We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Mexican Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of LA Carreta Restaurant

LA Carreta Restaurant
4252 Fort Henry Drive, Kingsport, TN 37660-3383
(423) 245-7707
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 211 Restaurants in Kingsport
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good Mexican Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

The food at this location is good for not being Tex Mex that we enjoy so much in Texas, the staff is courteous and friendly and the prices are reasonable. We had the fajitas, mix of chicken and steak, they were tender and cooked just right. A little hard to maneuver to their parking lot as you have to cross other lots to arrive but worth the maneuvering.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    14
    10
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Not bad but not authentic”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Typical "Americanised" Mexican food...nothing authentic about it. I've had the real deal several times before, and the food at La Carreta doesn't even come close. It's not at all bad as I have never gotten a bad meal there and the service has always been good...just not authentic as they advertise. I have returned and probably will return again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“My second favorite Mexican place.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I've eaten here many times and have yet to get bad food. Service is good to excellent and the tea is awesome if you like it brewed and sweet. Two locations in Kingsport and both have the same great quality. Personally I recommend the fajita quesadilla. Order queso and pour some on the quesadilla. It's heavenly!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent Mexican Fare”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

My husband and I finally tried the cute restaurant across from the hotel we stay at in Kingsport. We loved it. I had the giant quesadilla and he had the California beef burrito. Oh, my goodness! Both were huge and both were awesome! The salsa and chips were bottomless and great, too. The guacamole also very good. Our waiter was nice and gave us great service. We will definitely be back next time we are passing through.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabethton, Tennessee, United States
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A great place to eat Mexican food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The restaurant is a bit out of the way but is well worth the drive. The interior is very beautiful with the stucco walls and the bold colors. The food is geat!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed LA Carreta Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to LA Carreta Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LA Carreta Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.