We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst experience ever!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Cheddar's

Cheddar's
2004 N Eastman Rd, Kingsport, TN 37664-2314
423-230-5851
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 212 Restaurants in Kingsport
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Gate City, Virginia
1 review
“Worst experience ever!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I will never go here again. Service was terrible (took over an hour to get entree after waiting 25 minutes to get in.) They ran out of baked potatoes, but didn't bother to tell us until our steaks arrived. Then we had to wait for fries another 15 minutes and eat them separately. Tables were about as close to each other as is humanly possible. The wait staff brushed against us several times. I hate this place!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    27
    12
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, Delaware
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Cheddars in Kingsport”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

My husband being from the North, had never heard of Cheddars. I'd been to a few and enjoyed the food and the service, so when we were helping our kids move household items from Kingsport, TN during the Christmas holiday, we ended up eating dinner twice at this well run, casual but very nice restaurant. Both of us were happy to see the unusually healthy appetizers and entrees on the menu and were especially impressed by the professionalism and courtesy of our waitress, Emily. She was very familiar with the menu, had several excellent entree suggestions and was attentive without being intrusive. That skill is becoming very rare it seems and we commend her for having it! All in all, I was delighted to revisit Cheddars and my husband was quite pleased with both our visits there. In fact, we were so pleased with the good food and the great service that when we came home, we wrote to the management asking them why they hadn't thought of building in our hometown in Delaware and much to our delight and surprise, we were told that they had just broken ground not 3 miles from our front door! So, we have another excellent few dinners to look forward to this Spring! Highly suggest everybody give this chain a try; they far exceed the usual chain "attitude" and copy cat menus. Plus, they obviously train their employees well and that is always a delight to experience!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, Tennessee, United States
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“busy”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This place has good food and prices but I think that thay took over Applebees buisness because thay are to busy and can;t handle the crowds, you might just be waiting for awhile to eat. if you go there go when it isnt to packed and you will enjoy your dinning ,

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, Tennessee
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Good food - great new salad dressing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Good food for all our party. Steak cooked perfectly. Chicken Alfredo excellent. I had the crispy chicken salad with the new honey-lime dressing. The dressing was excellent!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piney Flats, Tennessee
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

One of our favority places to eat in Johnson City. They are always busy. Whe? Great food and excellent pricing. This is the place we take visitors to eat.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cheddar's also viewed

 

Been to Cheddar's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cheddar's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.