We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great BBQ and sides” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Phil's Dream Pit

Phil's Dream Pit
634 Eastern Star Rd, Kingsport, TN 37663-3226
423-349-6437
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 210 Restaurants in Kingsport
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great BBQ and sides”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Read all the reviews on this place and thought I needed to give this a try. It lived up to the rating. Great food and service. It is not open on Monday and Sunday, but a wonderful place to eat BBQ and enjoy watching TV or sitting outside on the picnic table taking in the outdoors.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sting89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Kingsport, Tennessee
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The way BBQ should be!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

Cannot believe it took me so long to discover this place only 25 minutes from my home. The pulled pork with sweet fire sauce was yummy. The baked beans were cooked with meat in them and they were some of the best I have tasted. I will definitely be back!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank TNQueenB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, TN
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best in Kingsport”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

I used to live in Memphis, one of the capitals of barbecue, and it spoiled me. Since I have been back in the Tri-Cities, I have been searching for good barbecue without much luck. This place has the best barbecue in the area

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tnfurrybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nom nom nom!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

The inside of this restaurant is small, but it becomes clear that the owners were more concerned with focusing on the quality of their food, and they definitely nailed it! It's hard to find a place where the sides are as good as the main dish, but you will find that here. My food was ready and waiting for me before my card cleared, and they carried it to the table for me. Great place to eat!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Myron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colonial Heights, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Some of the best BBQ around, Owner was nice and service was friendly. The price was a bit expensive but the food was well worth it. The Blueberry Dream is a good dessert.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Darryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phil's Dream Pit also viewed

 

Been to Phil's Dream Pit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing