We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not like it used to be” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn Kingsport

Save Saved
You added Red Roof Inn Kingsport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Kingsport
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Indian Center Ct, Kingsport, TN 37660   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Kingsport
Indiana
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Not like it used to be”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We have been staying at this motel for over a decade and it was once a pleasure. It was at one time a Comfort Inn and maybe under different ownership. The exterior is now deteriorating and the landscape is not being maintained as in the past. Poison ivy is taking over the shrubs around the pool. We were traveling with a pet this time and were assigned non smoking room on the first floor that reeked of cigarette smoke. We spent one night in the stench then after complaining to management the room was nicely deodorized. Amazing. Top notch housekeepers at this inn.

We found the wi-fi useless in our room and not much better in the lobby. The Red Roof rates are good but we gladly pay to get more. The Chinese soap slivers and shampoo in the rooms speaks loudly of where this motel is headed.

Room Tip: You get what you pay for. For a quieter room go for the second floor. All rooms open to outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    6
    9
    3
    6
See reviews for
11
8
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hillsboro, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Absolutely the very best RRI we have stayed. Room was comfortable as we always choose a King room for the space it provides. Surprised with the full breakfast they provided and it was wonderful. If we are ever going that way, in spite of the fact that it's about 7 miles off I-81, we definitely will stop there again and recommend it to anyone going that way!

Room Tip: All rooms are relatively quiet but ones away from the cliff overlooking 11W would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanuet, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We decided to stay here on a road trip to Nashville. I pretty much expected a clean place to sleep and that was about it. Let me say, quite surprised with the overall decor and value. The room was spacious and well maintained. The couch and bed were not fashionable, but comfortable nonetheless. Additional amenities made this place a worthwhile stop even if it was in a vacation spot. Everything we had was beyond our expectations for a place that was less than 60 bucks.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroofmanagement, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Kingsport, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for your visit with us. We look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Stayed at this property several times while house hunting in Kingsport. Great value for the money! The rooms are not fancy but they were overall clean and neat. I have stayed at the Hampton Inn and Meadowview Conference Center in Kingsport and for the money had no qualms with this Red Roof!

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroofmanagement, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Kingsport, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
On behalf of our hotel staff we were delighted to receive your kind words of praise. Thank you we look forward to serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

I was in the area on business and needed an economy place to stay just for one night. After looking at the options, I decided to try the Red Roof Inn. The room was clean and quiet though the hotel is very close to the highway. The negatives were the shower soap provided and the shower head. The soap was one of those tiny bars typically for hand washing. Its hard to use in the shower. The shower head did not have much pressure and the water kind of "drizzled" out. One other negative concerned the breakfast area. When I went into the lobby early in the a.m. a woman was on her hands and knees cleaning the floor...nothing unusual there. I ate breakfast and as I was putting my trash in the garbage can, the same lady was in the breakfast area checking on the food items. Now while I cannot be sure, I do not think she washed her hands after scrubbing the floor and she was NOT wearing gloves. I just closed my eyes and left. Overall, I would stay there again for the rate but would probably pass on the breakfast.

Room Tip: I was on the side nearest the highway but the room was quiet. Overall, it was a good value since I j...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroofmanagement, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Kingsport, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for your comments. I will pass on to the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

A compliment sandwich:

pro ... comfy beds, spacious rooms.

cons ... of the 8 rooms we needed, 5 sets of keys did not work. Of those 5, 3 sets did not work again and guests had to be assigned to new rooms. One room smelled of smoke (room 149), one did not have any bedsheets (room 135?), and one the microwave was running and the buttons were unresponsive forcing the guest to physically pull the plug on the possessed machine - creepy (room 151). In total, the front desk night shift guy had to make 19 sets of keys, when he really should only have had to make 8. This was unfortunate because the night shift guy was sweet and friendly, but a bit geriatric, and the day staff hadn't had the forethought to make 8 sets of keys in advance knowing a) a large party was arriving that day, and b) who was working that night. Because it took us over 1.5 hours for our entire group to check in, I would not stay again at the Red Roof Inn in Kingsport if they paid me.

pro ... delicious breakfast.

Conclusion: management ... please get new electronic key cards and key card makers out of respect for your staff and customers - no one should have to go through what my group + Jimmy had to go through. And please encourage your front desk staff to have the foresight to make keys in advance for large parties. Thank you!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroofmanagement, Manager at Red Roof Inn Kingsport, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Our apology for the electronic key cards not working. The problem has been resolved. Thank you for your feed back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

Bed bugs in room. Dirty rooms and roaches in the breakfast area...front desk guy was very rude. Avoid this place and stay at another hotel. The Ramada is clean and have friendly staff! You have been warned!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroofmanagement, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Kingsport, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
We have a exterminator that services our property and no bed bugs have been found.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Roof Inn Kingsport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Kingsport

Address: 100 Indian Center Ct, Kingsport, TN 37660
Location: United States > Tennessee > Kingsport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kingsport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Kingsport 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Red Roof Inn, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Red Roof Inn Kingsport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Kingsport
Kingsport Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn Kingsport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.