We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Pratt's Barbecue

Pratt's Barbecue
1225 E Stone Dr, Kingsport, TN 37660
423-246-2500
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #56 of 211 Restaurants in Kingsport
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Chaska, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I thought we'd give Pratt's a try since the other reviews seemed pretty decent...unfortunately, we were very disappointed. My husband had the pulled pork platter, and he said the pork seemed like it was previously frozen or refrigerated, and reheated in a microwave. The meat was wet - water wet, not pork juice goodness wet. He also got the beans which seemed like a variety of different kind of beans in bbq sauce - not the baked bean goodness we were hoping for. His apples were pretty bad as well...they were sitting in 1/4" of butter/oil, and was pretty disgusting. I had the beef brisket sandwich - and it was okay. Not great, but not bad. I ordered the fried okra with it, and that was fine. Still, we have no plans on returning to Pratt's. We'll hit a different bbq joint in Kingsport when we have the bbq cravings.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    9
    8
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kingsport, Tennessee, United States
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We go there on Sunday for brunch, of course we get there before church gets out and beat the croud, the food is a buffet and a good spread. the service is good and the price is right for all you can eat, you will enjoy the atmosphere and the good food.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“One of my favorite all-time restaurants!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

Their lunch buffet is yummy beyond comparison! Their food is always fresh, tasty and cooked just right. If you like country food, this is the place to be! Their desserts are large and down home style. You can't just get banana pudding and peach cobbler like that anywhere. Been coming here for many years and will continue as long as I'm alive and/or they're open!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthCentral Indiana
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Excellent food, high value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Very helpful and friendly wait staff. Clean restaurant and restrooms. Food selection was good if you like varieties of bar-b-que. They have 6 different barbeque sauces on the table in plastic squeeze containers. This was a bit of a different twist and allowed us to try different flavors. Real good food at reasonable prices so we rate this a high value.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“If you have not been there in a while you need to go back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Always a great place to eat had a Birthday Party there a few weeks ago in the back room had over 40 people and all went so wonderful now we did plan ahead and tell them how many we would have in the party the staff was so great and if you want a great prime -rib you have got to try theirs

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pratt's Barbecue also viewed

 

Been to Pratt's Barbecue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pratt's Barbecue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.