We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Mexican Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of LA Carreta Restaurant

LA Carreta Restaurant
4252 Fort Henry Drive, Kingsport, TN 37660-3383
(423) 245-7707
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 207 Restaurants in Kingsport
Cuisines: Mexican, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good Mexican Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

The food at this location is good for not being Tex Mex that we enjoy so much in Texas, the staff is courteous and friendly and the prices are reasonable. We had the fajitas, mix of chicken and steak, they were tender and cooked just right. A little hard to maneuver to their parking lot as you have to cross other lots to arrive but worth the maneuvering.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank maxwhite1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Church Hill, Tennessee
Level Contributor
45 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Not bad but not authentic”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Typical "Americanised" Mexican food...nothing authentic about it. I've had the real deal several times before, and the food at La Carreta doesn't even come close. It's not at all bad as I have never gotten a bad meal there and the service has always been good...just not authentic as they advertise. I have returned and probably will return again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jqwalleye01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, Tennessee
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“My second favorite Mexican place.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I've eaten here many times and have yet to get bad food. Service is good to excellent and the tea is awesome if you like it brewed and sweet. Two locations in Kingsport and both have the same great quality. Personally I recommend the fajita quesadilla. Order queso and pour some on the quesadilla. It's heavenly!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
90 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent Mexican Fare”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

My husband and I finally tried the cute restaurant across from the hotel we stay at in Kingsport. We loved it. I had the giant quesadilla and he had the California beef burrito. Oh, my goodness! Both were huge and both were awesome! The salsa and chips were bottomless and great, too. The guacamole also very good. Our waiter was nice and gave us great service. We will definitely be back next time we are passing through.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sammalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabethton, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
90 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A great place to eat Mexican food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The restaurant is a bit out of the way but is well worth the drive. The interior is very beautiful with the stucco walls and the bold colors. The food is geat!

Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed LA Carreta Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to LA Carreta Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing