We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I thought the standards at Days Inn were higher” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Kingsport/Downtown

Save Saved
You added Days Inn Kingsport/Downtown to your Saves list
Days Inn Kingsport/Downtown
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Days Inn Kingsport/Downtown
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   805 Lynn Garden Drive/I-181, Kingsport, TN 37660   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Kingsport
Niles, Ohio
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“I thought the standards at Days Inn were higher”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Stopping here the hotel looked older but well maintained on the outside. There was a newer looking Super 8 across the road but Days Inn is normally a better hotel. Wrong. The first hint should have been the $60/nt room. Checking in we left for dinner before really inspecting the room so we did not have to unload the bikes. This is apparently an older hotel and it needs remodeling. The shower had mold around the silicone seal on the shower walls. The toilet would not flush as the chain had rotted off the end of the lever in the tank. You have 2 mechanical guys tired from a day of riding in the cold who do not want to pack back up so we removed the top of the tank and pulled the chain. When we told them checking out how it was and how it had to have been that way a while there was "Oh, it was probably reported and never fixed." The door to the room required a healthy pus to get it to open. At least the wi-fi worked. The heater worked but the controls were loose and moved around while you adjusted it. Breakfast is powdered donuts, 2 types of cereal, hot waffles and muffins. Your normal coffee and milk.

Room Tip: A new looking Super 8 is across the street. Try it instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    6
    8
    12
    17
See reviews for
20
14
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
COLLINS
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

:-) we had a nice stay. It was about 3 hers. From where we had to be the next day. Wish the pool would of been open.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Too many details ... so short for is : At Checking : untrained housekeeper at desk in to 'fill in'... she said. She didn't know how to do CAA/AAA discount nor Wyndam points. Said to get it looked at in the a.m. We asked for ground floor ... we had 3 rooms. close / park in front. two of us got close and our daughter on the other side of another building. her first room was OCCUPIED upon opening! Next room given , the door wouldn't work .. told it was likely bolted from inside (another occupied ??) Her third attempt, which they stayed in, ended up having a
COCKROACH in their room (found later) !! Our room, the light at sink didn't work and had to be replaced. Coffee pot didn't fit the coffeemaker - fire hazard. There was rust in water from taps. Shower walls dirt ! Morning clerk kind / discounted us but we won't stay here again. Considering we rode in rain and it was late we weren't up for moving out to ride looking for another room. We should have.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staunton, VA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

When inquiring at the desk, if this was a pet friendly hotel, we were told YES even though a sign said NO (internet said it was pet friendly). A rate was quoted and a non-smoking room assigned to us and our Golden. The smell overwhelmed us at the door . . . the floor was filthy with food wrappers and the TV did not function. When a room change was requested we were immediately assigned a room with "new carpet" which we accepted and settled into. Five minutes later (11 pm!) the two owners knocked on the door and demanded we leave since we had a dog! Apparently a dog was OK in the filthy room, but not in a "remodeled" room? Even if we had not had our Golden with us, this place is not fit for the dogs.

Room Tip: don't stay here . . .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

When I saw this place it needed some renovations. It was an older hotel that wasn't very modern, but it had a nice, warm feel to it. There was beautiful plantlife surrounding the pools. The rooms were okay. Breakfast was delicious. It was a good bang for your buck. I would come again, and highly recommend others to come too.

Room Tip: Stick around for the breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012 via mobile

When me and my family first arrived at the hotel we did not know what to expect. We walked in to a very pleasant looking lobby. Then we were greeted by the desk clerk who was very KIND & FRIENDLY. This was not actually the first time I had been here. The last time I had came it was ok but it improved so much. ONE OF THE BEST THINGS ABOUT THIS PLACE WAS THE POOL! My children loved the kity pool. The big pool was crystal clear and went up to eight ft deep! The rooms were good for the price. The breakfast was also DELICIOUS! I would recomend this to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob P, General Manager at Days Inn Kingsport/Downtown, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
thank you for your feedback we look forward to your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn Kingsport/Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Kingsport/Downtown

Address: 805 Lynn Garden Drive/I-181, Kingsport, TN 37660
Location: United States > Tennessee > Kingsport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Kingsport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Kingsport/Downtown 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Days Inn Kingsport/Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Kingsport/Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.