We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was just okay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Econo Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9980 Airport Parkway, Kingsport, TN 37663 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #11 of 18 hotels in Kingsport
Hyde Park, New York
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Was just okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Room I checked into wasn't as nice as one I looked at beforehand, but because I refused to pay extra for a smoking double that I didn't need since, supposedly there second floor single smoking rooms and ones in single story section in rear were already occupied, took a single non-smoking room. Which still had a cigarette burn in the blanket along with a hole, see photos. There were no towel racks to hang wet ones on. No alarm clock, glad I had my own. The shower/tub wasn't very appealing, again see photos and room was very small with an older model heater/ac unit. Breakfast food wise only consisted of 2 cereals or a waffle, no toast, muffins, bagels etc., like other Best Values I've stayed at for a similar price. Now don't get me wrong, place was relatively clean, bed was comfortable and it was quiet. So like the title says..Was just okay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alpa01, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Bruce J,

I appreciate the fact that you took the time to share a review with us. I am sorry that we could not meet your expectations. Since your stay, we have added a new granite shower wall and refurbished the tub. Thank you for bringing the matter to our attention. We have renovated all rooms as this one was the last room we had left to complete.


Regards,

Mike-Manager
Americas Best Value Inn-Kingsport, TN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    3
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
2
1
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hartwell, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This is my 2nd stay at Americas Best Value Inn, Kingsport, TN. Both times it was very good to excellent! My room was clean and fresh smelling. I specifically requested Non Smoking - there was no trace of smoke in the room. The hotel is "pet friendly" which I need; there was no evidence of other pets having stayed in the room. Everything worked; lights, air conditioning/heater, refrigerator, microwave, TV and shower! The grounds were well maintained. The hotel, parking lot and grounds had a clean and well kept look about it. The staff was on call, helpful and friendly. I left one piece of my luggage and with one phone call they boxed it up, took it to a UPS store; all at no additional charge - outstanding!

Room Tip: If you have a pet; ask for a room close to the large grassy area - wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alpa01, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear PattiS,

On behalf of the staff of Americas Best Value Inn, I would like to personally thank you for your positive feedback. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed our clean facilities, excellent service, and well maintained grounds! I am glad that we were able to return your luggage! Come see us again sometime!

Regards,
Mike-Manager
Americas Best Value Inn-Kingsport, TN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

In one word, "DIRTY!" not to mention the fact that the day after my 1 night stay I began to itch in certain places on my body. After doing some research I was less than thrilled to find out the spots are bites from bedbugs...

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alpa01, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear Cigartime,

Thank you for taking the time to share a review with us. I am deeply concerned about the issues you encountered during your stay. We do have a licensed pest control company which routinely treats our rooms. Did you report the problem to the front desk immediately? I am not aware of any issues at this time. Please call me directly so that I can further investigate the matter. I apologize for the inconvenience.


Regards,
Mike-GM
Americas Best Value Inn- Kingsport, TN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012 via mobile

Was very satisfied. Room was clean, staff was friendly, and breakfast was waffles, cereal, and juice and coffee.
Nothing fancy but can't beat it for this price. I would stay there again on my next trip.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alpa01, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear Monseyfire,

Thank you for taking time out of your schedule to share a review with us. I am glad to know that you enjoyed our clean rooms, friendly staff, and free breakfast. Should you return to the area, we would love to have you stay with us again.


Regards,
Mike-GM
Americas Best Value Inn-Kingsport, TN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Brunswick, NJ
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

This was a convenient, affordable stop off the highway on our trip to Gatlinburg - easy to get to. It was surprisingly quiet for a Saturday night & the place was full. I'm sure the rates are much higher during races, but that's supply & demand. It has free wifi; waffles, cereal, coffee, milk & juices for breakfast. Room was small, but clean. Take note: unless you are adventurous and want to explore the area, the only restaurant is the Cracker Barrel (which is on the other side of the highway). Behind the Cracker Barrell is a small department store to explore, pretty much the only other sign of civilization.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alpa01, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear gjcooper,

I appreciate the fact that you took the time to share a review with us. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our clean and affordable rooms, and free breakfast. We would love the opportunity to serve you again in the future.


Regards,
Mike-GM
Americas Best Value Inn- Kingsport, TN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2011

I am very pleased to say that I would definitely recommend this place to family and friends. I had to make a last minute emergency family trip, and needed a comfortable, homey, inexpensive place to stay, and that is exactly what I found. Our room was very roomy. In a 2-doublebed room, even with my self husband and 3 kids, teenager down to age 3. Complete with microwave, refrigerator, free cable, free WIFI and HBO. It had everything that we needed! The staff is very friendly and definitely portrays true " Southern Hospitality". That place was definitely much more than I expected, especially for around $50 a night. To top it all off, because it sits on a hill, I woke up to the most beautiful sunset, and a very relaxing view of the mountains and scenery around. Very happy with my stay and i will "definitely" return. For the money, location and benefits that this motel offers. You just can't beat it.

Room Tip: I would use your AAA or AARP for a discount.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alpa01, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, October 27, 2011
We are glad you were pleased with your stay. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. Hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

This place was not too bad, a little out of the way but OK.

The internet access in the lobby did not work and could not be accessed when I arrived at 11pm - I was told to try in the morning which was annoying. The next morning it didn't work at all anyway.

Otherwise the room was fine, no problems, parking was easy.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alpa01, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, October 27, 2011
We are sorry that you had issues with our internet, thank you for letting us know. That problem has been corrected and we purchased a new computer for our guests to use in the lobby. Thanks again and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 9980 Airport Parkway, Kingsport, TN 37663 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Kingsport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 18 hotels in Kingsport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located off of I-81, near the Tri-Cities Regional Airport. Our hotel is centrally located near Kingsport's most popular attractions including the Wellmont Regional Center for the Performing Arts, Tri-Cities 7 Cinema, Steele Creek Park, Cooper's Gem Mine, and Warriors' Path State Park. After a relaxing day in the Kingsport area, enjoy a satisfying meal at one of the local restaurants such as Cracker Barrel, B-Back Barbeque, or Perkins.Our attentive 24-hour staff strives to make our pet friendly Americas Best Value Inn Kingsport your home away from home. Start your day off right with our free continental breakfast available from 6am - 9am. We offer pre-arranged airport shuttle service (charges apply). Children age 12 and younger stay for free in their parent's room. Whether in town for business or pleasure, our hotel has something for everyone. Let our on-site business center be your office while you are on the road. Guest rooms are generously equipped with free wireless high-speed Internet access, microwave, hairdryer, cable TV with HBO, desk with lamp, and free local calls. At Americas Best Value Inn Kingsport, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Carpet Inn Kingsport
Kingsport Red Carpet Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.