We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I want to give it an "excellent" rating, but....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pratt's Barbecue

Pratt's Barbecue
1225 E Stone Dr, Kingsport, TN 37660
423-246-2500
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #56 of 199 Restaurants in Kingsport
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I want to give it an "excellent" rating, but....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The barbecue is excellent with an assortment of sauces available at each table. ("Maybe It Was Memphis"--YUM!) Their spiral fries and smokehouse beans are wonderful. I'm not much of a dessert fan, but theirs are great. Service has always been warm, friendly, and attentive. However, as a family restaurant, we don't appreciate the slogans with double entendres. Therefore, we go elsewhere for barbecue. If not for the juvenile slogans, we would probably be there every week.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    12
    9
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chatham-Kent, Ontario
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Food okay, but could do better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Pratt's was able to accomodate our large group from a basketball team, so that is why we chose to eat there. The atmosphere is poor and it felt like we were going to be eating in a barn/abbatoir when we arrived. It had the smell of raw meat when we arrived and not in a good way. We were very limited in where we could eat with a large group so we stayed. Had I been with just our family of 4 I would not have sat down. We were pleasantly surprised with the food as it was better than we expected. We shared the deep fried pickles for an appetizer. My husband really liked the BBQ sausage, our daughter liked her pulled pork sandwich, and I enjoyed the smoked chicken sandwich. Our son had the half rack of ribs and liked them although not nearly the best he has had. All of the meats are cooked dry and you have to add the BBQ sauce of your choice on the table. I think this method of cooking may lead to some lost of moisture and flavour when cooking. Although it was better than expected, I would not return or recommend to others.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“One of my absolute favorite restaurants!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

Pratt's has superb country cooking and barbecue dishes. I have been eating there for many years now. I highly enjoy their dessert menu as well. I can't ever easily decide which one to choose, and I am a picky person! I especially love their buffets for lunch and on weekends. I don't know what they do to their ham to make it so delicious, but I am a huge fan. They have several homemade barbecue sauces to choose from. Even vegetarians have several side items and salads from which they can select.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, Tennessee
Level Contributor
88 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent BBQ!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

The best in East Tennessee! Great building with the giant Indian in front. Great lunch buffet and dinner menu. Sauces and BBQ are all out of this world.

Highly recommended!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
223 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Glad we found it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

The young man at the desk where we stayed suggested Pratt's as one of several places that had southern style food, including BBQ. We drove by a couple others before Pratt's and decided it looked like a good place to try. My husband had pulled pork and I ordered smoked turkey and brisket and we shared. With the variety of sauces in the table, we were able to find our favorites for each of the meats. The side dishes, including fried okra and macaroni and cheese were very good, and while the brisket was more like sliced prime rib, all of the meats were flavorful. Service was prompt and friendly, and there were quite a few people for late on on Thursday evening. A place we'd visit again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pratt's Barbecue also viewed

 

Been to Pratt's Barbecue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pratt's Barbecue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.