We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lynn Garden Restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lynn Garden Restaurant

Lynn Garden Restaurant
1105 Lynn Garden Dr, Kingsport, TN 37665-1929
423-246-3271
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 202 Restaurants in Kingsport
Restaurant details
10/22/11
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Lynn Garden Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Best Country Fried Chicken in town and the price could not be beat! Down home atmosphere and friendly service.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKQ, Manager at Lynn Garden Restaurant, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Thanks for your review! We're glad you enjoyed the home cooked food! We appreciate our customers and appreciate you taking time to post a review. We hope you'll come back again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

73% Recommend
    13
    6
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
virginia beach
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Reminded me of when i was a kid”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My parents used to bring my sister and me to this resteruant back in the 1970's and not much has changed since. i was in town for the 4th of July holiday and stopped in with my mom. the waitress was doing double duty with ringing people up and doing tables near the door. she wasn't the friendliest person in the world but hey i came for the food.

we ordered the gravy biscut with sausage and while the gravy biscut was good the sausage was cold and i needed a knife to cut it. appreared to have been cooked early in the morning (we came in around 10am).

i would come back but i would probably try dinner this time.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKQ, Manager at Lynn Garden Restaurant, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thanks for your review! We're glad you enjoyed the home cooked food and our family atmosphere! We appreciate our customers and appreciate you taking time to post a review. We hope you'll come back again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southeast
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Granny's cookin'”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

If you want down home, deep fried, home cookin without the hours in the kitchen and you don't have a mamaw anymore, this is the place to go. Fried chicken, soup beans, mashed potatoes, veggies and banana puddin' or cobbler!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKQ, Manager at Lynn Garden Restaurant, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Thanks for your review! We're glad you enjoyed the home cooked food! We appreciate our customers and appreciate you taking time to post a review. We hope you'll come back again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Good eats.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Walking into this restaurant was like stepping back in time. The long counter and round top swivel counter stools, 4-top tables, and booths were reminiscent of a 50's diner. The restaurant was clean and well kept and the first sign of good food was the number of cars in the parking lot at 2pm. The food was indeed good. I had a hamburger and crinkle cut fries which were both fresh, hot and exceptionally good. The others in my group had meat and three's and agreed that their's were very good as well in the expected southern style. The only exception was that the mashed potatoes were not "real".

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKQ, Manager at Lynn Garden Restaurant, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
We like to think we've kept the nostalgia alive at Lynn Garden Restaurant and are glad that you agree! We appreciate our customers and appreciate you taking the time to post a review about our restaurant. Thank you again and we hope you'll come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hollywood, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great food, great atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Okay, I pretty much spent the first five years of my life dining here with my father and his friends at the North Kingsport Fire Department, but rediscovered it on a trip home to see my parents in 2010. It did not disappoint. They have a great selection of "Old School" and comfort foods. It is also a great place for us vegetarians, as they have an extensive vegetable menu and out of this world fried cornbread. My mother loves the chicken, and they have a rather good selection for the salad bar. The prices are great! You can get dinner for 3 for generally less than $20, including drinks, etc. ( Please tip well, the waitstaff are very friendly and hardworking) You have to try the macaroni and tomatoes, southern comfort food. Try it all. At these prices, you can afford to!
Love the atmosphere. It is very googie/mid-century, something we Gen Xers can appreciate as well!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKQ, Manager at Lynn Garden Restaurant, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Thank you so much for your great review! We're so glad that you visited while back in town. We appreciate our customers and thank you for taking the time to post a review. Please join us again the next time you're in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lynn Garden Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Lynn Garden Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lynn Garden Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.