are wonderfully nice and they have done a great job decorating the place. Also the bird population that they have cultured outside is amazing to watch during breakfast.

We'll be going back!

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edwardsville
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2006

We arrived at Woodland Cove just before dark and the Innkeepers(Della and Bruce) opened up their home and all it's ammenities to us upon our arrival! We walked down to the dock and took a ride in the paddleboat around sunset. It was very relaxing after spending the day in the sun at the Worlds Longest Yardsale!! [------------]
Della and Bruce directed us to a wonderful restaurant on the lake and we had a very nice dinner. When we returned, they served us a Peach Trifle that was yummy. Our breakfast the next morning was delicious!!! We highly recommend this B&B if you are planning a trip to the Kingston area. Oh, make sure you try one of the homemade cookies in the butler's pantry!!
Gene and Sue Seibel
Edwardsville, IL
Check out our web site for B&B pictures- pad39a.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Woodland Cove Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodland Cove Bed & Breakfast

Address: 144 Helton Vojtkofsky Lane, PO Box 791, Kingston, TN 37763
Location: United States > Tennessee > Kingston
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Kingston
Number of rooms: 3

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woodland Cove Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.