We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great atmosphere.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lynn Garden Restaurant

Lynn Garden Restaurant
1105 Lynn Garden Dr, Kingsport, TN 37665-1929
423-246-3271
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 209 Restaurants in Kingsport
Restaurant details
West Hollywood, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great food, great atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Okay, I pretty much spent the first five years of my life dining here with my father and his friends at the North Kingsport Fire Department, but rediscovered it on a trip home to see my parents in 2010. It did not disappoint. They have a great selection of "Old School" and comfort foods. It is also a great place for us vegetarians, as they have an extensive vegetable menu and out of this world fried cornbread. My mother loves the chicken, and they have a rather good selection for the salad bar. The prices are great! You can get dinner for 3 for generally less than $20, including drinks, etc. ( Please tip well, the waitstaff are very friendly and hardworking) You have to try the macaroni and tomatoes, southern comfort food. Try it all. At these prices, you can afford to!
Love the atmosphere. It is very googie/mid-century, something we Gen Xers can appreciate as well!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKQ, Manager at Lynn Garden Restaurant, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Thank you so much for your great review! We're so glad that you visited while back in town. We appreciate our customers and thank you for taking the time to post a review. Please join us again the next time you're in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    6
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kingsport, Tennessee, United States
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“food is great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

You MUST try the buffet. the chicken is the best. Breakfast is good . but the service is iffy, but friendly. Mostly an old fart hangout;

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKQ, Owner at Lynn Garden Restaurant, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thanks for your review! We're glad you enjoyed the food and friendly service. We appreciate our customers and appreciate you taking time to post a review. We host a lot of civic organizations for breakfast, lunch, dinner, and other social events, so it is not unusual to see larger groups or tables of folks in the restaurant. We hope you'll come back again soon!

Thanks,
Mike Kerney, Owner/Operator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Old school service and atmosphere at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

The LGR is a great local spot for good wholesome food and folks. We mostly enjoy their breakfast..ask for $2.99 special/not on menu but great deal.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKQ, Owner at Lynn Garden Restaurant, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thanks for your review! We're glad you enjoyed the food and definitely agree that LGR is an institution! We appreciate our customers and appreciate you taking time to post a review. We hope you'll come back again soon!

Thanks,
Mike Kerney, Owner/Operator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, Tennessee
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Local Institution”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

Food is adequate, "blue plate special" type of fare. Known mainly for their fried chicken.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Church Hill, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Food with Southern Hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

Greeaatt chicken and other homestyle food in a small country atmosphere

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKQ, Owner at Lynn Garden Restaurant, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thanks for your review! We're glad you enjoyed our famous chicken and other homemade specialties! We appreciate our customers and appreciate you taking time to post a review. Hope to see you again soon!

Thanks,
Mike Kerney, Owner/Operator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lynn Garden Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Lynn Garden Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lynn Garden Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.