We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun flavors!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crazy Tomato

Crazy Tomato
4250 Fort Henry Dr, Kingsport, TN 37663-2228
423-246-0211
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 204 Restaurants in Kingsport
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
Buckeye, AZ
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fun flavors!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

We stopped at this restaurant at the suggestion of our hotel. Driving up, it didn't look like much, but it is nicely decorated on the inside. The provided free bread is quite tasty and was welcome after a long day on the road! I had the spaghetti and meatballs, and I found it to be one of the best spaghetti and meatballs I've had in a restaurant. My husband had the Mexican calzone and said it was the best calzone he's ever had. It was huge and packed with fillings. The only negative was the service. It was fine, but a bit lacking, and they neglected to tell us we had to go pay at the register.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    14
    5
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delicious lunch in the way home from vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Stopped in for lunch after not finding anything particularly quaint or intriguing in the area. The service was attentive, the garlic bread took the edge off the wait, then the food was delivered quickly and turned out to be very good - pepperoni pizza and spinach calzone and a kids' fettucini alfredo. Half is on the way home with us for later! Decor is a bit dingy with food spots on the blinds, but otherwise the place looked clean and smelled nice, including the restrooms.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“New favorite restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

This place is a real catch! The atmosphere is great; it is small but very classy and relaxed. The food was excellent. It is accommodated with bread beforehand. The chicken Parmesan couldn't have been better. Highly recommended!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonesborough, Tennessee
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Spinich Lasaunge if I spelled it right!!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

My husband got the stromboli, Seriously it covered the entire large platter. My Spinich was great and the bread is awesome. We like it better than the Johnson City Crazy Tomato. The food is the same, it's the autmosphere. awwwwwwww just me.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

If you want authentic non chain Italian food, then don't look any further. I recommend their pizza and calzones.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crazy Tomato also viewed

 

Been to Crazy Tomato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crazy Tomato, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.