We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick after Church Lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Perkins Restaurant & Bakery

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Perkins Restaurant & Bakery
4618 Fort Henry Dr, Kingsport, TN 37663-2617
(423) 239-4225
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 202 restaurants in Kingsport
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen
Restaurant details
Blountville, Tennessee, USA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Quick after Church Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Seating is fast and a menu for everyone. Breakfast to Dinner. They have quite a variety. Be sure to try their Magnificent 7 for a great Breakfast.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    13
    9
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Excellent Home-Style Meals, And Great Pie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

After I’ve been on the road for a while, I start to crave a meal of basic meat, potatoes, and vegetables. When I’m in this part of the country, one of the places I know I can get this is at a Perkins restaurant. This location was perfect for that, and just one exit away from the hotel we were staying at. It was much quieter than at some chains that serve a similar type of cuisine, and made for a much more relaxing meal than we might have gotten elsewhere. The restaurant was clean, and service was friendly and efficient. It had been years since I’d been to a Perkins, and the food was as good as I remembered it. I ordered grilled pork chops with mashed potatoes and a fresh vegetable medley as my sides. At chain restaurants, I have come to expect “fresh” to mean “fresh just before they were frozen” as opposed to canned when I see the term “fresh” on a menu, so I was pleasantly surprised to find that my vegetables were not only actually fresh, but cooked perfectly. They were cooked, but still crisp, not boiled into limpness. I had several choices of seasoning for my pork chops, and I chose plain salt and pepper. After ordering, I started to be concerned that maybe they would be overly salty, but they were perfect. Both my sister and husband also liked their meals, except that my husband said the mac and cheese that he got as one of his sides was not very good. My sister was impressed that the gravy that she got with her turkey and dressing tasted like actual turkey gravy rather than the standard canned stuff you frequently get in restaurants. The pies at Perkins have always been wonderful, and I can never eat at one without getting a slice. I was full after this meal, but got a slice of caramel apple pie to go. I took it back to the hotel room and ended up eating it for breakfast before we got back on the road in the morning. I'm happy to say that this location did not disappoint. I just wish the chain would expand into my part of the country.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape San Blas, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stopped here for breakfast while traveling to Asheville NC. Great food, fast and friendly service. I had the country biscuit (nice fluffy biscuit, sausage gravy, fresh fruit and crisp bacon) and my husband had the pancakes and sausage. We both really enjoyed our breakfast. One thing I especially like is that they leave the pot of coffee on the table so you can refill your cup any time.

This is the 2nd Perkins we've stopped at for breakfast, and I think from now on we'll look for them when we're on the road. Good breakfast at a reasonable price.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkersburg, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great service and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We traveled through Kingsport, TN to get home and stopped at Perkins for breakfast. The service was friendly, quick, and efficient. The food was great and the order was correct. We were pleasantly surprised and would recommend this to anyone wanting a great breakfast for reasonable prices. The four of us ate for less than 30 dollars.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinchco, Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Awesome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Our 1st time there and we loved it !! The food was great & lots of it ...The prices were fair ....The people wonderful!! The place was very clean ....We are going back this week end and taking more family with us ....

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Perkins Restaurant & Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Perkins Restaurant & Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Perkins Restaurant & Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.