We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentico!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Molcajetes Mexican Grill

Molcajetes Mexican Grill
1504 W Stone Dr, Kingsport, TN 37660-2524
423-246-1490
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 211 Restaurants in Kingsport
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Dayton, Ohio
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
“Authentico!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Real good Mexican food, prepared and served by real Mexicans. We had very good food, reasonable prices and great service.. We loved Molcajetes and will eat here again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    9
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ely, Nevada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“No margaritas”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stopped at this restaurant tonight (Jun16) and were seated immediately.

Chips and salsa were brought to the table pronto.

Shortly thereafter the waiter came for our drink order. We requested two margaritas and were informed that they did not served them (a review from mid-2012, below, mentions them, so perhaps something's changed; we wanted them because it had been A Big Day for us).

We thanked him and left. We went to La Carreta (on Fort Henry Dr. in Kingsport) instead.

Be advised.

My rating of Molcajetes is "average" because I didn't have any reason to rate it high or low.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southeast
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Yummy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Locally owned, nice people, good food, good prices. While it may not look like much from the outside, being in an old Wendy's building, it is a local favorite and a staple for lunch!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, Tennessee
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“What happened to Salvadore?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Great Food! Curious where Salvadore is. Anyone know? He was there ALL the time and my family misses him.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Awesome food. A must try.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We have at at every Mexican place we know of in the tri-cities and this place is the bomb. My family and I have all voted it our favorite. Their fajitas are delish. My wife always orders those and I get a combo platter. My two daughters order al la carte (normally tacos and rice). Ate there tonight and left stuffed. Had Fajitas, combo 17, two tacos and rice. left with bag of chips and container of salsa. Our bill was $23.00. Of course sodas would have raised the cost a little as we always order water with lemon when dinning out. Still the price is great as is the food and the friendly staff. Go eat and leave happy.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Molcajetes Mexican Grill also viewed

 

Been to Molcajetes Mexican Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Molcajetes Mexican Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.