We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great BBQ and sides” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Phil's Dream Pit

Phil's Dream Pit
634 Eastern Star Rd, Kingsport, TN 37663-3226
423-349-6437
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 209 Restaurants in Kingsport
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great BBQ and sides”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Read all the reviews on this place and thought I needed to give this a try. It lived up to the rating. Great food and service. It is not open on Monday and Sunday, but a wonderful place to eat BBQ and enjoy watching TV or sitting outside on the picnic table taking in the outdoors.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    20
    4
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kingsport, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The way BBQ should be!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

Cannot believe it took me so long to discover this place only 25 minutes from my home. The pulled pork with sweet fire sauce was yummy. The baked beans were cooked with meat in them and they were some of the best I have tasted. I will definitely be back!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, TN
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best in Kingsport”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

I used to live in Memphis, one of the capitals of barbecue, and it spoiled me. Since I have been back in the Tri-Cities, I have been searching for good barbecue without much luck. This place has the best barbecue in the area

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, Tennessee, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nom nom nom!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

The inside of this restaurant is small, but it becomes clear that the owners were more concerned with focusing on the quality of their food, and they definitely nailed it! It's hard to find a place where the sides are as good as the main dish, but you will find that here. My food was ready and waiting for me before my card cleared, and they carried it to the table for me. Great place to eat!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colonial Heights, Tennessee
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Some of the best BBQ around, Owner was nice and service was friendly. The price was a bit expensive but the food was well worth it. The Blueberry Dream is a good dessert.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phil's Dream Pit also viewed

 

Been to Phil's Dream Pit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phil's Dream Pit, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.