We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Food. Fun Atmosphere!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saltwater Willy's Bayou Cafe - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Saltwater Willy's Bayou Cafe
121Jack White Drive, Kingsport, TN 37664
423-765-1665
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Kingsport, Tennessee, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fun Food. Fun Atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

I work at a local hotel in the same town and am ALWAYS eager to tell my out of town guests about our "homegrown" Saltwater Willies! I've had such a blast there and its certainly a great "date" spot, that I can't wait to tell folks how to get a taste of upper east Tennessee! This family owned business holds a VERY high standard for their industry and most likely has the chains trembling a bit! GO EAT SOMETHING THAT WOULD RATHER EAT YOU....ALLIGATOR! The menu is colorful and the atmosphere very inviting. LOVE this place!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    3
    5
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North East TN
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Three trips, declining service and quality with each visit.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

quality and service are all over the place, ranging from a very helpfull waiter and excellent food on my first visit, to a rude waitress, and below average food. Probably won't go back.

  • Visited December 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, Tennessee
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Working our way through the menu...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

We've not had anything on the menu that we do not like! Their cheese grits are better than mine. I love the fried green tomatoes and the gator is great, the sauce that goes with it is out of this world. The wedge salad is generous compared to those I've had In Louisville and Los Angeles and the menu is fair priced for the type of food. My husband and I are currently working our way through the menu and there hasn't been anything on it yet that we do not like. (however I will say that my gumbo is better, thicker and has more 'stuff' in it) - We are calling in an order now of Pork Chops and Gator. We've never eaten in so we can not comment on Ambience or Quality of Servers.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Awful food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011 via mobile

We had great service and friendly staff. The food was very salty and had no flavor!!! If I wanted frozen food I would of cooked it myself!

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kptfishman, Owner at Saltwater Willy's Bayou Cafe, responded to this review, October 16, 2011
Thank you for your visit to our restaurant and are very glad you found the service to be great and the service friendly. I wished you had let us know that your food was not to your liking and saltly with no flavor. Was this just one item or all the food you had??? We prepare all food from scratch in house and nothing is frozen pre-made like the chain restaurants. We would welcome you back to show how we prepare your food if you would like to contact me and come in for a return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Va.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not Impressed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011 via mobile

We visited this restaurant on Monday night. The place was nearly empty, this should have been our sign, but we went in anyway. The staff was nice enough, but that couln't make up for the bad food. My wife had the tilapia, and for what she got, the same quality could have been had most anywhere. The crawfish tails appetizer were not bad, but very small portion. This building will be empty soon, unless the quality of food and service are corrected.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saltwater Willy's Bayou Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saltwater Willy's Bayou Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.