We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glad we found it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pratt's Barbecue

Pratt's Barbecue
1225 E Stone Dr, Kingsport, TN 37660
423-246-2500
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #51 of 202 restaurants in Kingsport
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Glad we found it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

The young man at the desk where we stayed suggested Pratt's as one of several places that had southern style food, including BBQ. We drove by a couple others before Pratt's and decided it looked like a good place to try. My husband had pulled pork and I ordered smoked turkey and brisket and we shared. With the variety of sauces in the table, we were able to find our favorites for each of the meats. The side dishes, including fried okra and macaroni and cheese were very good, and while the brisket was more like sliced prime rib, all of the meats were flavorful. Service was prompt and friendly, and there were quite a few people for late on on Thursday evening. A place we'd visit again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

57% Recommend
    10
    5
    7
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Country cooking place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Yummy food! Great value. If you love veggies like I do, you will want to try their sides. They are also known for their bar b que and especially their hams.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good, but nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I usually get the pulled pork barbecue sandwich with a side of okra. The barbecue is definitely good, but I have had much better. Their sides are just average. The okra is good and the fries are decent, haven't had anything else though. Prices are just average, about right for what you get. And the service is usually good, but once again not great.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaska, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I thought we'd give Pratt's a try since the other reviews seemed pretty decent...unfortunately, we were very disappointed. My husband had the pulled pork platter, and he said the pork seemed like it was previously frozen or refrigerated, and reheated in a microwave. The meat was wet - water wet, not pork juice goodness wet. He also got the beans which seemed like a variety of different kind of beans in bbq sauce - not the baked bean goodness we were hoping for. His apples were pretty bad as well...they were sitting in 1/4" of butter/oil, and was pretty disgusting. I had the beef brisket sandwich - and it was okay. Not great, but not bad. I ordered the fried okra with it, and that was fine. Still, we have no plans on returning to Pratt's. We'll hit a different bbq joint in Kingsport when we have the bbq cravings.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, Tennessee, United States
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We go there on Sunday for brunch, of course we get there before church gets out and beat the croud, the food is a buffet and a good spread. the service is good and the price is right for all you can eat, you will enjoy the atmosphere and the good food.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pratt's Barbecue also viewed

 

Been to Pratt's Barbecue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pratt's Barbecue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.