We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic restaurant row food in HUGE portions.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of FATZ

FATZ
2610 W Stone Dr, Kingsport, TN 37660-2300
423- 392-9885
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 211 Restaurants in Kingsport
Price range: $6 - $18
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Takeout
Description: At FATZ, we serve your favorite American fare with a delicious twist. From steaks to seafood, treat your taste buds to the flavors of FATZ.FATZ is committed to the highest standards of fresh quality food preparation with the finest of ingredients.
Johnson City, Tennessee
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Basic restaurant row food in HUGE portions.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Food here is predicatble, but very good. Large menu to choose from, and the little fried dough bites at the beginning are a little piece of heaven. Portions are ridiculously huge.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    17
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Monticello, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Very good food!! Love the chicken tenders! Been here a couple of times and food is always consistently good! The wait staff is very friendly also.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East TN
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Took my mom here for her birthday. We had a party of 6.

Our server was amazing. He was courteous, funny, great with the kids, attentive, and quick. We even bragged to the manager on the way out and told him that server deserved a raise he was just great!!

The poppy seed rolls were awesome, as usual.

My parents got the fish with rice and the portion was huge. It was absolutely delicious fish. The seasoning was just right.

I had the grilled pork chops with apples and sweet potato. Delicious.

My husband and son had the chicken tenders and fries, which were...as usual....VERY good.

My daughter had the open face pot roast sandwich with mashed potatoes. It was good, but bland.

The best part was when they came out and told my mom to pick a free dessert for her birthday (we had told the waiter). They brought her dessert AND also a treat for everybody at the table....little saucers with pound cake with strawberries on top.

Another dish we really enjoy is the Asian salad. The sesame dressing is to DIE for.

You can't beat the friendly service at Fatz.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, TN
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

The food at this restaurant is very good and timely served. My complaint for this restaurant and others who no longer have registers where customers can pay. When you serve my food, give me my check and come collect it and my funds when I'm finished eating. More often than not, I finish my meal and have to wait and wait until my server shows up with the check. She/he then leaves it and says I'll be back. Sometimes requiring another long wait. Very annoying, making me not want to come back no matter how good the food is.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Stone Gap, Virginia
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Wonderfully fresh food and superb service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

I ate my birthday dinner with my husband at Fatz in Kingsport, TN. Our server was friendly and very gracious. He attended to our every need and even offered us coffee "to go". The food was fresh and delicious. I ordered the shrimp and my husband ordered the calabash chicken. We both had salads and they were extremely fresh and the salad dressings were great. For dessert, we shared the hot fudge brownie with ice cream on top. It was just the right size for two and was luscious. I highly recommend Fatz on West Stone Drive in Kingsport, TN

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed FATZ also viewed

 

Been to FATZ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage FATZ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.