We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food.... Bad service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thai Noodle Town

Thai Noodle Town
800 Stonegate Rd, Kingsport, TN 37660
4237650614
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 211 Restaurants in Kingsport
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good food.... Bad service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Since Tomy Thai left... I was looking for a nice Thai food place and Thai noodle town showed up in 800 stone gate road. This thing looks like a family owned restaurant.

Very good Thai food. Always tasted fresh. Family owned and operated. Reasonably priced.

Place is small though. Most of the people don't speak English that well, but eventually communicate ok. They are still yet to improve in taking care of customers. Ex. We were not given the cutlery until after the food was served and we asked for it !! That's unacceptable for a restaurant.

These issues have nothing to so with the food though. I would visit them definitely for the quality of the food.

I guess, as the time passes, they will improve.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    16
    1
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingsport, Tennessee
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Great to Find Local Thai Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Great Thai food is back in Kingsport! This family owned and operated restaurant is small but the food is cooked as you order it and really great! A friend and I visited for lunch - we were seated at the last open table. We were waited on promptly and the food cooked to our specifications - no cookie cutter food here.

The soup was spicy but not too hot. Summer rolls were available with a great sauce. The curries were good. I will go back soon.

The location is a bit tricky to find but very near the old Stonegate shopping center just off Stone Drive. Check their Facebook page for directions.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hollywood, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Finally, Thai in Kingsport!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Love this little place! Being an LA girl, it's hard to find a Thai place,let alone a good one.
The food is very authentic and flavorful, but the best part is that the owners view every customer as a valuable asset. The bad part is that it seems to be in a bad neighborhood, with very questionable people hanging around.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best Thai in the Area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

In my opinion, this restaurant is by far the best Thai food in the area. I've been to this place multiple times and this food is incredibly consistent.

If you're looking for a quick meal then I would suggest take out. Sit down wait times are usually longer. For take out you can call 15 minutes ahead and it will be ready when you arrive. I have a 20 minute drive from there to my house and it is still hot by the time I get home.

I will warn that the curry that is labeled as spicy is very spicy. I love spicy food and usually I think the hotter the better. However, the red and green curries will definitely make you sweat.

An amazing family business!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, Tennessee, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fresh, Authentic, Cooked to Order Thai Food Presented With a Smile”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I had a wonderful lunch at Thai Noodle Town this afternoon. My order was prompt, hot (temperature) and DELICIOUS! This is real authentic Thai Food—the best I've had (and I've had plenty). If your in the area, stop in and try the Cashew Chicken. This is a busy little place, so seating is limited, but definitely worth the wait. Family-owned and operated.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Noodle Town also viewed

 

Been to Thai Noodle Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thai Noodle Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.